1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Is this Safe?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Halhjak, Apr 29, 2015.

?

I this set up safe?

  1. Yes

    20.0%
  2. No

    80.0%
  1. Apr 29, 2015 at 7:48 AM
    #1
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    In my truck I hooked up my amp and sub like this is this safe tell me what you think! I turn it off when the trucks off and on when I want it on. I cant wire the remote wire to my deck because its the stock head unit.
    [​IMG]

    1520663_591556934250658_1552616648_n.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 4, 2015
  2. Apr 29, 2015 at 7:59 AM
    #2
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    I'm no stereo guy, but that looks all wrong to me.

    I'd put the fused lead to a key-on circuit. If you want a manual switch for the amp, put it in that lead. Get rid of the un-fused lead and the direct battery connections.

    As is, it looks at risk for a burn down on the un-fused side, or a dead battery when you forget to hit the switch.
     
  3. Apr 29, 2015 at 7:59 AM
    #3
    Ihatetacomas

    Ihatetacomas Because tacomas hate me

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Member:
    #136475
    Messages:
    980
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Reno NV
    Vehicle:
    '12 White LB TRD Sport
    Used @ 23,283 Volant Intake (w/ scoop)(removed August 2016), BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Cover, (drain tube mod), Pop & Lock Tailgate Lock, Stampede Vigilante Premium VP Series Hood Protector, 5lb Extinguisher, Shovel & Axe mounted in bed, Shok Industries Sound Deadener, Mercury: (K62, MGR-1200, MGR-495) Triton 8" Subs, Custom-Made: Sub Box, Speaker Templates, Vapor Barrier, All-Pro Bumper w/Kickouts, hidden trailer hitch, wooden cup-holder Misc: Knukonceptz RCA, speaker, and power wires, Big 3 Upgrade, a very full Husky technician tool box
    Can you give us a little more info on what your running? I would be wary of the switch, too easy to space it out, leave it on and drain your battery, but that's just me.
     
  4. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:02 AM
    #4
    nd4spdbh

    nd4spdbh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Member:
    #114055
    Messages:
    11,482
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    13 DCSB TRD OR v6 Auto
    you could splice into any 12v on with ignition line. There is one that goes to the stock headunit.
     
  5. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:07 AM
    #5
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    I didnt want to cut into my factory wiring harness. and on my fuse box I dont know which one comes on when you turn the key on. I have a 2007 toyota tacoma double cab if that helps with anything.
     
  6. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:13 AM
    #6
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    If I put a inline fuse on the wire going to the REM on my amp would that make it safer?
     
  7. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:17 AM
    #7
    HAVVOKK

    HAVVOKK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Member:
    #152280
    Messages:
    9,094
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle:
    2014 DGAF Long Bed
    Fucking look it up
    I've done many setups and installs in my time and that switch to turn the amp on and off is all wrong your going to burn up that amp and drain your battery in a heart beat take the switch out and when you don't want to run the sub either manually turn it down on your amp, disconnect your ground with a quick distconnect, or turn the bass down on your head unit don't run a switch to turn the power on and off totally unsafe for you and your truck
     
  8. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:17 AM
    #8
    toomanytoys84

    toomanytoys84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Member:
    #141789
    Messages:
    524
    Gender:
    Male
    Stock
    Buy a 12V test light. It's easy to figure out.
     
  9. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:30 AM
    #9
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015
  10. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:35 AM
    #10
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,815
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    If you are scared to find an ignition wire you could use a fuse tap and tap one of the power window fuses under the dash for your remote wire. Those windows only receive power when the ignition is on.
     
  11. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:47 AM
    #11
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    So this is what my interior fuse panel looks like. Which one am I going to need to use for the REM on the amp.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:50 AM
    #12
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,815
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    You can use a fuse tap to tap into any of those fuses that have power only when the ignition is on. Anything with P/W is a power window and would work.. Just make sure your tap has the right amp rating for the fuse your tapping into and fuse your remote wire with a smaller 3-5 amp fuse.
     
  13. Apr 29, 2015 at 8:52 AM
    #13
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,815
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    You are looking to use a part like this:

    [​IMG]
    That's a fuse tap. The original use rating goes in the bottom and the top would be a 3 amp fuse for the remote wire. Make sure you get a tap for the right fuse size. You then connect your remote wire up to the blue crimp connection and you have a fused connection that will only come on when the key is on!
     
  14. Apr 29, 2015 at 9:51 AM
    #14
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    So if i do it this way
    [​IMG]
    and the fuse tap is tapped into the ACC 7.5A The amp should preform fine?
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Apr 29, 2015 at 9:58 AM
    #15
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,815
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    The amp will perform fine as long as your ground is clean. The remote wire just turns the amp on. It doesn't carry any current that goes to producing sound.
     
  16. Apr 29, 2015 at 9:59 AM
    #16
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    Alright thanks for all your help guys! if I have any more questions I will ask. Thanks Again!!
     
  17. Apr 29, 2015 at 10:39 AM
    #17
    mattgecko

    mattgecko The LED Lighting Guy. MattGeckoLEDs.com

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Member:
    #59337
    Messages:
    13,011
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB O.R. 4wd TRD Super Charged
  18. Apr 29, 2015 at 11:03 AM
    #18
    Halhjak

    Halhjak [OP] Questioner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Member:
    #153353
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Central Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    White 2007 Double Cab 4x4 V6 4.0
    2 1/2 lift, Black Emblems, Red Interior LED lights w/switch
    I actually have one a friend gave me that he used in his Mustang but I have no clue how I would get it to work?

    It is a scosche line out converter fai-4 (NOT FAI-3A!!!)
     
  19. Apr 29, 2015 at 11:12 AM
    #19
    mattgecko

    mattgecko The LED Lighting Guy. MattGeckoLEDs.com

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Member:
    #59337
    Messages:
    13,011
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB O.R. 4wd TRD Super Charged
    Yours is for multi channel, if you want to keep it simple get the one I recommended above.

    Its easy, the input wires tap into the existing left and right speaker wires and the output are RCA jack to the amp.

    Did a quick search:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015

Products Discussed in

To Top