1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Location of ECM for 98 4cyl SR5

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by GaryV, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. Mar 29, 2010 at 2:24 PM
    #1
    GaryV

    GaryV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Member:
    #34077
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma X-Cab
    Was told the ecm is located behind glove box. I removed the glove box, but am not seeing it. Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Mar 29, 2010 at 2:35 PM
    #2
    GaryV

    GaryV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Member:
    #34077
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma X-Cab
    . . . this is a 2.4 if it matters
     
  3. Mar 29, 2010 at 5:20 PM
    #3
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,136
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    Remove the glove box 'bin' and the Lower No. 2 Finish Panel it attaches to, and the ECM should be sitting right there. It's probably sitting just inside and above the glove box hole.
     
  4. Mar 29, 2010 at 6:54 PM
    #4
    da0023

    da0023 The One, The Only

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Member:
    #16547
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner SR5
    none
  5. Mar 30, 2010 at 11:02 AM
    #5
    GaryV

    GaryV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Member:
    #34077
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma X-Cab
    EG and da . . . thanks you're right on. Wow, glad I was just needing to access the connectors instead of having to remove the unit - 'twould be a buger-bear. Thanks again for the help.
     
To Top