1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Is there anyway to convert both electric windows to auto?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by veg hed, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Aug 29, 2011 at 9:57 AM
    #1
    veg hed

    veg hed [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33217
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Teton, WY
    Vehicle:
    04 Toyota TRD SR5 V6 Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100s, Toytec 620 springs, OME Dakar Leafs, ARB Bumper, Warn 8000 Winch, Grey Wire Mod.
    I know it sounds like a stupid little mod but I think it would be so cool to get both windows to automatically roll down at the same time.

    On my 2004 two door Tacoma the drivers side window switch as the auto option where if you push the switch down all the way the window will continue to roll down all the way without holding it. I tried to find another single auto switch but couldn't. I did find that the switch is on whole component like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002U4P43C/ref=asc_df_B002U4P43C1683928/

    So, is there mod to convert both electric windows to auto?
     
  2. Aug 29, 2011 at 10:05 AM
    #2
    veg hed

    veg hed [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33217
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Teton, WY
    Vehicle:
    04 Toyota TRD SR5 V6 Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100s, Toytec 620 springs, OME Dakar Leafs, ARB Bumper, Warn 8000 Winch, Grey Wire Mod.
    So how hard would it be to take another auto switch and replace the passengers side switch with it?

    Anybody ever tried this?
     
  3. Aug 29, 2011 at 10:10 AM
    #3
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,973
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    I'm not at all sure, but is there any way to wire both windows into one switch?
     
  4. Aug 29, 2011 at 10:10 AM
    #4
    neoflex

    neoflex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36594
    Messages:
    651
    Gender:
    Male
    Not sure why Toyota didn't make both windows auto. It's the same way on the 2010s and 2011. I was just thinking this weekend that I really wish they also at least made the drivers window auto up like they did on the 4Runners. It's so convenient and it's weird that they opted to put it in some vehicles but not all.
     
  5. Aug 29, 2011 at 10:14 AM
    #5
    SuperTacoma

    SuperTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43118
    Messages:
    644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    11 Toyota Prerunner TRD PKG
    Factory Mods Ventshades Bug Deflector Magnaflow Muffler Solid Fold Extang Cover Pop Lock Helix Power Tower Westin Brush Guard Westin Nerf Bars color match Scoop Hood
    I know some of the newer cars have this option. My wife's Fusion has it auto for the driver on both buttons and the passenger has auto as well.
    I thought some of the 4Runners had this option as well.
     
  6. Aug 29, 2011 at 10:14 AM
    #6
    scocar

    scocar Scouting the perimeter for weakness

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Member:
    #25814
    Messages:
    31,313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dick
    In close proximity to an undisclosed location
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB 4x4 SR5
    Back to square one after the 2001. So...
    That would be awesome! I think the same thing every day.

    Now I am thinking maybe get another auto switch out of a wreck and stick in the passenger window position....but then who knows about the circuits and if you can even crack open that case without ruining it? We need an electrical wonk in here. It seems like just installing the same 2-position (or technically, I think it would be 3-position?) switch in there would do it?
     
  7. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:21 AM
    #7
    TIPICOTACO

    TIPICOTACO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Member:
    #46556
    Messages:
    2,233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    nw nj
    Vehicle:
    '01 DC 4X4 TRD "RAD BARON"
    Some lift, some armor, some scratches..
    sub'd - this would be cool
     
  8. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:32 AM
    #8
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    I've pulled apart the auto switch on an older honda once. Wished I didn't. Couldn't get it back together correctly. It worked but I lost my auto down.

    Pretty sure all 2(or 4) switches are one box. Meaning if you wanted to change just one switch, you might be hacking the box. Is there another model Toyota/Lexus that has auto windows on more than the drivers door? That might be a viable option. I do like the idea though, annoys the hell out of me. I want em ALL auto!
     
  9. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:34 AM
    #9
    TacomaPrime

    TacomaPrime Cybertronian Tacoma

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Member:
    #56955
    Messages:
    1,656
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    05 Prerunner SR5 TRD off road
    They need to do this for all 4 windows on the DC's. my buddies 06 bmw has that. It's nice.
     
  10. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:40 AM
    #10
    VirginiaBound

    VirginiaBound Whyareyoureadingthis?

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18755
    Messages:
    7,332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam I am, green eggs and ham
    North of Maine, South of Spain
    I can second this, personally I would be too scared to take the door panel off to find out if it's possible or not. :eek:

    So I assume you would like auto on all toggles, or just the drivers window? Perhaps find a duplicate switch mechanism like the drivers window?

    If all else fails just remembers you have a more convient time than I do with my passenger window, I have to lean over and crank. :censored: :(
     
  11. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:42 AM
    #11
    rcbs204

    rcbs204 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23681
    Messages:
    3,756
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes i have, not possible.
    Its actually a PCB, not the switch.
    I spent about three hours trying to figure this one out to no avail.
     
  12. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:47 AM
    #12
    rcbs204

    rcbs204 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23681
    Messages:
    3,756
    Gender:
    Male

    No this will not work, as they are using a FET to control the auto down function. The little detente you feel when you go to full auto is a simple secondary thingy (Mechanical). Not sure how to describe it. I takes a third wire going to the motor to supply the constant state, when the FET is activated via the switch. Not so simple. So now here is my question? If i design a PCB to do this function, how many thousands of people are going to be interested in such a thing?
     
  13. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:54 AM
    #13
    pootermobile

    pootermobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47184
    Messages:
    156
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 DBL cab 4WD V6 6-speed Debadged
    De-Flapped, All-Weather Floor Mats, Blue LED dome light, De-badged, BMW shift knob, 8K HIDs in headlights and fogs, Fog light relay MOD, 3" Coil-spring spacers, 1.5" rear blocks, 17" ProComp 7033s, 285/70R17 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Ebay 7" touch screen head unit, TEKstyle snap button tonneau cover
    Do the 4Runers have both fronts auto down? Might be able to use one out of those.
     
  14. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:57 AM
    #14
    veg hed

    veg hed [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33217
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Teton, WY
    Vehicle:
    04 Toyota TRD SR5 V6 Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100s, Toytec 620 springs, OME Dakar Leafs, ARB Bumper, Warn 8000 Winch, Grey Wire Mod.
    I would probably buy one if the price was right.

    BTW, What's a FET and a PCB?
     
  15. Aug 29, 2011 at 11:57 AM
    #15
    kmok

    kmok Plastidipped ma Hootus!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8007
    Messages:
    2,350
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Columbus, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2005 Subaru Outback XT 5MT
    How expensive would it be and how hard would it be to install? I'm interested...
     
  16. Aug 29, 2011 at 12:00 PM
    #16
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    My 99 4runner limited had this function for both front's. Not sure if it is a direct replacement.
     
  17. Aug 29, 2011 at 12:04 PM
    #17
    okboatie1

    okboatie1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Member:
    #60622
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Darrell
    Chula Vista, CA.
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner TRD SR5 DCSB
    OME 881's w/Dakar's, Deckplate mod, Debadged, door chime mod, 12V outlets always on,
    I'm interested. Although I am getting better at the "3 finger auto" swith operation.

    Sub'd
     
  18. Aug 29, 2011 at 12:07 PM
    #18
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke

    PCB = Printed Circuit Board. Didn't know that they had em on ours, not surprised though, its cleaner.

    FET = Field Effect Transistor.


    I guess it wouldn't be too hard to design a new PCB. Maybe If I go to the junkyard and pull a controller from a wreck, I'd consider re-designing one as well.


    I was also reading that the ES330 has an all windows auto option. A quick google images search and it looks like the layout of their switches is identical. Maybe it can be swapped out without too much trouble.
     
  19. Aug 29, 2011 at 12:17 PM
    #19
    rcbs204

    rcbs204 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23681
    Messages:
    3,756
    Gender:
    Male
    Feild Effect Transistor (FET)
    Printed Circuit Board (PCB)
     
  20. Aug 29, 2011 at 12:19 PM
    #20
    okboatie1

    okboatie1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Member:
    #60622
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Darrell
    Chula Vista, CA.
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner TRD SR5 DCSB
    OME 881's w/Dakar's, Deckplate mod, Debadged, door chime mod, 12V outlets always on,
    :eek::confused:What did you say? I think this is one of those mods I'll leave alone. Can you say "Group Buy"?
     
To Top