1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Instrument Cluster Swap

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by iamjcombs, May 15, 2013.

  1. iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Sorry if this has been posted before. (After searching, I couldn't find anything)..

    I have a 1997 Tacoma 2.7 4WD and it doesn't have a tachometer. I ordered a FACTORY Toyota instrument gauge cluster with tachometer from a 1996 4 wheel drive pickup truck with a 4 cylinder 2.7L 3RZ-FE engine and 5 speed manual transmission and was curious if the tach will work without having to do any extra wiring, etc...
     
  2. se7enine

    se7enine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    3,505
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma Xtra Cab 2.7L
    K&N intake TG Air Filter, Toytec Bilstein 5100's, Chevy Leafs.
    Should be fine. Been swapping gauges in my old Toyota's for years with now extra wiring involved. Just PnP.
     
  3. Madjik_Man

    Madjik_Man The Rembrandt of Rattle Can

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26893
    Messages:
    10,204
    Gender:
    Male
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    1998 Ext Cab TRD 5MT sunfire red pearl
    About 25 pounds of spray paint and vinyl dye
    Yup.

    This was just recently done and reported on by (drawing a blank)

    Just needs to be from the same engine and it's essentially plug and play

    edit: here's a helpful thread. Be sure to check out the other links within it, they are helpful too http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/1st-gen-tacomas/262145-switching-cluster-tachometer.html
     
  4. se7enine

    se7enine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    3,505
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma Xtra Cab 2.7L
    K&N intake TG Air Filter, Toytec Bilstein 5100's, Chevy Leafs.
    Most tachs should have an adjusting screw under the face plate, just turn to change rpms with a dwell hooked up to match it up. I've used a V6 on a 4cyl before. Seeing that you (OP) ordered one from the same engine as yours you should be fine.
     
  5. iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Y'all were right. It was a simple PnP. Everything works just fine!
     
  6. tan4x4

    tan4x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Member:
    #67982
    Messages:
    1,818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma EC 4x4 2.7L Auto
    Bilsteins, OME 881's, 3-leaf AAL, Detroit TruTrac, stock gears, stock-size tires, Michelin LTX AT2, Tranny skidplate, sliders, UltraGauge, PowerTank, CB
    Does the 4WD indicator light work, when in 4wd?
     
  7. iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Yes, only because new one came out of a 4wd vehicle.
     
To Top