1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Kenwood DNX8120 and rear headrest monitors

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by kcossabo, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. Mar 16, 2009 at 5:28 AM
    #1
    kcossabo

    kcossabo [OP] Kevin Cossaboon

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14779
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Round Hill, VA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4dr 4x4 Tacoma
    Firestone Destination A/V, Kenwood DX8120, ScanGauge, Second Back Up Camera, Aris Bull Bar, KC Driving Lights, Weston Nerf Bars, Tonneau Cover, Bed Extender, Dynamat in doors and floor, Kenwood KSC-SW10 150W Compact Powered Subwoofer, Kenwood KFC-1362 5-1/4" 3-Way Speaker (Rear), Kenwood KFC-1682ie 6-1/2"/6-3/4" 3-way Speakers (front), Heated Signal Muth Mirror System, ScanGauge II, Viper 5701 Alarm with Tilt, Proximity, 4 window remote up/down, and remote start.
    Hi

    wondering if anyone has done, or knows if this is possible with the Kenwood DNX8120.

    Looking to install rear seat headrest monitors, and want to know if the 'zone' feature of the DNX8120 will permit video playing on them, and not the head unit while driving.

    thanks.
     
  2. Mar 16, 2009 at 5:43 PM
    #2
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    I have the DNX8120 with headrest monitors. To answer your question you are able to play video on the rear monitors while displaying something else on the head unit. Using the Zone feature I play my sons DVD on the rear monitors with rear sound and Watch music videos from my IPOD or view the navigation with sound in front. I did bypass the E-brake wire that will only allow you to play videos will E-brake is on.
     
  3. Mar 17, 2009 at 2:21 AM
    #3
    The Grettman

    The Grettman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Member:
    #14291
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Bristow, VA
    Vehicle:
    Looking for a Tacoma
    Which headrest units did you purchase? How did you by pass the brake?
     
  4. Mar 17, 2009 at 11:41 AM
    #4
    kcossabo

    kcossabo [OP] Kevin Cossaboon

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14779
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Round Hill, VA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4dr 4x4 Tacoma
    Firestone Destination A/V, Kenwood DX8120, ScanGauge, Second Back Up Camera, Aris Bull Bar, KC Driving Lights, Weston Nerf Bars, Tonneau Cover, Bed Extender, Dynamat in doors and floor, Kenwood KSC-SW10 150W Compact Powered Subwoofer, Kenwood KFC-1362 5-1/4" 3-Way Speaker (Rear), Kenwood KFC-1682ie 6-1/2"/6-3/4" 3-way Speakers (front), Heated Signal Muth Mirror System, ScanGauge II, Viper 5701 Alarm with Tilt, Proximity, 4 window remote up/down, and remote start.
    Thanks, great news. two follow ups, if I can :)

    1) Have you tried to put the GPS view on the back monitors (eliminate the 'are we there yet)
    2) does the e-break need to be bypassed only for video on the front, or to play video on the back as well when driving.

    thanks.
     
  5. Mar 20, 2009 at 1:27 PM
    #5
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    As for displaying GPS in the headrest yes. You can select your output. You can display anything you want on the output I.E GPS, IPOD video, DVD.
     
  6. Mar 20, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #6
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    For the Bypass i can not remember if you do not bypass the e-brake will the video play on the output video. I do remember if you hook up the E-brake you will not get video unless you have the E-brake on. Its alot easier to bypass the E-brake wire than to hook it up.
     
  7. Mar 20, 2009 at 1:41 PM
    #7
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    all you have to do to by-pass is ground the e-brake wire
     
  8. Mar 29, 2009 at 8:06 AM
    #8
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    Yes all you do is bypass the E-brake.
     
  9. Apr 2, 2009 at 4:29 PM
    #9
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    Headrest monitors are 7" Directed electronics. For the BYPASS just ground it out.
     
  10. Apr 29, 2009 at 7:34 AM
    #10
    tacoma1714

    tacoma1714 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Member:
    #7970
    Messages:
    1
    did you use your factory headrest on the screen install? as my dealer told me i couldnt put 7" in mine?
     
  11. May 1, 2009 at 10:39 AM
    #11
    LBCtaco

    LBCtaco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6119
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport
    5100's w/885's, Toytec AAL, Konig Countersteer Offroad Type-X, K&N Intake, 6K HID's, Yellow Fog Lights, Color Matched Running boards, , Snug top SL Lid
    I did use the factory headrest. I tired looking for replacement headrest that matched the TRD fabric but no luck. I went to various junkyards for extra headrest and they wanted 100 bucks each so i just closed my eyes and cut my headrest looks good enough for me. Not perfect but does its job my son hasn't complained at all.
     
To Top