1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Line Out Converter Help needed- which harness wires to tap?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Slider57, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. Mar 21, 2016 at 5:38 PM
    #81
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    working on my metra harness. can you tell me if you needed to put two wires in the small rear speaker plug or just the one (for the orange black wire) I'm getting mixed info. I know the orange and black is for the dimmer, and possibly the other one for fading front to rear?

    going to be hooking it up to LC7i as well.

    thanks
     
  2. Mar 21, 2016 at 6:47 PM
    #82
    zinger

    zinger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Member:
    #165960
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Sky Tacoma SR5
    I followed the recommendations of garyinok in his thread... https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/2016-tacoma-double-cab-audio-install-build.402547/. Need to move one of the pins/wires in the small metra female plug to match up with orange/black wire on the small metra male plug. I used a very small flat head screw driver to pop the pin out and moved that pin/wire over to the matching orange/black slot. Didn't do anything special for the fader and it works fine, I would assume that's internal to the head unit.
     
  3. Mar 27, 2016 at 5:21 PM
    #83
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    thanks. I've got the de-pinning down and added the wires to the small harness, looks like ill have one to take back out
     
  4. Apr 2, 2016 at 7:02 PM
    #84
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    This is what I was questioning. The J wire. Is that needed in 3rd gen non-JBL
     
  5. Apr 2, 2016 at 8:09 PM
    #85
    UBYBC

    UBYBC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Member:
    #161622
    Messages:
    482
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma TRD OR
    I can only speak for 2nd Gen, you'll have to start a 3rd Gen thread or look at your setup to determine if it matches this thread.
     
  6. Apr 3, 2016 at 2:26 PM
    #86
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    Yeah. I know a few 3rd gen people posted in this thread. Hoping they would reply as I haven't taken the head unit out yet and was hoping to have the harness ready before I did.
     
    UBYBC likes this.
  7. Apr 6, 2016 at 9:30 PM
    #87
    UBYBC

    UBYBC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Member:
    #161622
    Messages:
    482
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma TRD OR
    I took mine out like four times before it was all over. It was frustrating but worth the effort in the end. Good luck getting it done.
     
  8. Apr 9, 2016 at 2:52 PM
    #88
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    yeah I'm figuring it will be the same for me. I'll leave the wire in, what's the worst that could happen, right?!?!
     
  9. Apr 9, 2016 at 7:45 PM
    #89
    checker806

    checker806 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Member:
    #183811
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tundra
    My god...I just spent all day tapping under passenger seat with a LOC...no signal to sub amp...tried everything. SOMEBODY...Please help me! 2016 tundra, non-JBL system...just shitty stock sound. Can anybody who has successfully installed a sub amp with the stock radio, help me? I don't understand all the talk about getting 2 more harnesses and rewiring. I'm not experienced enough, and no shops around me have worked on any 2016 tundra. What is my easiest route to get this done? Thanks in advance...attached is the wires I tapped into under the seat that did not work. I got it from the taco tunes youtube video...

    Screenshot_2016-04-08-14-38-46.jpg
     
  10. May 12, 2016 at 9:23 AM
    #90
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    Sorry I didn't see this until now. Did you still need help with this? Hopefully, you were able to get some help from the tundra forums.
     
  11. May 12, 2016 at 10:23 AM
    #91
    checker806

    checker806 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Member:
    #183811
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tundra
    Yes...still need help! This stock system is not up to my listening standards! Please help
     
  12. May 12, 2016 at 11:11 AM
    #92
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    Ok. Well, I would first suggest tapping off the radio's harness. I don't know what those wires are underneath the seats. Basically, you'll be doing this:

    Find the radio's speaker output wires. Most factory wires have a Front L/R and Rear L/R, 4 wires total. The reason why some of us installed extra harnesses is to avoid cutting any of the OEM wiring.

    I created this diagram for you. If you need more help, you should probably talk to a car audio shop. Just because no one has worked on a 2016 yet doesn't mean the same principles wouldn't apply. Use google/yelp to find a reputable shop.

    LOC install.jpg
     
  13. May 12, 2016 at 12:11 PM
    #93
    checker806

    checker806 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Member:
    #183811
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tundra
    Thank you for that! That helps me out! Now, when I get behind the radio...are the correct wires to tap into labeled so I know which ones are the correct ones to tap? Are do I need some type of color chart to identify the correct wires?
     
  14. May 12, 2016 at 12:24 PM
    #94
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
  15. May 12, 2016 at 2:03 PM
    #95
    gkomo

    gkomo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169821
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM AC SR5 4x4
    The schematics are really easy to use and have helped me tremendously on my install.
     
  16. Jul 13, 2016 at 9:29 PM
    #96
    AngryOscar

    AngryOscar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Member:
    #187378
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Sumter SC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Tacoma TRD OR Manual
    I asked this in another thread, but this may be a better place for a line out converter question .

    I'm using the LC7i and from my understanding, running speaker wires into that should trigger the amps to turn out without the need for the remote wire..... However..... I want to connect a toggle switch to the amp for the sub so I can flip the subs off easily. How can I toggle my sub amp on and off if its always getting power based on the speaker wire/lc7?

    Would I run the remote output from the LC7i back up to my toggle switch, then back to my amp?

    Would I even need to run remote wires to both my amps?

    Thanks
     
  17. Jul 13, 2016 at 10:06 PM
    #97
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    The LC7i has a remote wire that goes from the unit to the Remote port of the amp. Put a switch in between there to cut off the signal.
     
    solscooter likes this.
  18. Jul 14, 2016 at 12:21 AM
    #98
    AiNoFaKNKeA

    AiNoFaKNKeA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Member:
    #109790
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD Sport DCSB
    885's w/ 1/2" spacers on OME Sport Nitros OME Dakars w/ Sport Nitros & D29XL AAL 285/65 BFG AT KOs on 18" Dropstars 645B 0 Offset 4.5" BS Spidertrax 1.25" Wheel Spacers LED Interior and Exterior 6K HID Headlamps and Fogs 6K LED DRL Switchbacks Pop and Lock Codeable Smart Lock Tailgate Handle Debadged Wet Okole's Front and Rear Weathertech Digital Fit Floor Liners Husky Liners Custom Molded Mud Guards Tint AMP Research Bed Step AMP Research Bed Extender ImMrYo Rear-View Mirror Lift Bracket Viper Alarm ICE: Alpine PDX-V9 Audio Control LC6i Image Dynamics CTX65CS Image Dynamics CTX65 Image Dynamics IDQ12 KnoKnoise Sound Deadening
    If you're running multiple amps (sub and front/rears), you'll want to install a switch on the remote wire for the sub amp instead of the LC7i.
     
  19. Jul 14, 2016 at 4:10 AM
    #99
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    Sorry I didn't answer your PM. As I understand the lc7i, I could be mistaken, it has a feature that detects signal and will turn on without the need of a remote wire. There will still need to be a remote turn on wire run from the lc7i to the amps, unless your amps also have a the aforementioned feature like the lc7i. The remote turn on wire to the amps would be where you'd want to place your switch.

    And to answer your question on the other thread the bass knob for the lc7i does use phone wire.
     
  20. Jul 14, 2016 at 4:12 AM
    #100
    solscooter

    solscooter Sh!t Outta Luck

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Member:
    #169056
    Messages:
    1,812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB 4x4
    Mobtown Offroad
    After checking the harness this wire wasn't needed in my 3rd gen. The factory harness did not have a wire in that position
     

Products Discussed in

To Top