1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking for a little help

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by trmat79, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Apr 16, 2012 at 5:11 PM
    #1
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    OK guys I have poured over hundreds of posts on here hoping to find the answer to my question but I have come up short. Little background: 2010 Tacoma TRD 4X4. I have moderate stereo installation experience. I have a stock HU but I do have an adapter for my Sat radio and iPod.

    What I am looking for.... a little more volume out of the stereo with the windows down etc. I have already thrown slightly better door speakers in but want to know if putting in an amp and better (maybe bigger 6x9??) speakers in the door will help this.. if so any suggestions on models/brands would be great.
    I am not looking to reinvent the wheel here and while I am completely impressed with some of the audio builds I've seen on here...I know I want to keep it simple.

    Thanks
     
  2. Apr 16, 2012 at 6:19 PM
    #2
    F75gunslinger

    F75gunslinger Ka like a wheel

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Member:
    #75759
    Messages:
    907
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Rochester,NY
    Vehicle:
    SWB '10 Doublecab TRD Sport 4x4
    Cluster and Radio LED swap,Westin bull bar,2nd set of bed tie downs,URD SS,K&N filter,weathertechs
    i think that the stock head unit is volume limited to below what the stock speakers are rated for . I've had 2 vehicles like this now,and I think they do that simply to help keep speaker damage to a minimum. If you want louder you may have to consider an aftermarket head unit.
     
  3. Apr 16, 2012 at 7:08 PM
    #3
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    I am not so sure about that because at first I just upgraded the front speakers with a $100 set from crutchfield (can't remember the brand) and it made a difference. I don't want to change the head unit because from what I've been told any after market head unit would require me to run an aftermarket Sat radio antenna and I know it sounds OCD but having the factory one up there is enough for me
     
  4. Apr 16, 2012 at 7:13 PM
    #4
    ONEOFMANY503

    ONEOFMANY503 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Member:
    #75242
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner DCSB SR5
    5100 front at 2.5'', rear leaf tsb and 1.5'' AAL, tinted tails,Race Line Raptors 16x8, Wild Country XTX with mountain snowflake 285 75 16, tow hitch w/brake harness, locks on storage bedsides, tailgate theft mod, heather blower tsb, custom bed rails, black front valance, mud flap delete, 12v full time power, seatbelt buzzer silenced, custom storage behind rear seat, bottom of cab painted, rear view mirror on/off switch, diff breather relocation,
    Swap head unit and you will get more power for sure.
     
  5. Apr 16, 2012 at 7:14 PM
    #5
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    The stock HU is pretty terrible. I went aftermarket myself. Sounds much better plus eliminated my issue with the stock XM getting bad reception.
     
  6. Apr 16, 2012 at 7:27 PM
    #6
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    See I really don't have a problem with the stock head unit XM not sounding good. Is it true if I switch over to after market head unit there is no way to run the SAT through the factory shark fin?
     
  7. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:18 AM
    #7
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Everything I have is aftermarket except the satellite antenna which is factory, so not true at least in my case.
     
  8. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:43 AM
    #8
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    Ok well this is good to hear. What HU do you have and how did it connect to the factory antenna...right now I have the factory HU and a kit (can't remember the brand ) that hooks up my ipod and also Sat radio. I had to buy a separate wire that hooked into the factory drop ( near the left foot panel in the drivers seat)

    thanks for the help
     
  9. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:46 AM
    #9
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Aftermarket HU will help for sure. Do you have JBL stock or is your system just all door speakers? Sub or no?
     
  10. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:59 AM
    #10
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    I have the stock system that comes with a 2010 TRD Off Road... Not really sure which one that is...no sub.. no amp nothing... stock tweeters and headliner things.. just upgraded my front door speakers to I believe some boston accoustics... nothing special.... Again thanks for all the help....i am a bit overwhelmed here.. i know what I want out of the stereo and have a reasonable budget to play with but want to make sure I get exactly what i want
     
  11. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:03 AM
    #11
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    In that case, your best bet would be an aftermarket headunit early on for sure. That way you can use the internal amp and get way better output from your current equipment. It's up to you what you want out of a headunit though. I have a Double DIN Pioneer and I love it, but what you want from the unit is for you to decide. You don't even need a crazy expensive one to get much better output from your current speakers.
     
  12. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:06 AM
    #12
    jgwheeler17

    jgwheeler17 I'm a zit. Get it?

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47112
    Messages:
    10,033
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    tint, dents, scratches, two blown speakers and trying to pay her off...
    i changed my headunit in my truck, and honestly, it's disappointingly less volume. i have tweaked with the settings, and my audio savvy friend did too, but i still don't get awesome ipod volume with it. im going to change out my front speakers soon to see if it helps. . . after that, who knows.

    for your situation, there are boosters you can buy to increase the sound. little $20 unit that runs between your audio cable and stock input. . . also, you can go to your itunes, highlight all music, get info, options, volume adjustment. its set at "none". crank it to 100%. that should help a lot. . . and fo free!
     
  13. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:07 AM
    #13
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male


    All I want is very simple:
    double din
    ipod hookup
    SAT radio (would really like it to run through my factory antenaa not an additional one)
    NAV possible but not needed
     
  14. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:09 AM
    #14
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    true but to be honest I listen to sat radio more so the itunes thing wouldn't apply...
     
  15. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:17 AM
    #15
    jgwheeler17

    jgwheeler17 I'm a zit. Get it?

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47112
    Messages:
    10,033
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    tint, dents, scratches, two blown speakers and trying to pay her off...
    ok well let me ask something else,

    how do you run in your sat radio and ipod? though a 3.5mm jack, or through a multi point plug to usb? (like you would sync your itunes in your computer)
     
  16. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:22 AM
    #16
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    neither actually. I have a setup... I want to say ISiruis or something like that that hooks up behind the dash and has output and input for Ipod and Sat radio to the back of my radio
     
  17. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:23 AM
    #17
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
  18. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:28 AM
    #18
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    what budget?? haha to be honest I don't have one... I don't want to say everything under a grand or something like that....if I can find something I like than I will pay for it... on the other hand I DO NOT need a system that takes up the small space I already have, required major modifications to the truck and can break windows (too old for that...and thats what my motorcycle exhaust is for)
     
  19. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:34 AM
    #19
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    I have the following for satellite:
    Clarion NX700
    CLA-SC1

    SC-C1
    Viastech SFA12M or SFA12F

    The Viastech adapter cable runs between the factory connection for the satellite radio antenna in the driver's side kick panel and the SC-C1. The CLA-SC1 interfaces between the satellite tuner (SC-C1) and the Clarion head unit. I listed both Viastech cables because I do not remember which gender I used. I think male but you should check your factory connection for confirmation.
     
  20. Apr 17, 2012 at 9:39 AM
    #20
    trmat79

    trmat79 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Member:
    #72071
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male

    yeah I already have the SC-C1 and the SFA12F .. that is how I am running it now...
     
To Top