1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Internet works, web browsers do not.

Discussion in 'Technology' started by CorrosiveTendency, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. Mar 18, 2013 at 3:58 PM
    #1
    CorrosiveTendency

    CorrosiveTendency [OP] When up to your nose in shit, keep your mouth shut

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #43987
    Messages:
    1,528
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan S.
    Schuylkill Co, Pa
    Vehicle:
    05' DblCab SB Speedway Blue
    OME 885's, Locker Mod. Bilstein 5100's on 4 corners
    I can log onto old school AIM, Weatherbug is active and other internet requiring programs are working, but my IE and newly installed/loaded FireFox will not access the internet. There is no firewall currently. Ideas?
     
  2. Mar 18, 2013 at 6:20 PM
    #2
    CorrosiveTendency

    CorrosiveTendency [OP] When up to your nose in shit, keep your mouth shut

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #43987
    Messages:
    1,528
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan S.
    Schuylkill Co, Pa
    Vehicle:
    05' DblCab SB Speedway Blue
    OME 885's, Locker Mod. Bilstein 5100's on 4 corners
    I know there have to be some people on here who know more than just trucks.
     
  3. Mar 29, 2013 at 8:56 PM
    #3
    169.254.255.201

    169.254.255.201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Member:
    #83125
    Messages:
    987
    Gender:
    Male
    Interwebs
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner 2WD
    In firefox, try options, advanced, connection settings, and make sure autodetect proxy settings for this network.
    If that doesn't work, uninstall and reinstall
     
  4. Mar 29, 2013 at 9:01 PM
    #4
    kirkofwimbo

    kirkofwimbo Say no to Bro

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40338
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clayton
    Wimberley, TX
    Vehicle:
    '07 DCSB SR5 4x4
    It's got LSD man.....
    Might be a DNS issue. If you put 74.125.227.71 in your address bar does it take you to google.com?

    Edit: just realized this threads almost 2 weeks old. Hope you got it resolved by now
     
  5. Mar 29, 2013 at 9:03 PM
    #5
    i30nes

    i30nes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9499
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa Palms, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Impulse Red
    De-badged, Grillcraft grille w/ devil horns. Work in progress :)
    Agreed... DNS settings are prolly borked. Check them in your control panel in network connections. Also in the browser settings themselves. After that you may wanna scan for malware and such.
     
  6. Mar 29, 2013 at 9:10 PM
    #6
    169.254.255.201

    169.254.255.201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Member:
    #83125
    Messages:
    987
    Gender:
    Male
    Interwebs
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner 2WD
    type in cmd. in start/search, and then type ipconfig /release, then do ipconfig /renew.

    I forget if that would do anything to your DNS, but worth a try.
     
  7. Mar 30, 2013 at 6:00 AM
    #7
    CorrosiveTendency

    CorrosiveTendency [OP] When up to your nose in shit, keep your mouth shut

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #43987
    Messages:
    1,528
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan S.
    Schuylkill Co, Pa
    Vehicle:
    05' DblCab SB Speedway Blue
    OME 885's, Locker Mod. Bilstein 5100's on 4 corners
    I entered the IP and came up with the same results. I read about AIM shit causing it and have a few files I will try to delete that are associated with it. I also tried entering the commands with no luck. I have also gotten rid of Norton and installed Avant because there was chat about Norton causing this shit. I havn't messed with it in over a week, maybe I will try again later today. So far nothing has worked. I do know a toss from the 3rd floor window will fix it all though.
     
  8. Mar 30, 2013 at 6:04 AM
    #8
    rickmeseke

    rickmeseke subaru of america

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Member:
    #90811
    Messages:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ricky
    Brunswick, GA
    Vehicle:
    a white truck
    This happens to me every few weeks. My skype works but by browsers just stop. So i do a system restpre once a month
     
  9. Apr 8, 2013 at 1:47 PM
    #9
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,376
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Try doing the Norton Removal Tool again. I've read it can leave things that still bork up the connection.
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/kb20080710133834EN_EndUserProfile_en_us
     
  10. Apr 8, 2013 at 4:10 PM
    #10
    CorrosiveTendency

    CorrosiveTendency [OP] When up to your nose in shit, keep your mouth shut

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #43987
    Messages:
    1,528
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan S.
    Schuylkill Co, Pa
    Vehicle:
    05' DblCab SB Speedway Blue
    OME 885's, Locker Mod. Bilstein 5100's on 4 corners
    Thanks for the ideas. I will try again once I get a chance. I will post the results and what fixed it...if I fix it.
     
  11. Apr 16, 2013 at 4:58 PM
    #11
    CorrosiveTendency

    CorrosiveTendency [OP] When up to your nose in shit, keep your mouth shut

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #43987
    Messages:
    1,528
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan S.
    Schuylkill Co, Pa
    Vehicle:
    05' DblCab SB Speedway Blue
    OME 885's, Locker Mod. Bilstein 5100's on 4 corners
    Fucking Norton. I reinstalled, and again uninstalled. Everything works again.
     
  12. Apr 17, 2013 at 12:13 AM
    #12
    khx73

    khx73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63950
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    Saint John NB, CAN
    Vehicle:
    11 MGM DCLB TRD Sport +leather
    Rear camera anytime switch, 4x4 Illuminated Switch (from rcbs204) , rear view mirror lift bracket (from ImMrYo), 75 cent tailgate anti-theft. Technically not mods but give me a break I'm trying to fill space here... OEM Leather pkg, keyless unlock & ACC chime silence, BakFlip G2, Ultra Gauge EM, WeatherTech floor mats, OEM roof rack
    This.

    ;) Glad it worked out. Think I stopped using Norton around 10 years ago when it started to get way too bloat-ware for my liking... Win 98 days.
     
To Top