1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looping when first started

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by birdsongty, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Mar 12, 2011 at 8:33 AM
    #1
    birdsongty

    birdsongty [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52864
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Killeen, Texas
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner V6
    I have looping when I first start my 99 PreRunner. It stops after a few minutes, assume it has some to do with a choking action. If I try to drive off it does not pickup any speed. Can someone tell me a quick fix?
     
  2. Mar 12, 2011 at 8:37 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Looping? Do you mean "Lopeing"? Im also guessing you are having a miss. Is the CEL on?
     
  3. Mar 12, 2011 at 9:00 AM
    #3
    birdsongty

    birdsongty [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52864
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Killeen, Texas
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner V6
    Yes I have a code 171 which said lean fuel, but just had a tuneup done
     
  4. Mar 12, 2011 at 9:33 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    could be a dirty MAF sensor, or a disconected vacuum hose.
     
  5. Mar 12, 2011 at 11:14 AM
    #5
    birdsongty

    birdsongty [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52864
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Killeen, Texas
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner V6
    Thanks It was dirty so I cleaned it, and reset the check engine lite. I will tell you if it works
     
  6. Mar 13, 2011 at 11:09 PM
    #6
    birdsongty

    birdsongty [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52864
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Killeen, Texas
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner V6
    You are my Hero, problem fix, runs like a champ and no light thxs
     
  7. Mar 13, 2011 at 11:10 PM
    #7
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    LOL! Glad to help!
     
  8. Mar 13, 2011 at 11:12 PM
    #8
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Better find out what's causing your MAF to become dirty. You have one of the K&N pieces of crap for an air filter?
     
  9. Mar 13, 2011 at 11:15 PM
    #9
    S.B.

    S.B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Member:
    #18838
    Messages:
    3,566
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco 4x4 TRD OffRoad Rugged Trail
    SAW 2.0s, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, On Board Air, 255/85/16 Cooper Discover S/T, CBI Sliders, Built right UCAs, 6" Harbor Freight Lights (converted to HIDs), KC Slim Lights.
    After so many years they do get dirty. At least from my experiences whit my brother's Jeeps.
     
  10. Mar 13, 2011 at 11:16 PM
    #10
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Correct. If it happens frequently, it could be an Oiled Filter.
     
To Top