1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Mac Bootcamp/Hard drive upgrade questions.

Discussion in 'Technology' started by DeedleBag, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. Aug 9, 2010 at 7:38 PM
    #1
    DeedleBag

    DeedleBag [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Member:
    #40246
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Prerunner
    Bilstein 5100, K&N Air Filter, Grillcraft
    Okay so I'm looking at taking my Macbook 1st gen unibody and taking out the 250gb hard drive and replacing it with a 640gb hard drive. Well the questions start with how exactly do I go about getting all of my data off of my old hard drive to the new one? (I'm looking to avoid burning CD/DVDs and avoid USB flash drives). Then also I'm wondering how exactly I go about going through and putting my Mac OS on the new hard drive. And lastly I'm looking to buy a copy of Windows 7 Home Premium and I'm wondering how exactly the bootcamp stuff works. Yes I know this may be quite and I have a general idea on how to do this but I don't want to just start ripping stuff apart and completely messing up everything. And I don't want to pay someone $200.00 to do something I can do. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Aug 9, 2010 at 7:48 PM
    #2
    bailerc

    bailerc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Member:
    #36995
    Messages:
    685
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Fayetteville, NC
    Vehicle:
    16' MGM Limited
    im not too familiar with macs , but from my understanding boot camp is just a boot other OS option loaded into the mac os , so you would install your hard drive , install your Mac OS on the drive , than go through the boot camp configuration to load Win 7,

    (I'm a mac hater, my orig post was going to be "buy a PC")
     
  3. Aug 9, 2010 at 7:50 PM
    #3
    DeedleBag

    DeedleBag [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Member:
    #40246
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Prerunner
    Bilstein 5100, K&N Air Filter, Grillcraft
    Well I've looked at just buying a PC and selling my Mac. But this whole process should only cost me a couple hundred bucks. Trying to sell this and go and find a new PC would cost probably at least $500 at bare minimum.
     
  4. Aug 9, 2010 at 7:58 PM
    #4
    DeedleBag

    DeedleBag [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Member:
    #40246
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Prerunner
    Bilstein 5100, K&N Air Filter, Grillcraft
  5. Aug 9, 2010 at 8:04 PM
    #5
    bailerc

    bailerc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Member:
    #36995
    Messages:
    685
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Fayetteville, NC
    Vehicle:
    16' MGM Limited
    ok , look into a program called acronis , this will allow you to boot from a CD and burn an exact Sector copy of your drive to CD/DVD, swap out the drives and put in the new one , boot back into acronis and load your multiple DVD image back on to the new drive , depending on the amount of data you have it could be a huge process, i suggest making backups of all your files , if you have an external drive you could also image to that drive , after your done loading your machine should boot back like normal , than follow these instructions to load Win 7

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2009/01/1...ndows-7-on-your-mac-the-complete-walkthrough/

    that is only theoretical , but without being there its the best i can describe
     
  6. Aug 9, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #6
    DeedleBag

    DeedleBag [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Member:
    #40246
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Prerunner
    Bilstein 5100, K&N Air Filter, Grillcraft
    I looked into Acronis and its kind of pricey I think. You pay like a subscription and I only need it once. I might just invest in some external hard drive and copy the items to that from my old hard drive, put my new hard drive in my computer and transfer them over to that.
     
  7. Aug 9, 2010 at 9:51 PM
    #7
    mclapperton

    mclapperton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Member:
    #7028
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Rocklin, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 prerunner sr5
    5100s
    I used carbon copy cloner (free) to copy my original hdd data and os to my new drive mounted in an enclosure. Once done boot from the new drive to make sure it works, then swap out drives and change boot to the internal drive. Took about an hour. As far as boot camp, no idea.
     
  8. Aug 10, 2010 at 8:49 AM
    #8
    DeedleBag

    DeedleBag [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Member:
    #40246
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Prerunner
    Bilstein 5100, K&N Air Filter, Grillcraft
    I just downloaded the carbon copy cloner. I guess now I need to go and buy the hard drive and see what kind of trouble I shall get in to.
     
  9. Aug 10, 2010 at 9:00 AM
    #9
    Matic

    Matic Locked and Lifted "02" DC TRD.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Member:
    #22436
    Messages:
    12,226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Greenville,sc
    Vehicle:
    2002 TRD prerunner,SR5, doublecab
    OME 881 coils with OME nitrochargers shocks up front. TC UCA's OME Dakars with extra leaf in the rear. Warn 8000 winch with 80ft custom braided synth line. Custom 60ft synth extension. All pro tube bumper, Hi-lift jack, Safari Snorkel, Wilco tiregate.
    Not sure about win7. I'm OSX/Vista ultimate on a 250 hd divided 70/30.
    And of course..not a mac book. But I love the setup.
    Bootcamp is free with leapard but I have the old version of bootcamp that is compatible with OSX. You have to tweak the date to get it to work.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Aug 10, 2010 at 9:02 AM
    #10
    bishtacova

    bishtacova Don't buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Member:
    #24239
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC PreRunner V6
    4 leaf TSB, reflash ECM, Eurostyle antenna, thule roof rack, bed extender
    If you have an Intel MB Pro with then you can use bootcamp. Just be sure to upgrade the RAM as you will need it.

    Bootcamp comes with Mac OS, just lookup your questions on support.apple.com. However, the drive is FAT32 not NTFS.

    To copy your data, buy a small USB external drive and copy your data. I also use a cables to go device that makes drive to drive connections and shows up as another USB device. I think it goes for $50 or so?

     
  11. Aug 22, 2010 at 5:55 PM
    #11
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    1.) You can put your current macbook into target disk mode... Your Macbook --(firewire cable)--> Host Machine and then just download files, the macbook will show up as a hard disk, and my guess is the host machine has to be running mac too. http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1661
    If target disk mode doesnt work, you could always copy and paste your files to another computer's hard drive over your home network instead of having to go out and buy flash drives.

    2.) Once you've backed up all your stuff, just pop the new hard disk in and use the mac os x install DVD that came with your macbook (this will only work for your macbook model since the DVD's they ship are model specific) As for installing the hard drive, i have no experience in installing laptop hardware besides adding ram to an old dell...so i dont know how to put a hard drive into a macbook.

    3.) Run the boot camp assistant (under Finder ---> Applications ---> Utilities) and choose how you want to set up partitioning. Once you finish partitioning your hard disk (yes you can partition while mac os x is running, just dont do anything else or have anything else running while it is doing that) before you restart, put your Windows 7 DVD in and reboot. Push and hold option (or command, i dont remember....or C) and it will show boot options. Just choose to boot from your windows install DVD and install windows normally. BUT Windows 7 only works on an NTFS partition. Natively Mac OS X Cant Write to an NTFS partition only read. Thats the only drawback to using Windows 7 or Vista on a Mac....Once windows is installed, take out your Windows 7 DVD and put your Mac OS X Restore DVD into your drive and let it install the drivers (if it doesnt autoplay, the setup should be on the root directory of the DVD)

    Hope that could be of help :)
     
To Top