1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing Alpine W900 - Where the heck do I put these wires?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Mack83, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. Feb 17, 2011 at 6:42 AM
    #1
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    I've got it all pretty much together with a couple of exceptions:

    The ACC(red) and Batt Constant(yellow) from the bluetooth interface? Can I splice these in with the red and yellow that comes from the wiring harness into the HU itself?

    And, from the HU itself, the Parking Brake (Yellow/Blue) and Foot Brake (Yellow/Black). I've read about doing a relay or something so you can watch dvd's while you drive, but I don't really care about that. I just want to know where to connect the dang wires.

    Also, where should I put the Bluetooth interface? The mic cord is long enough that I can run it up the passenger side pillar and up along the headliner to the rear-view mirror, but I still don't know where I should put that little box.

    One other thing, I don't have a power antenna. The cord from it comes from the wiring harness, but should I bother connecting it?

    Think that's it for now. Thanks ya'll.
     
  2. Feb 17, 2011 at 8:44 AM
    #2
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    The ACC(red) and Batt Constant(yellow) from the bluetooth interface? Can I splice these in with the red and yellow that comes from the wiring harness into the HU itself?
    Yes


    And, from the HU itself, the Parking Brake (Yellow/Blue) and Foot Brake (Yellow/Black). I've read about doing a relay or something so you can watch dvd's while you drive, but I don't really care about that. I just want to know where to connect the dang wires.
    You need a PAC-TR-7

    Also, where should I put the Bluetooth interface? The mic cord is long enough that I can run it up the passenger side pillar and up along the headliner to the rear-view mirror, but I still don't know where I should put that little box.
    Put the interface under a seat or up under the dash above the glove box

    One other thing, I don't have a power antenna. The cord from it comes from the wiring harness, but should I bother connecting it?
    Doesn't matter, use it for a remote wire if you have an amp
     
  3. Feb 17, 2011 at 9:24 AM
    #3
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    Thanks for the answers.

    Man, seriously? I thought I only needed that if I was going to wire it to play dvd's while driving? I just want to hook it up the way it's supposed to be, don't care about bypassing safety features.
     
  4. Feb 17, 2011 at 11:37 AM
    #4
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    Did a little research, you don't need that part if you're not bypassing the feature, just have to cut up your harness a little bit. Now I just need to know where those other wires go that are part of that connection, if anywhere. And which wire on the footbreak connection I need to splice into.

    Edit: Alpine guy said the footbrake wire is the 12 volt one. Looks like it's time to break out the multimeter.

    Edit2: Couldn't screw the brackets in because I hadn't taken the included sleeve off yet. I guess we don't get to use that.
     
  5. Feb 17, 2011 at 1:13 PM
    #5
    wrmathis

    wrmathis Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9126
    Messages:
    7,087
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Lives: Fountain, Colorado/Home: Leesburg, GA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD OR 4x4
    parts and stuff
    i would get that becuase it will also let u use the navigation with out havin to stop and do whatever secret handshake u have to do with the truck to use it agian. plus its just easier to hook up the tr7 module
     
  6. Mar 3, 2011 at 8:27 AM
    #6
    ILikeTacosToo

    ILikeTacosToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Member:
    #52176
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    VA
    Vehicle:
    08 DC 4X4 TRD Off Road
    ARB front locker, alpine nav, image dynamics i5800, Polk audio front rear and subs, TOYTEC 3 inch coilovers wiht AAL, awesomest driver ever!
    Hey Mack! did you figure out why those two wires in question have two connectors on the end of each of them? I have the same unit and am planning on installing this weekend. trying to figure out if i can just cut the extra connector off or if there is something else i am supposed to hook it to.

    There is a good video on youtube on how to use a set of switches for the brake and e-brake wires. I understand not wanting to bypass but finding the correct wires is a pain in the butt and if you dont hook them up at all you will not be able to use the nav or a majority of the settings.
     
  7. Mar 3, 2011 at 10:00 AM
    #7
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    Yup, I cut the ends off and spliced them into the ACC and Power from the truck, like was suggested to me here and elsewhere.

    Also, I haven't tested it with dvd's yet, but I just hooked it up the way it's supposed to be hooked up, and I can still mess with the Nav while driving. Not sure why.
     
  8. Mar 3, 2011 at 11:02 AM
    #8
    ILikeTacosToo

    ILikeTacosToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Member:
    #52176
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    VA
    Vehicle:
    08 DC 4X4 TRD Off Road
    ARB front locker, alpine nav, image dynamics i5800, Polk audio front rear and subs, TOYTEC 3 inch coilovers wiht AAL, awesomest driver ever!
    Thanks a lot... i think i will do the same! do you have any problems with your phone synching up with your head unit? I had a kenwood with bluetooth in my last truck and 90% of the time i had to go into the settings on my phone to get it to link up in order to make a call. i am hoping that Alpine is better in that regard.
     
  9. Mar 3, 2011 at 12:24 PM
    #9
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    Nope, I had no trouble with the bluetooth. First time I powered it up, I set my phone to be detectable, then had the HU search for the phone. It'll ask you to enter a code on your phone, or on the HU I can't remember.(it was 0000 for me). They linked up after a few seconds, and after that you have to shut down the HU and power it up again.

    It's worked like a charm ever since, I leave the bluetooth on my phone enabled and they link up automatically, and nearly instantly, when I turn on my truck. Once I was on my phone while I started my truck, and the bluetooth switched over without so much as a hiccup. Person I was talking to didn't even know.

    I do have to recommend that you install the mic in the same place I did, although it's a bit more trouble. I ran it under the dash, across to the passenger side and up the pillar, under the headliner and mounted it just to the left of my rear-view. No complaints on clarity, just sounds like I'm on speakerphone.
     
  10. Mar 3, 2011 at 12:47 PM
    #10
    ILikeTacosToo

    ILikeTacosToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Member:
    #52176
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    VA
    Vehicle:
    08 DC 4X4 TRD Off Road
    ARB front locker, alpine nav, image dynamics i5800, Polk audio front rear and subs, TOYTEC 3 inch coilovers wiht AAL, awesomest driver ever!
    Glad to hear that the bluetooth works better on the alpine than on the kenwood. On startup kenwood attempts to connect one time and quits... all others i have heard of attempt for about 5-20 seconds before giving up.

    Thanks for the tip on the mic, in my last truck i mounted it on the top part of the driver side pillar. great location with the windows up (most cars with stock bluetooth put the mic in the headliner near the driver side pillar) but when i roll the windows down it is useless, i think i'll give the rear view a shot this time... where did you mount the GPS antenna?
     
  11. Mar 3, 2011 at 12:51 PM
    #11
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    I heard some people say they mounted the GPS antenna on top of the HU itself, because it didn't matter where you put it. That sounded iffy to me, so I just ran the wire up along with the mic wire, and mounted it no the underside of the roof, underneath the headliner. Don't know if it made a difference, but I figured I may as well, since I had it all taken apart already.
     
  12. Mar 3, 2011 at 3:44 PM
    #12
    ILikeTacosToo

    ILikeTacosToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Member:
    #52176
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    VA
    Vehicle:
    08 DC 4X4 TRD Off Road
    ARB front locker, alpine nav, image dynamics i5800, Polk audio front rear and subs, TOYTEC 3 inch coilovers wiht AAL, awesomest driver ever!
    so the gps antenna does not have to be in the windshield or anything like that? on my last truck i ran the wire between the dash and the windshield below the seal and put the antenna in the middle of the windshield... couldn't notice it unless you knew it was there but if yours works i think i'm gonna do the same thing you did!
     
  13. Mar 3, 2011 at 6:32 PM
    #13
    Mack83

    Mack83 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Member:
    #49646
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR DCSB Silver Streak Mica
    Just an AJT Shifter, some decals and some patches, for now...
    Yeah, I don't think it matters. Maybe they're building the antenna's stronger? I dunno, I just put it up there and it works, so *shrug*
     
To Top