1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking for some audio input

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by txtrd, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. Aug 22, 2011 at 6:54 PM
    #1
    txtrd

    txtrd [OP] Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60490
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Somewhere Down In TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road
    K&N drop in filter, nerf bars, alarm & remote start with 2-way paging
    Let me preface this with saying that i get some kind of static in my factory setup periodically. I'm not sure if it is the amp or the HU. I just bought a Kenwood KDC-895 to replace my factory JBL HU. Before I get to install it, I'm trying to decide what route to go for my wiring. Should I run my own speaker wires to the factory speakers and run an aftermarket amp and sub and just completely ditch the JBL gear or should I keep the factory JBL amp to run the door speakers and install my own amp and sub and just ditch the factory JBL sub? Part of my delimma is that I don't know for sure that the amp isn't the cause of my static issue. My other issue is since I'm just running a 4 channel HU, how do I go about wiring in the tweets when running my own wires? Thanks in advance for the input.
     
  2. Aug 23, 2011 at 6:36 AM
    #2
    Yota Toy

    Yota Toy Taco Sauce

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Member:
    #59913
    Messages:
    232
    Gender:
    Male
    FX retros, Blazer fog-light retro, JVC KW-NT30HD head unit, Pioneer 6X9's in front doors, Pioneer 6.5's in rear doors, two Pioneer 12" subs in sealed boxes, Sony X-Plod amp, Hidden Hitch trailer hitch, EGR window visors, two PIAA low-tone horns, Westin light bar with two 100-watt KC low profile driving lights.
    Hope this helps:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Aug 23, 2011 at 6:44 AM
    #3
    Joehs

    Joehs Okie!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Member:
    #35414
    Messages:
    578
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Vehicle:
    12' Tacoma Sport
    Realistically what you should do is run an amp for your speakers, and one for your sub.

    That being said, that requires some dough, and I understand if you can't do it.

    If you can't, running new wires to your factory speakers probably won't hurt, but there's enough wiring between the head unit -> JBL amp -> Speakers that you're probably going to spend a lot in wiring to notice a negligible difference.

    If you're planning on keeping your factory JBL amplifier, you ought to be able to basically plug and play with it. No need to run new wires to it/from it.

    If you're going to bypass the JBL system to run a sub, just drop a set of RCA cables from the head unit to the new amp and then wire the sub up as needed.
     
  4. Aug 23, 2011 at 6:58 AM
    #4
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    That's my pic lol

    Here is what i would do/have done.
    New headunit, new wiring, components up front, coax in the rear, and an amp for the speakers. Gut the jbl, start over. The jbl is better than stock but that's not saying much. get a new amp and run with that
     
  5. Aug 23, 2011 at 8:28 AM
    #5
    txtrd

    txtrd [OP] Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60490
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Somewhere Down In TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road
    K&N drop in filter, nerf bars, alarm & remote start with 2-way paging
    I like the idea of sticking with the stock JBL amp to power the stock door speakers and just running another amp/sub combo for some real bass for simplicity's sake, but as I stated before, I don't know if my stock JBL amp is the cause of my problems. I'm not afraid of running my own wires and doing away with the JBL junk altogether, but I'm not sure how to power the tweets with just a 4-ch radio. I am a little lazy and would rather not mess with components and crossovers or running another amp to power my mids and highs.
     
  6. Aug 23, 2011 at 8:28 AM
    #6
    txtrd

    txtrd [OP] Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60490
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Somewhere Down In TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road
    K&N drop in filter, nerf bars, alarm & remote start with 2-way paging
    Close, but my new radio has an input so I don't have to worry about running another. :D
     
  7. Aug 24, 2011 at 7:13 AM
    #7
    txtrd

    txtrd [OP] Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60490
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Somewhere Down In TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road
    K&N drop in filter, nerf bars, alarm & remote start with 2-way paging
    I have decided to not be lazy and get the Infinity Reference 6030cs components for the front doors and the Infinity Reference 6032cf for the back doors. My only remaing question is does anyone have any experiece with the Infinity Basslink 10"?
     
To Top