1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Manual Tranny-clutch gone ????

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by marcom13, Mar 5, 2009.

1. Mar 5, 2009 at 3:21 PM
    marcom13

marcom13 [OP] Member

Member:
    Hey all,
    I've got a problem with my 2001 taco sr5 standard tranny. I was almost home when I put the clutch in and down shifted but the pedal never returned, had to shut off ther engine to stop. Once off, I put it in neutral and started it up again and pedal came up and was able to put it in gear but then pedal did not return again.
    Can anyone help me out, I'm not a mechanic but I don't think it's the pressure plate but rather something hydraulic.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, money is tight and if I can fix it, that would be great.
    Thanks,
    Emmett

2. Mar 5, 2009 at 4:03 PM
    ubermx5

ubermx5 Well-Known Member

Member:
    Santa Clara CA
    Vehicle:
    98 2.4 5 speed
    K&N Air filter
    Look at the Clutch fluid reservore...
    See if it has fluid.

If it is does not follow the hard metal line to the slave and see if it wet.
    If you can find the leak you can fix it... but this will take some tools and work.

Easy to do, but will requite some things.

3. Mar 5, 2009 at 4:41 PM
    marcom13

marcom13 [OP] Member

Member:
    Hey,
    Ist, Thanks for your reply! If the resevoir is the fat tube next to the brake master, with a press on rubber cap(probably a lousy description) I checked that and it's full to the top. This reservoir seems to line up with where the clutch pedal piston goes thru the fire wall.