1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Knock Sensor Issue....

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Marz, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. Nov 5, 2010 at 2:19 PM
    #1
    Marz

    Marz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4498
    Messages:
    3
    A few months ago my Check Engine light came on in my 05 Tacoma. After checking the codes I found it was a result of a "knock sensor" - P0333 Knock Sensor 2 Circuit High Bank 2.

    Through research I heard a lot of possible reasons for this, tried a few things to remedy any of the "ticking" issues hoping this may remedy it.. no dice.

    Well I now cant get my emissions test passed with the light on and Toyota wants $1100 in labor just to get to the knock sensor... the guy at the dealership claims it is from rodents chewing through the wires.

    Really?

    He said it as though this is something that happens to all vehicles and it was odd I have never had it happen...

    Sorry but of all the vehicles I have owned, all the friends I have and their vehicles, and most everything else I could find this is not a common problem.

    My truck has less than 50K on it and I am terribly disappointed. Anyone have any similar problems? any advise?
     
  2. Nov 5, 2010 at 2:30 PM
    #2
    Love My Taco

    Love My Taco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Member:
    #26304
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport xtra cab
    K&N CAI, 110 outlet in cab mod, ARE Cap, Yakima Racks, Stainless Bull Bar, tailgate lock
    I cant believe they wont pass you on echeck because of a check engine light. I'm so glad we don't have to do that crap in Ohio anymore. I'd bypass the sensor. But that's just me. Are your wires really chewed up? That would be an easy fix.
     
  3. Nov 5, 2010 at 2:38 PM
    #3
    Marz

    Marz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4498
    Messages:
    3

    I dont know if they are chewed or not. Dealer told me they need 10 hours labor to pull the heads to get to the sensor.

    How can I bypass the sensor?
     
  4. Nov 5, 2010 at 3:29 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    It should be covered by the power train warranty.
     
  5. Nov 5, 2010 at 3:38 PM
    #5
    Marz

    Marz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4498
    Messages:
    3
    post 3 years / 30K mi?
     
  6. Nov 5, 2010 at 3:56 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Power train is 5 years, 60K miles
     
To Top