1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Instrument panel lights not working... Help.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacomaDoug, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. Aug 22, 2009 at 9:56 PM
    #1
    TacomaDoug

    TacomaDoug [OP] His and Hers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19455
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 (Pyrite Mica)(Silver Streak)
    Pyrite - Cut mud flaps, AVS deflector, WeatherTech floor liners. Silver Streak - Running boards for wife, AVS deflector, Kenwood DNX6140.
    I installed a new head unit today without a problem. Or so I thought. I get in the vehicle tonight and no back lights in the instrument panel. All other lights on the instrument panel come on (brake, oil, check engine, and all guages work). The only lights that are not on are the back lights for the speedometer, fuel level and rpm. Dimer switch works fine also because it still dims fog light button, clock, A/C controls.

    There is a 7.5 amp fuse that looks like it controls those lights and it is good. I pulled the same 7.5 amp fuse out of our other taco and those same lights went out.

    I am very confused. Hopefully someone here has seen this problem.

    FYI, the radio is now sitting on the floor of the truck completely disconnected. Wanted to make sure it wasn't a wiring problem with the install. Still no lights.

    Please help.
     
  2. Aug 22, 2009 at 11:17 PM
    #2
    Hootbro

    Hootbro Omnipotent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18789
    Messages:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Regualr Cab 4x4 2.7L
    Did you use a plug in harness or have you cut and splice directly?

    Sounds like you need to revisit the radio "ILL-" side as that shares the same ground with the combination meter.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Aug 23, 2009 at 3:46 AM
    #3
    TacomaDoug

    TacomaDoug [OP] His and Hers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19455
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 (Pyrite Mica)(Silver Streak)
    Pyrite - Cut mud flaps, AVS deflector, WeatherTech floor liners. Silver Streak - Running boards for wife, AVS deflector, Kenwood DNX6140.
    Thanks for the reply. I used the plug in harness I got with the kit from Taco Tunes.

    I'm not exactly sure what you mean but I'll tell you what I just did. The new head unit is completely disconnected. I plugged the old head unit back in so that I'm back to stock connections. Still no back lights in the instrument cluster.
     
  4. Aug 23, 2009 at 5:15 AM
    #4
    TacomaDoug

    TacomaDoug [OP] His and Hers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19455
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 (Pyrite Mica)(Silver Streak)
    Pyrite - Cut mud flaps, AVS deflector, WeatherTech floor liners. Silver Streak - Running boards for wife, AVS deflector, Kenwood DNX6140.
    I finally figured out what you were saying. Working now... WHEW!

    Rep added my friend. Thanks a bunch.
     
  5. Aug 23, 2009 at 8:50 AM
    #5
    Hootbro

    Hootbro Omnipotent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18789
    Messages:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Regualr Cab 4x4 2.7L
    Glad to have helped.

    So let's see pics of this head unit. :proposetoast:
     
  6. Aug 23, 2009 at 4:17 PM
    #6
    TacomaDoug

    TacomaDoug [OP] His and Hers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19455
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 (Pyrite Mica)(Silver Streak)
    Pyrite - Cut mud flaps, AVS deflector, WeatherTech floor liners. Silver Streak - Running boards for wife, AVS deflector, Kenwood DNX6140.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Aug 23, 2009 at 4:24 PM
    #7
    Hootbro

    Hootbro Omnipotent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18789
    Messages:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Regualr Cab 4x4 2.7L
    Looks good!:thumbsup:
     
  8. Jan 16, 2010 at 1:24 PM
    #8
    millerlight024

    millerlight024 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29433
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    05 off road
    same issue Hootbro, except now my speedometer isn't working and my check engine light is on...

    Also i tried to wire my double din so i could watch movies whenever i wanted (not needing the parking break)....not working..help please!
     
  9. May 26, 2011 at 11:39 PM
    #9
    ahasd

    ahasd New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Member:
    #57325
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Im having the same problem. Tried hooking up a double din and now cluster lights not working. Cooling and Heating lights still working but speedometer light are out. Pulled the double din back out and put the factory radio in, Now the radio and speedometer light are not working. Everything else working. Can you guy please help me as well. It sounds like there is a fix to this i just dont understand the wiring diagram post. Thanks for any help.
     
  10. Jun 2, 2011 at 10:51 PM
    #10
    ahasd

    ahasd New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Member:
    #57325
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I fixed the problem. When you hook up all 3 Orange cables ILL, Dimmer, and ILL this will Burn up your DIMMER SWITCH. I did this while hooking up an aftermarket head unit in my 2005 Tacoma. Replaced the Dimmer Switch Today and everything is back up and working. Found the switch on EBay for 20 buck. Hope this helps all. Glad i didn't have to replace the Speedometer cluster. Good Luck
     
To Top