1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

longtube headers and check engine light

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by jibjab1a7, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. Dec 12, 2009 at 3:07 PM
    #1
    jibjab1a7

    jibjab1a7 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26728
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jay
    valdosta
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    dt longtube headers, urd y pipe, borla catback, aem intake, airraid throtle body spacer, and camburg LT when i get the money
    after installing dtlong tube headers, urd y pipe and 02 simulator my check engine light and traction control lightcame on i just put them on and im beat so i really didnt do much troubleshooting yet. i was just wondering if anyone had the same problem with the same set up? i was thinking its because the simulator was set up for a stock truck with the only mod being the headers and my intake might be trowing it off. or it might be a simple leak or weak conection with the sim and the ecu. any advise would be helpfull especially if you have the same headers as me
     
  2. Dec 12, 2009 at 3:12 PM
    #2
    08pretaco

    08pretaco Almost there

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9502
    Messages:
    9,059
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oliver
    az
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 4x4 CM 5.7L SR5
    AFE pro dry s, Husky X-act Contour
    I think with the new headers you need an 02 sim I think urd sells them
     
  3. Dec 12, 2009 at 3:22 PM
    #3
    Untamed_SS

    Untamed_SS Stayed Up Too Late

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10163
    Messages:
    1,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Haughton, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Speedway Blue Access Cab
    Alpine iDA-X200 Deck, Rockford P3, Infinity 1600 A Amp, Black Badges, "KnightRider Mod", Back-up lights. Painted Engine Cover. TRD QuickShifter & Shift Knob. MAF Calibrator. Doug Thorley LT Headers. Custom Y-Pipe. Flowmaster 50 series. Satoshi Grill
    Yeah, just check over your wires again man. If they all look good and it still isn't working, go back over it and check to see if you connected the correct wires.
     
  4. Dec 14, 2009 at 5:38 PM
    #4
    neslerrah

    neslerrah Taco lovin'

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Member:
    #4803
    Messages:
    6,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harrelsen
    Tucson
    Vehicle:
    5 lug BEAST!
    Secondary air filter removed, elbow mod, BFG T/A KO (31x10.5R15), 15" American Racing Mojaves, BHLM, Dome Light MOD (Blue), Pioneer headunit, Sockmonkey 'TACOMA' Decals, Readylift 5-lug SST, Rear Shocks - Bilstein TRD, Dynomax Super Turbo #17748, DDM Slim Ballast HID Kit H4 Hi/Lo -35W 6000K in headlights, Apexcone Raptor HID Kit H3 - 35W 6000K in Hella 500s, aFe CAI #51-10762, WeatherTech Floorliner, 200W Smart AC Inverter
    Welcome to TW.
     
  5. Dec 14, 2009 at 8:21 PM
    #5
    4low2go

    4low2go Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26896
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Coatesville, PA
    Vehicle:
    10 RC 4x4 5sp MGM
    Curt hitch, OBX Shift
    Hello, welcome to TW!
     
  6. Dec 14, 2009 at 8:27 PM
    #6
    sachou

    sachou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Member:
    #23554
    Messages:
    664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Richland, Washington
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport Acc Cab 4x4 V6 6spd
    To check an o2 sensor, you stick a multimeter on it when warmed up and check the voltage, I believe it should be between .4 (lean), and .9 (rich). I might have that mixed up but I don't feel like looking it up. Anyways, try checking your o2 simulator with a voltmeter and it should be in that range.
     
  7. Dec 14, 2009 at 8:36 PM
    #7
    06HAOLE

    06HAOLE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Member:
    #4102
    Messages:
    2,955
    Gender:
    Male
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Definitely check your 02 sensors.

    I had my 02 sims wired up and headers on etc and I didnt have the lower 02 sensor plugged in far enough to get a solid connection so I had a CEL.

    Check it all again since it will throw a CEL if everything isnt nice and tight.
     
  8. Dec 15, 2009 at 8:39 AM
    #8
    jibjab1a7

    jibjab1a7 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26728
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jay
    valdosta
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    dt longtube headers, urd y pipe, borla catback, aem intake, airraid throtle body spacer, and camburg LT when i get the money
    i got it fixed. one of the wires was loose so i re soldered it and its running great now
     
To Top