1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Light wiring

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Rukus, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. Mar 14, 2017 at 5:45 PM
    #1
    Rukus

    Rukus [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211040
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st gen tacoma
    Arb bull bar
    I just installed a pair of ipf lights on my trucks bullbar. I wired them in to the high beams but am having second guesses. If I wired them to the running lights I could use them either with or without my high beams on.. the way I have it wired I need my high beams on to run the fogs. Not much help in the fog. Thoughts? How does everyone else have them wired?
     
  2. Mar 14, 2017 at 5:47 PM
    #2
    GHOST SHIP

    GHOST SHIP hates you.

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Member:
    #150537
    Messages:
    21,728
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    GHOST
    Have you considered a separate harness/switch? Maximum flexibility and you can turn them on whenever you'd like.
     
    mechanicjon likes this.
  3. Mar 14, 2017 at 7:13 PM
    #3
    Rukus

    Rukus [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211040
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st gen tacoma
    Arb bull bar
    I wired the switch for them right in to the high beam wire in the drivers side headlight. how would I wore them completely separately?
     
  4. Mar 14, 2017 at 7:17 PM
    #4
    Bocsy44

    Bocsy44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Member:
    #182850
    Messages:
    5,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB Sport
    This that and the other thing.
    well, depending on the amp draw of the lights, you could wire from battery to the switch or any ACC +12v power supply then to the fogs. or better yet wire in a relay. a little safer since the relay can handle more amp draw then a switch can. again, depends on the amp draw of the lights. you can turn them on when ever you want
     
  5. Mar 14, 2017 at 7:28 PM
    #5
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    5,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 2.5,Tundra 17s,Falken Wildpeak AT3W hitch w/ 7-pin, ARE cap, JVC HU w/BT, HID/LED lights
    if you are using a switch + relay this is the correct method as factory "fog" lights should only be able to come on when the headlights are on. when high beams or headlights off you can't use them. check with your inspection rules to make sure they will not flag you if done incorrectly.

    otherwise as suggested use the running lights wire to the relay. If you only have a wire from the headlight to the switch you are seriously drawing too much electric and will cause problems
     
  6. Mar 15, 2017 at 7:37 AM
    #6
    GHOST SHIP

    GHOST SHIP hates you.

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Member:
    #150537
    Messages:
    21,728
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    GHOST
    Not your only option, but probably the easiest since it would be "plug and play":
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00O72R7Z8
    Pos/neg leads to the battery and to the lights and run the switch to your desired location in or on the truck.


    BTW, you say you wired the switch into the highbeam wire? Do you mean to say you installed a switch in your cab separate from the high bean switch on the column and connected that to the high beam wire? Semantics might be confusing to some here that are trying to help.
     
  7. Mar 15, 2017 at 5:16 PM
    #7
    Rukus

    Rukus [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211040
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st gen tacoma
    Arb bull bar
    Yes exactly. I have a separate switch in the cab.
     
  8. Mar 16, 2017 at 6:26 PM
    #8
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    5,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 2.5,Tundra 17s,Falken Wildpeak AT3W hitch w/ 7-pin, ARE cap, JVC HU w/BT, HID/LED lights
    do you have that switch connected to a relay? Or does the wire go from the headlight wire > switch > lights > ground?
     
  9. Mar 17, 2017 at 2:08 AM
    #9
    Rukus

    Rukus [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211040
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st gen tacoma
    Arb bull bar
    To the relay first. I just want to be able to use my lights without needing my high beams on.
     
  10. Mar 17, 2017 at 12:20 PM
    #10
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    5,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 2.5,Tundra 17s,Falken Wildpeak AT3W hitch w/ 7-pin, ARE cap, JVC HU w/BT, HID/LED lights
    ok. then you need to switch the wire coming from your headlight wire to the running light wire. I can't remember the color off hand but maybe someone can chime in that has a diagram.

    or you can run it straight from the battery and by pass needing to have lights on at all, but I think this would be less ideal.
     
  11. Mar 17, 2017 at 2:15 PM
    #11
    Rukus

    Rukus [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211040
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st gen tacoma
    Arb bull bar
    Right on, thanks!
     
  12. Mar 18, 2017 at 3:03 AM
    #12
    butsack

    butsack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Member:
    #210515
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    SW WA
    Vehicle:
    1997 Reg cab 3rz auto
    aftermarket cassette player
    does anyone have "day time running lights?"
    my stock 97 regular cab has a small metal switch below the steering wheel which toggles the headlights to behave automatically.
    the switch doesn't look stock but I have been led to believe by people who have no reason to mislead me, that this was a stock option in 97...
    :confused:
     
  13. Mar 18, 2017 at 3:41 AM
    #13
    RysiuM

    RysiuM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Member:
    #167004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rysiu
    Was Golden State, now Poland EU
    Vehicle:
    1995 4x4 LX Ext Cab, I4 2.7, MT, 335K miles
    DD Deck+backup camera, LED DRL, All LED except H4 Hella
    DRL version of Tacoma has completely different circuit from non-DRL version. Maybe you have DRL version and the add-on switch is "cutting off" the famous "white green wire" disabling DRL. Because of the DRL circuit complexity it is easier to disable DRL in "DRL version" than adding DRL to "non-DRL version".
     
  14. Mar 18, 2017 at 8:25 AM
    #14
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    5,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 2.5,Tundra 17s,Falken Wildpeak AT3W hitch w/ 7-pin, ARE cap, JVC HU w/BT, HID/LED lights
    I could be wrong but I don't think DRL was available until '00 or '01 model? Not saying you can retrofit it but the circuits would be different for the years
     
  15. Mar 18, 2017 at 8:33 AM
    #15
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    19,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    OP, as others suggest, separate wiring is best. Then they are in your control.

    If they are really fog lights, you'd only want to run them with low beams anyway, as the trucks with fogs are wired to do. High beams are bad news in fog conditions

    If you are using some kind of driving light, you don't want them on in the fog, but you would with high beams.
     
  16. Mar 18, 2017 at 1:27 PM
    #16
    RysiuM

    RysiuM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Member:
    #167004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rysiu
    Was Golden State, now Poland EU
    Vehicle:
    1995 4x4 LX Ext Cab, I4 2.7, MT, 335K miles
    DD Deck+backup camera, LED DRL, All LED except H4 Hella
    DRL was standard in Canadian version since the day one (I mean since 95). Still the DRL version had quite complicated headlight circuit including DRL control unit (black box), DRL resistor and few more relays. In 95 non DRL Tacoma the headlight circuit is quite "primitive" and the thing I don't like at all is that the whole headlight current (that is 9Amp) goes through headlight switch instead of being switched by relay.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top