1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Instrument Cluster Swap

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by iamjcombs, May 15, 2013.

  1. May 15, 2013 at 8:45 AM
    #1
    iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Sorry if this has been posted before. (After searching, I couldn't find anything)..

    I have a 1997 Tacoma 2.7 4WD and it doesn't have a tachometer. I ordered a FACTORY Toyota instrument gauge cluster with tachometer from a 1996 4 wheel drive pickup truck with a 4 cylinder 2.7L 3RZ-FE engine and 5 speed manual transmission and was curious if the tach will work without having to do any extra wiring, etc...
     
  2. May 15, 2013 at 11:59 AM
    #2
    se7enine

    se7enine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    3,662
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma Xtra Cab 2.7L
    K&N intake TG Air Filter, Toytec Bilstein 5100's, Chevy Leafs.
    Should be fine. Been swapping gauges in my old Toyota's for years with now extra wiring involved. Just PnP.
     
  3. May 15, 2013 at 12:05 PM
    #3
    Madjik_Man

    Madjik_Man The Rembrandt of Rattle Can

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26893
    Messages:
    10,403
    Gender:
    Male
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    1998 Ext Cab TRD 5MT sunfire red pearl
    About 25 pounds of spray paint and vinyl dye
    Yup.

    This was just recently done and reported on by (drawing a blank)

    Just needs to be from the same engine and it's essentially plug and play

    edit: here's a helpful thread. Be sure to check out the other links within it, they are helpful too http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/1st-gen-tacomas/262145-switching-cluster-tachometer.html
     
  4. May 15, 2013 at 12:52 PM
    #4
    se7enine

    se7enine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    3,662
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma Xtra Cab 2.7L
    K&N intake TG Air Filter, Toytec Bilstein 5100's, Chevy Leafs.
    Most tachs should have an adjusting screw under the face plate, just turn to change rpms with a dwell hooked up to match it up. I've used a V6 on a 4cyl before. Seeing that you (OP) ordered one from the same engine as yours you should be fine.
     
  5. May 15, 2013 at 9:35 PM
    #5
    iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Y'all were right. It was a simple PnP. Everything works just fine!
     
  6. May 15, 2013 at 10:13 PM
    #6
    tan4x4

    tan4x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Member:
    #67982
    Messages:
    1,906
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma EC 4x4 2.7L Auto
    Bilsteins, OME 881's, 3-leaf AAL, Detroit TruTrac, 31" tires, Michelin LTX AT2, stock gears, Tranny skidplate, TC skidplate, CBI rear bumper, sliders, UltraGauge, PowerTank, CB
    Does the 4WD indicator light work, when in 4wd?
     
  7. May 16, 2013 at 3:31 AM
    #7
    iamjcombs

    iamjcombs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Member:
    #76638
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Stony Point, NC
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma
    Flowmaster, Dual Exhaust with Stainless Tips
    Yes, only because new one came out of a 4wd vehicle.
     
To Top