1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Life insurance vs 401k

Discussion in 'Stocks & Investments' started by 2ski4life7, May 9, 2016.

1. May 9, 2016 at 1:24 PM
    2ski4life7

2ski4life7 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Seattle WA
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB 4x4 TRD Off Road Previously '12 DCLB 4x4 SR5
    Hello, I am looking for some advice. What sparked me is this thread https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/wanting-to-begin-investments.363362/ and hearing about bogleheads.org really got me researching about retirement planning. Even bought the book. Just started reading it though.

So im fairly new to looking into my retirement. I'm 29 years old, no kids, rent, high five figure salary, have 20k in my 401k but have 15k in cc debt that I keep bouncing to 0% CC's(should be paid off within a year). I recently got referred to a Northwestern Mutual agent for life insurance(Don't get me started). Well before I did a lot of reading I opened a term life insurance and whole life policy with the company. This is relatively new so if I can cut my losses I want to do it soon.