1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking for the relay to disable 2010 daytime running lights.

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by toyoda, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. Nov 25, 2010 at 8:46 PM
    #1
    toyoda

    toyoda [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Member:
    #45717
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5
    I have daytime running lights on my truck and don't want them. If anyone has a non-DRL relay laying around, or maybe if anyone is interested in installing running lights on their truck, let me know. I'm open to suggestions.
     
  2. Nov 25, 2010 at 9:13 PM
    #2
    doubletaco

    doubletaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16753
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand TRD O/R 4x4
    TRD FJ Wheels, LED Fog lights
    There's one wire it disconnect that will disable them let me look for the link.
     
  3. Nov 25, 2010 at 9:14 PM
    #3
    Smellfunny

    Smellfunny Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Member:
    #46416
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DC OR-Rugged Trail Edition
  4. Nov 25, 2010 at 9:41 PM
    #4
    toyoda

    toyoda [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Member:
    #45717
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5
    Heh. I did a search and all I could find was a couple threads detailing how to locate the relay in the cab. None on how to do the mod. I've been reading the forums for a few weeks but just now found something to write about.

    Thanks!
     
  5. Nov 26, 2010 at 4:34 AM
    #5
    Caduceus

    Caduceus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23889
    Messages:
    1,792
    Gender:
    Male
    the Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    09 DCSB TRD 4x4
    If you pull out the whole assembly, lemme know and I'll take it off your hands :D
     
  6. Nov 26, 2010 at 10:18 AM
    #6
    doubletaco

    doubletaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16753
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand TRD O/R 4x4
    TRD FJ Wheels, LED Fog lights
  7. Nov 26, 2010 at 10:23 AM
    #7
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,192
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah maybe you can just trade with someone that doesnt have DTRL's. I had to buy the relay cause mine didnt come with them stock.
     
  8. Nov 26, 2010 at 10:28 AM
    #8
    ExpoSpy

    ExpoSpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Member:
    #25260
    Messages:
    664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    S.D.
    Vehicle:
    08 DCLB 4X4
    I tapped into the wiring and put a switch in. Now I can use my DTRL or I can shut them off whenever I want...:spy:

    But I think I still have my old non DTRL relay. Lemme look for it.
     
  9. Nov 26, 2010 at 7:26 PM
    #9
    My68ur8trd

    My68ur8trd Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Member:
    #2961
    Messages:
    1,531
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Williamsburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD OR Dcab 4x4
    URD Catback | TRD CAI | TRD S/C | APR X-1 | DTLT | APR 2.85" Pulley |Fabtech 6" | Icon C/O | Alcan Leafs | 33 Grabber AT2 | 17" XD Addicts
    I have a spare that I wills end you and you send me the relay and jumper in return. I could use it on another family members truck.

    Justin
     
  10. Dec 6, 2010 at 4:10 PM
    #10
    toyoda

    toyoda [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Member:
    #45717
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5
    Sorry for the late reply, been really busy moving into a new house.

    I'm going to check out the toggle switch mod posted earlier instead of replacing the relay-- that was the ideal solution in the first place, I just didn't know where the wire was to splice into. Will be periodically dropping in to let everyone know what's up though.
     
To Top