1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Is tow package wiring harness fused?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by hackaway, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. Jul 7, 2009 at 5:42 PM
    #1
    hackaway

    hackaway [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18342
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Prerunner TRD
    I have an 09 Tacoma with the tow pkg. I installed a brake controller a couple weeks ago, and it worked great. Now, I don't get any power to the controller. I don't know what happened.

    I checked the controller in my other truck, and it works. I tried a backup controller harness, no luck. I checked the truck harness with a multi-meter, no voltage. I checked every fuse in the panel, all good.

    I spoke with a service guy at the dealer today, and he thinks the wiring is fused, but is not sure.

    Does anyone know if the power to the controller is fused???

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jul 7, 2009 at 6:03 PM
    #2
    TacoTurd

    TacoTurd Defying Alliances since 2007

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Member:
    #2160
    Messages:
    317
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Bull Bar, PIAA lights, Passport, Bed Mat, UWS Toolbox, Hood Struts, Rear TSB, TRD/Okole Seat Covers, Hellwig Rear Sway Bar, Burned Carpet, Nasty Dent in Roof
    Been awhile since I put one in, but I woulda swore the main power has to have an automatic fast reset BREAKER, not a fuse. Some DoT requirement.

    Sorry if not very helpful. Been a long time, but I definitely remember dealing with a breaker when I put my controller in. First time I had ever seen one for a car. :confused:
     
  3. Jul 7, 2009 at 6:11 PM
    #3
    hackaway

    hackaway [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18342
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Prerunner TRD
    Where is that breaker located?
     
  4. Jul 8, 2009 at 9:13 AM
    #4
    hackaway

    hackaway [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18342
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Prerunner TRD
    I just went to the dealer, and they will not even look at the issue without charging me. They say since it is an aftermarket controller, it's not covered. They didn't care that the problem is with the truck, not the controller.

    My hope is to be able to fix it myself now. I need to find that breaker and reset it.

    Can anyone help me?
     
  5. Jul 8, 2009 at 9:21 AM
    #5
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    If it is aftermarket, the wiring should be exposed. Follow the wires to the power source.
     
  6. Jul 8, 2009 at 10:38 AM
    #6
    hackaway

    hackaway [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18342
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Prerunner TRD
    The controller and adapter are aftermarket. The adapter plugs into a connector on the truck wiring harness.

    The connector provides voltage to the controller. The connector is showing zero voltage, so I am hoping that the circuit is protected with a fuse/breaker.

    Inspection of the main fuse box showed no blown fuses. I am thinking that the tow pkg controller circuit is fused/breakered in a different location.
     
  7. Jul 8, 2009 at 11:03 AM
    #7
    johnecon2001

    johnecon2001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16456
    Messages:
    1,019
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD Sport 4x4 Access Cab
    Downey front skid, Trail Gear U-Bolt flip, Toytec AAL, Total Chaos UCA's, Bilstein 5100's x4 + Eibach adjustable coils, Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, Custom Rear bumper, TRD OffRoad front tow hook, TRD Trail Team wheels, Federal Couragia M/T 265's, ARB rear locker + on board air (CKMA12), TRD shift knob, Alpine W205, TRD seat covers, Tom Woods 1 Piece drive shaft, Powermaster D2700, Stubbs HD-SKO Sliders.
    Did you just visually check the fuses? Or did you use a multimeter to verify continuity?
     
  8. Jul 8, 2009 at 1:45 PM
    #8
    hackaway

    hackaway [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18342
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Prerunner TRD
    Okay. I just read the owners manual, and did not realize there were more fuses under the hood, many dedicated to towing.

    First inspection shows all fuses intact, but I will check each tonight as you suggest.

    Getting closer...
     
  9. Aug 17, 2009 at 4:12 PM
    #9
    vbibi

    vbibi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Member:
    #20060
    Messages:
    515
    Gender:
    Male
    san fransisco bay area
    Vehicle:
    2009 4door long bed
    My 2009 has a reset button under the stering wheel next to hood release. Is it it?
    If not what the hell it is?
    take care
    vbibi
     
  10. Aug 17, 2009 at 4:47 PM
    #10
    RogueLeader

    RogueLeader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Member:
    #21162
    Messages:
    308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rod
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma Double Cab SR5 TRD
    That's the TPMS reset switch. It resets the TPMS when a tire with the sensor is fixed and reset on the truck (at least that's what the manual says).
     
To Top