1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Interest in AFE Group Buy????

Discussion in 'Group Buys' started by mceagle555, May 19, 2008.

  1. Aug 14, 2008 at 3:08 PM
    #421
    glk21c

    glk21c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    I avg. 500 miles a week, almost all highway
     
  2. Aug 14, 2008 at 3:08 PM
    #422
    WilsonTheDog

    WilsonTheDog Kylie's dad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Member:
    #3496
    Messages:
    4,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 DC/SB V6
    Magnaflow 12576 muffler & chrome tip, Westin step bars, 27% tint, Pop N Lock, AFE ProdryS, bed mat, Husky liners, D-rings added, Access Literider tonneau, Pioneer 4-ways all around, GY Wrangler Duratracs 265/75/16, 5100's @ 1.75", 1.5" AAL
    Surprising results. I haven't lost any mpg with either.
     
  3. Aug 14, 2008 at 3:15 PM
    #423
    91r100gs

    91r100gs Understand the Voice Within

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Member:
    #6100
    Messages:
    656
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Kansas City area
    Vehicle:
    '08 Impluse Red SR5 I-4
    Factory bed mat, TacomaWorld.com sticker, EGR In-Channel Vent Visors, AFE ProDryS drop in air filter
    My mileage seems to be down a bit(more than 1 MPG over several tanks) since removing the secondary air filter and installing the AFE. Will continue to monitor for a few more tanks before reinstalling the old setup.
     
  4. Aug 21, 2008 at 9:32 AM
    #424
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,341
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    About 2.5 tanks on the AFE ...and I haven't seen any mpg benefits.

    Traveling hasnt' been consistant enough this past tank to justify positive mpg results (if there are any).
     
  5. Aug 21, 2008 at 12:59 PM
    #425
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    My travel has been consistent and I've seen no MPG benefit after 3 tanks. I immediately noticed that the engine doesn't lug as much at the low end. I would think that the MPG boost would happen immediately also if it exists. It doesn't make sense to me that the engine would take a while to notice that I had an air filter in it before using less fuel since the injection mixture is computer controlled.

    Same thing for synthetic oil. If I've replaced the oil with gas-saving synthetic oil, it should be evident the moment I put it in. If it's not, something else is going on to boost the mileage of those who testify otherwise.
     
  6. Aug 21, 2008 at 1:12 PM
    #426
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,531
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    hard to duplicate results based on conditions. only a scangauge can prove if your getting better MPG and according to some members it does....I'm already getting a bug to sell the AFE drop in and get an AFE stage 2 :)
     
  7. Aug 21, 2008 at 1:23 PM
    #427
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    I'd have to disagree with you on that one. I've driven back and forth on the same route to work for over a year, monitoring my gas useage at fillups, and my mileage has been consistent (15.5-16.5 if I baby it). With the air filter in, it's in the same range. A scangauge shows instantaneous MPG. That's much more variable than calculating MPG because you can affect it just by involuntarily adjusting your foot while you drive. The best way is calculating from tank to tank based on the number of gallons you pump in and the number of miles travelled. It doesn't matter what the scangauge says because those two are hard numbers that don't depend on a device (given of course that you haven't changed the wheel size). I believe the scangauge can show you where you could improve though.
     
  8. Aug 21, 2008 at 1:28 PM
    #428
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    Scangauge also shows avg mpg for the trip, day, previous day and tank.

    I think that would be more accurate than just tank to tank gallons to fill. Maybe you park at an angle one day and the pump clicks off sooner putting in a gallon less than last time. There's no way you can drive EXACTLY the same way each time or pump gas exactly the same each time either.
     
  9. Aug 21, 2008 at 1:35 PM
    #429
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    95% of the time I fill at the same gas station and almost aways at the same pump, as it's near my place of employment and it's usually uncrowded when I'm there.

    As for it's accuracy, the scangauge can't be more accurate. Your scangauge has to be correctly calibrated as it's result is based on an average of your instantaneous mileage numbers (it's an estimation). It's using a curve fitting function. You're supposed to use your actual gallons pumped to calibrate the device at each fillup (which is no different than the manual method). It will then introduce a fudge factor to get the device closer to the actual usage.

    So [actual mileage travelled]/[gas pumped] will always be more accurate since that's the number the estimation is supposed to be based on. The scangauge may get close to the real number but it will always be off. If you're not calibrating at every fillup, then your readings are not accurate. If there is error in your fillup method, the scangauge will only compound that error.

    See page 18 of your manual for the procedure. From the manual: This screen should be used every time the vehicle is refueled.

    http://www.scangauge.com/support/pdfs/SGIIManual.pdf
     
  10. Aug 21, 2008 at 1:39 PM
    #430
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    So? Do you control air pressure? Temperature? Humidity? Anything else than can alter one pump from another? Do you use the same pump each time? If you can do all that, more power to you. If not, a more accurate system would use constant monitoring of the fuel actually used, not put in the tank.
     
  11. Aug 21, 2008 at 2:16 PM
    #431
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    I probably modified the original post you quoted when you posted. I answered it there.
     
  12. Aug 28, 2008 at 9:50 PM
    #432
    WilsonTheDog

    WilsonTheDog Kylie's dad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Member:
    #3496
    Messages:
    4,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 DC/SB V6
    Magnaflow 12576 muffler & chrome tip, Westin step bars, 27% tint, Pop N Lock, AFE ProdryS, bed mat, Husky liners, D-rings added, Access Literider tonneau, Pioneer 4-ways all around, GY Wrangler Duratracs 265/75/16, 5100's @ 1.75", 1.5" AAL
    To update:

    I initially did not have an increase. However, two weeks ago I reset the comp and I've gotten 18-19mpg vs. 17-18mpg prior, a 1mpg increase. It's pretty small but we'll see how it is as time goes on.
     
  13. Aug 28, 2008 at 11:04 PM
    #433
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,341
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    The scangauge doesn't know how much fuel is actually being used either.....
     
  14. Aug 29, 2008 at 5:46 AM
    #434
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    So how does it figure it out then?
     
  15. Aug 29, 2008 at 5:52 AM
    #435
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,531
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    YOU HAVE TO KEY IT IN... that right there is why i havent' bought one.
     
  16. Aug 29, 2008 at 5:58 AM
    #436
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    That's only for the fillup. It that would affect how much gas is IN the tank, but without some other factor would NOT tell you much much has LEFT the tank or how fast it leaves.
     
  17. Aug 29, 2008 at 7:31 AM
    #437
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,341
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    After doing hook-up and setup....you have to run some gas through the tank and fill it up again to get a *fuel adjustment* percentage (baseline %). Without that initial baseline run of fuel through the tank - the Scangauge will only GUESS your fuel consumption and the MPG's won't be accurate at all.
    Don't ask me how it GUESSES fuel usage. It's hooked up to the truck computer, so it's got all sorts of data available to use.

    And even after that baseline % is set....each and every tank after that... you need to *fine tune* that percentage as you go to get it the Scangauge more accurate. That Fuel adjustment % changes based on the galloons the scangauge guesses you've used versus what you actually put in the tank.
     
  18. Aug 29, 2008 at 7:35 AM
    #438
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,341
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    The Scangauge accuracy is still based on the amount of gallons you've put in the tank each fillup. The inaccuracy of the scangauge versus manual calculations....is that the Scangause is using the PREVIOUS tank fillup to calculate the future/current tank MPG.

    When doing it manually - you're getting a realtime MPG for the last tank (just getting that data after the tank is empty).
     
  19. Aug 29, 2008 at 8:36 AM
    #439
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    I'm just thinking it must get a figure from somewhere since it'll do realtime mpg readings fresh out of the box without entering any fillup info. As in, just plug it in, and enter engine size. I've switched mine from the truck to the car and forgotten to change settings. IIRC, the mpg was off at first until I remembered to change the engine size from 4.0 to 1.8 (and a couple times since then from 3.0 to 1.8 after reading engine codes for a friend). So obviously it's not a straight mpg or gph number from the ECU, but must be some other figures it uses to do the calculation.

    I doubt it uses the last tank for real time readings as I've gone from the truck (20mpg) straight to the car (40+mpg) without entering a fillup, or reseting anything other than engine, tank, and tire size. If it used the previous tank for readings then I would think it would take at least 1 tank to adjust to the car's higher mpg.
     
  20. Aug 29, 2008 at 9:29 AM
    #440
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,341
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    When you used the Scangauge on the car - did you calculate the MPG manually and compare with what the scangauge was reading?

    I always calculate my MPG manually each tank. I'm old school. It's just a way for me to see MPG and verifies the accuracy of the scanguage.

    Last winter when I was hauling 200lbs of sand in the bed for 3 months - The scangauge wasnt' accurate at all and I was adjusting the fuel % each month as I was suppoed to. It was frustrating and I was ready to complain about the unit. Then - after removing the weight and making one final adjustment to the fuel % - it's been pretty accurate ever since. Again- another reason why I always do MPG manually at the end of each tank.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top