1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Line Out Converter Help needed- which harness wires to tap?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Slider57, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. Jul 14, 2016 at 4:54 AM
    #101
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    The lc7i does not require a remote wire to power itself on. I'm not sure why you quoted me.
     
  2. Jul 14, 2016 at 7:18 AM
    #102
    AngryOscar

    AngryOscar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Member:
    #187378
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Sumter SC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Tacoma TRD OR Manual
    Thank you! :)
     
  3. Dec 8, 2016 at 6:54 PM
    #103
    ratcityrain

    ratcityrain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Member:
    #156667
    Messages:
    1,373
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Double Cab Off Road
    OEM Running boards |oemassive headlights | winjet tail lights | led lighting | hid headlight & fogs | oem tri-fold Bed cover | Custom dual JL Audio 10tw3-d4 sub box and custom amp rack | black off road wheels | painted oem grille | jbl door speakers |
    ok I need help here with AudioControl LC7 questions (if anyone here is using it in their system). I'll see if I can best explain my scenario here. I just built a new box, added new subs and a new amp and to me they were not sounded that great nor getting as loud as I felt they should be capable of doing so this evening I spent over an hour playing with it all and this is what I found.

    I have the metra harnesses off my oem head unit connected to a speedwire cable. I (originally) had the white & grey wire going into main input on the LC7 and the green & purple wires going to the channel 2 input on the LC7. I then had the main output & channel 2 rca's going to my 4 channel and channel 3 rca's going to my sub amp. I have all the dials at 12 o'clock. This configuration did not sound good to me at all

    What I did next is unplugged all the rca's and then plugged the rca's that went to sub amp into Channel 2 output and got the same results - the subs did not sound good. I then took those same rca's and plugged them into the main output and that is when I the subs shined. They sound great, they are loud and everything I want. So I thought here what I would do is keep the sub amp on the main output and then I used a Y adapter on Channel 2 output to go to the 4 channel (yes I know I lose fade controls). Everything sounded great, but then I noticed that the voice navigation from the head unit was no longer audible which I found real strange. To confirm my findings I put the 4 channel rca's back to the Main output and the voice navigation was audible again.

    So what I did to get me going for now until I can figure it out is that I have 2 Y adapters coming out the Main output of the LC7 - 1 Y adapter goes to the 4 channel amp & the other goes to the sub amp and currently I have voice navigation from my head unit, all doors and subs sound great. Obviously I didn't want to spend all this money on the LC7 just to use 1 output

    Anyone have any ideas why the subs sound like crap if I use the Channel 2 or 3 outputs? One thing I learned through this is that the voice navigation from the head unit only comes out the front speaker wires

    I am baffled to all this and it very well could be a bad LC7, but I can't return it now since it's been past 30 days with Amazon.

    Thanks everyone

    (sorry for double posting, but wanted to grab a little more audience)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2018
  4. Jan 5, 2017 at 11:51 AM
    #104
    mattgecko

    mattgecko The LED Lighting Guy. MattGeckoLEDs.com

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Member:
    #59337
    Messages:
    12,981
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB O.R. 4wd TRD Super Charged
    I have a 2nd gen with the JBL system and adding an additional 8" JL sub/amp.

    What wire did you use for the remote to the new amp?
     
  5. Jan 21, 2017 at 1:33 PM
    #105
    Taco Vince

    Taco Vince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Member:
    #194876
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nikolai
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tacoma Offroad
    Alright, I got my Metras, my LOC, and everything ready to splice up to get output to a sub amp as far as I can tell
    2diqce9_af470b5780a9e321256abe524a126e254e87ee91.jpg

    The final question: Where do I splice the LOC power in?
    "Amp turn on" seems to scream availability, but that wire is also free in the rear speaker part too???
    nna1bs_18213124d086ff5a1602f418fe42d35866d2bf63.jpg

    So 12v constant is always tempting (gotta love that yellow-yellow coding) buuuutt.....

    any pointers??
     
  6. Jan 22, 2017 at 8:38 AM
    #106
    ratcityrain

    ratcityrain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Member:
    #156667
    Messages:
    1,373
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Double Cab Off Road
    OEM Running boards |oemassive headlights | winjet tail lights | led lighting | hid headlight & fogs | oem tri-fold Bed cover | Custom dual JL Audio 10tw3-d4 sub box and custom amp rack | black off road wheels | painted oem grille | jbl door speakers |
    For my LOC, I used a distribution block for power because I have 2 amps - so I have 1 power wire going to each amp and a power wire going to my LOC
     
  7. Jan 22, 2017 at 8:58 AM
    #107
    mattgecko

    mattgecko The LED Lighting Guy. MattGeckoLEDs.com

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Member:
    #59337
    Messages:
    12,981
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB O.R. 4wd TRD Super Charged

    For LOC "power in" you can hook it to the trucks "accessory wire" (white w/green strip under the dash, left of the steering wheel, above and in front of the fuse box). I have the JBL system and wasn't able to locate a remote wire so I hooked the blue remote wire to the "accessory wire" also and added a switch (just in case i'm driving with the stereo off).
     
  8. Feb 11, 2017 at 7:01 AM
    #108
    jmeitz

    jmeitz Audio Solutions

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Member:
    #198045
    Messages:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    St. Louis, MO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma trd sport
    Remote Start Lift Stereo Leather LED lights
    I have an lc7 and have front HU signal to front speakers and rear for rear and sub. Then I take the sub output directly to the amp. No y splitters.

    IMG_3382.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top