1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Just got new stereo.. Have some ????

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by toyotadude5, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:37 PM
    #1
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    Hey everybody i just installed my new kenwood stereo because wanted better sound and also wanted to run my satellite radio thru it.. I have it working but now everytime i turn off the truck, it resets the sttings on the radio, so it doesnt remember the time or any of the station settings i had it on. I hooked up all wiring like it is supposed to be but still resets everytime the truck is turned off.

    Also it says that it is satellite radio ready, but not sure how. Do i just need to run an auxillary cable from the output on my head unit to the sirius radio??? the guys at best but tried to sell me some fancy stuff, but i thought i could just connect it somehow.

    heres a pic of the setup, sorry a little dark

    [​IMG]

    thanks for the help and suggestions
     
  2. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:47 PM
    #2
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    The first issue, sounds like the constant isn't hooked up. You should have 2 hot wires. One is constant (so your stations and time don't erase) and the other is ACC ( so the HU comes on when you turn the key. Can't help you on the Sat radio though.
     
  3. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:48 PM
    #3
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    Sounds like you have the Power wire hooked to the ignition switch wire. You need to have the power wire hooked to a wire that always has power, there is one back there. I'd pull it out and double check the wiring.
     
  4. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:51 PM
    #4
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    well the red coming from the truck is the 12 volt. I have 2 wires currently hooked to that on. i guess ill look at it again tho.

    Any input on the sat radio?? anyone done it?
     
  5. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:52 PM
    #5
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Should be a yellow in there somewhere. Thats what you need.
     
  6. Nov 13, 2009 at 4:54 PM
    #6
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    ya ok i think oi left that one disconected. The wirin is as follows

    from head unit a yellow and red, connected to the red 12 volt on truck.
     
  7. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:00 PM
    #7
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Yea, that is why you have no memory on the HU. You need to find the wire that always has 12V to it. Did you use a wiring harness?
     
  8. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:07 PM
    #8
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    yes i bought the harness and then just spliced into the trucks wires using the colors and the booklet with wire info. got all speakers hooked up and everything to turn on and play but no memory.
     
  9. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:09 PM
    #9
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Should be easy to find then. Multimeter would be helpful though.
     
  10. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    #10
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    haha ya. ill try to look again. I hate wiring
     
  11. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    #11
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Good luck man.
     
  12. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:14 PM
    #12
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    ya thanks, it def sound better and louder then the stock one tho
     
  13. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:16 PM
    #13
    VolNut

    VolNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    It'll wake those factory speakers up for sure. I installed a Pioneer 5100 and it was like night and day. I put a set of Polk components up front, I couldn't believe how cheap looking the factory speakers were.
     
  14. Nov 13, 2009 at 5:24 PM
    #14
    bigyetti

    bigyetti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15880
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    asheville, nc
    Vehicle:
    08 taco dc 4x4 short bed
    sirius satilite radio, more on the way when i get more money. oh ya removed the secondary filter
    i think the sirius is a different subscription. but im not sure. i believe its has to do with a factory installed option that has a different antenna or something. hope this helps. do you listen to ellis? on 28 great show red dragons if ya do
     
  15. Nov 13, 2009 at 8:16 PM
    #15
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    ya well im subscribed to serius and everything but need to hook it up to my stereo. Im going to buy and auxillary cord now, because i have an aux port on this new stereo and then io think u just plug it into the back of the serius system. Hope it works.

    ya next is gonna be prolly new speakers
     
  16. Nov 13, 2009 at 8:54 PM
    #16
    justeday

    justeday diving fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Member:
    #8984
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    campbell river, BC
    Vehicle:
    06 toy tacoma, silver mica
    265/75/16, bed mat, knaak tool box, custom headache rack with side rails,rear floods, rear rack, sirius
    with a satelite ready radio, u just need to pick up the module specific to the truck, then wire it behind the dash (antenna plugs into it) and connect to the head unit... u don't need the seperate sirius radio.... this way no exposed wires and only the kenwood display... way better way to do it...
     
  17. Nov 13, 2009 at 9:47 PM
    #17
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    well i already have the sat radio. I fixed it anyways, it just needed the aux cord, now sounds awesome!!

    Still have the problem of it reseting itself tho, have tried all the wiring and no luck at all.
     
  18. Nov 14, 2009 at 10:35 AM
    #18
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    Red wire goes to switched power (only hot when key on ACC higher) Yellow wire constant power (powered regardless of position of key) Do you have a test light, or multimeter? Test light is easy. Clip alligator clip to bare metal, hit sharp point on bare end of wire. If the light comes on, you got power!

    Good luck!

    James
     
  19. Nov 14, 2009 at 11:01 AM
    #19
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    With a wiring harness there should be no splicing into the truck's wires since the harness should plug directly into the OEM stereo plug(s). Then it is just a matter of matching up the colors.
     
  20. Nov 14, 2009 at 2:57 PM
    #20
    toyotadude5

    toyotadude5 [OP] Breazeale- Pronounced Brazil

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Member:
    #24812
    Messages:
    1,991
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Flagstaff, az
    Vehicle:
    2006 Subaru wrx sti (white)
    i did no splicing in the truck wiring, but did have to connect all the wires from the bought harnass to the radio itself. Still no constant 12 volt hook up tho.

    Any one done stereo and can let me know exactly how yours is hooked up??
     
To Top