1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing old system in new truck?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by monsterkx2fiddy, May 21, 2012.

  1. monsterkx2fiddy

    monsterkx2fiddy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74357
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    My previous system i had a cheapo 15$ rca adapater that you connect positive and negative of a speaker to create an rca jack to install a amplifier. The next audio shop said i needed a 150$ one or all id hear is distortion. I told them well im going to try this box out first before you rip me off. Sure enough it worked!

    So my question is will it work on my sr5 truck? i can take a picture of it later when i get home so you can see exactly what im talking about. I just want to know before i spend my time taking my truck apart and splicing wires. Just to find out my efforts are worthless.

    Also where is my ignition wire? Can i just tap into my hardwired radar detector?
     
  2. monsterkx2fiddy

    monsterkx2fiddy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74357
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    Anyone? Do I need a picture?
     
  3. monsterkx2fiddy

    monsterkx2fiddy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74357
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
  4. monsterkx2fiddy

    monsterkx2fiddy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74357
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    and can someone send me a wiring schematic?
     
  5. The Traveler

    The Traveler REBELTACO

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,775
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '10 Long Travel 4x4 DCSB
    Total Chaos 3.5" LT kit, King remote resi 8x2.5 coilovers, Glassworks Unlimited fiberglass fenders and bedsides, Icon resi rears, All Pro Expo leaf pack, Wheeler's super bumps, drop in AFE Pro Dry-S, Aero-Turbine 2525XL Muffler, Spidertrax, Rigid Industries Dually Amber Floods, rock lights, Strobe amber/white dust lights, bushwhacker fender flares, CB and HAM radios, Pelfreybilt Off Road front three hoop bumper, All-Pro APEX kickout sliders, CBI Trail Rider rear bumper, Tres Tacos LED rock lights, 50" LED Light Bar,
    I had a Scosche Line Level Converter (Wal-Mart $20) in my 2008 VW for a while with the stock head unit and two 10" subwoofers and 900w amp. Just ran regular speaker wires that were tapped into the FL FR, RL RR speaker wires from the factory head unit, to the line level converter...then the RCA's from there to the amp.
     
  6. monsterkx2fiddy

    monsterkx2fiddy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74357
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    I'm going to start a thread on how to do install for trucks with and w/o jbl system.
    If you have a jbl system there's a way to install an aftermarket amp without a line out converter. That allows you to use you bass control on the headunit for your aftermarket sub.

    Without a jbl system you need a line out converter and it has to be installed after headunit.

    If anyone has a wiring schematic for after headunit and at the jbl amp I'd like to have it so I can make a better DIY thread
     
To Top