1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

low tire pressure

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Barry J, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Dec 13, 2011 at 7:50 AM
    #1
    Barry J

    Barry J [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14410
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    my tire pressure light goes on when it drops below 30 degrees outside. Usually I'll put air in my tires and it will go off.
    But, this week I put air in all four of my tires 40-44 psi, drove for two days, and it hasn't gone out yet, so I check the pressures again they were fine, then I tried to reset the gauge, it did it's three slow blinks, but did not go out.
    When i turn the key it just lights up, it does not blink at all.
    Could there be dirt or crud on one of the sensors??
    Maybe it's frozen, Or could it be the spare??
    I don't want to go to the dealer for this and have them charge me up the yazoo to clean my rims.
    How about if I pull the fuse to see if it resets??
    Any suggestions
    Thanks
    Barry
     
  2. Dec 13, 2011 at 7:59 AM
    #2
    Blueanimal

    Blueanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Member:
    #65617
    Messages:
    552
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    New Orleans area, La
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner Sport
    K&N 77 series intake, Throttle boby spacer, Bilstien 5100, Firestone airbags, Brush Gaurd, Gooseneck hitch, Whelen lights and siren
    Your spare tire has a sensor to, check it. It's probably low
     
  3. Dec 13, 2011 at 8:08 AM
    #3
    Jester243

    Jester243 mod status????

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    10,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    what year is your truck?
     
  4. Dec 13, 2011 at 8:15 AM
    #4
    Barry J

    Barry J [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14410
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    It's a 2008 double cab, tomorrow I will lower the spare to check it, but after that if that is not the problem, what then?? Which way should I go??
     
  5. Dec 13, 2011 at 8:17 AM
    #5
    Rusty 06 4x4

    Rusty 06 4x4 NBHNC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Member:
    #64142
    Messages:
    2,191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rusty
    West Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2006 4x4 Tacoma TRD DCSB
    One of the sensors is bad if that doesnt work on the spare
     
  6. Dec 13, 2011 at 8:27 AM
    #6
    Barry J

    Barry J [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14410
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    I thought that maybe it would warm up, but it's been three days of driving and 50 degrees out, will check the spare tomorrow on my day off, thanks
     
  7. Dec 16, 2011 at 6:29 PM
    #7
    Barry J

    Barry J [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14410
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, it was the spare, put some air in and all set!
    Thanks for the help
    Barry
     
  8. Jan 2, 2012 at 3:01 PM
    #8
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    I know this is an older thread but i have the same issue. I just bought new wheels and wanted to switch my tpms into the new tires. My problem is that my tpms light is on. All tires are filled including my spare and I reset switch. I have to "cross this bridge" now. How do I figure out which sensor is bad?
     
  9. Jan 2, 2012 at 3:09 PM
    #9
    bendbolden

    bendbolden Come and take them.

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42009
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Moscow, TN
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    None but soon......
    If it blinks for one minute then stays solid you probably have a bad sensor. Mine did that when I got new tires. The shop broke one of them. I just disabled the system.
     
  10. Jan 2, 2012 at 3:19 PM
    #10
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah if you aired all your tires correctly including the spare, chances are one of your sensors is bad. What did you air the tires up to?
     
  11. Jan 2, 2012 at 5:33 PM
    #11
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    They are around 35 psi. I didn't measure the psi in the spare but i had the pump on there for a while. The spare was a little tough to get at but i will try to measure for sure tomorrow. Stupid question, does the spare mount in one particular direction. I noticed some wear from it rubbing on the undercarriage. Any solution?
     
  12. Jan 3, 2012 at 5:41 AM
    #12
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    I really could care less if I have the TPMS. Imo, they are worthless since they do not tell you which tire is going low. Soccer mom bs, just like the useless abs system.
    I air down and fill up my tires multiple time per week so i keep a good eye on pressure regardless of the light on my dash.

    How did you disable the light/system?
     
  13. Jan 4, 2012 at 9:16 AM
    #13
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    I checked the spare tire last night and it was low. It was a bit awkward when I "tried" filling it up the other night. I guess I will try harder tonight and see if the light goes off. Does my 08 even have a Tpms in the spare? I thought I read somewhere that the some 2nd gens don't have them.
    If I install the tpms's into my new wheels, do I need the dealer to pressurize and reset or just find a tire guy with a magic wand??
     
  14. Jan 4, 2012 at 9:22 AM
    #14
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    08's do have spare sensors.
    If you MOVE the current TPMS sensors into new wheels-You can inflate and reset them. If you get new sensors, you'll need someone with a tool to program the new sensors into the computer before resetting the pressure.
     
  15. Jan 4, 2012 at 11:40 AM
    #15
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    The new tire is at 65psi and the spare at 35psi at full load. Will the lower psi in the spare set off the light? What do ya do?
     
  16. Jan 4, 2012 at 12:08 PM
    #16
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,000
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    65psi?!
     
  17. Jan 4, 2012 at 12:22 PM
    #17
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,263
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    The psi needs to be 25% of each other...a difference of around 8psi will trigger the sensor. The spare can be stored stem down for easier access. Why would you have a tire at 65psi? :eek: Do the chalk test and get them all close to the same...with the weight of the Tacoma you should end up somewhere around 30-36psi.

    http://www.toyotatpms.com/tpms_toyota.htm
     
  18. Jan 4, 2012 at 12:24 PM
    #18
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    15,816
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    I was told my 2011 have a sensor in the spare when I asked about it from the dealer.
     
  19. Jan 4, 2012 at 1:30 PM
    #19
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,263
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Toyota quit putting them in the spare around 2009.
     
  20. Jan 4, 2012 at 6:15 PM
    #20
    00Jimmy00

    00Jimmy00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Member:
    #59092
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    08 SupWht OR
    I was going to put on tires that took 65 pounds/square inch(psi) at Max Load Capacity. I am wrong, I just checked, most 285 Nittos can take 80PSI. Sounds like a lot to me too. Anyone have the Nitto TG's in 285's?

    My spare would be my regular stock 265/70/16 which requires 35psi at full load capacity.

    Even if I bring the Spare to 45 and drop the tires to 65 there is a 20lb difference. 25% of 65 is 16.25lbs. :confused:
     
To Top