1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Manual vs Automatic

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by Funch, Apr 14, 2021.

1. Apr 14, 2021 at 3:02 PM
    Funch

Funch [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Hello!

I am completely new to offroading and would like to hear your opinions on Automatic vs Manual trucks. I imagine that offroading Standard transmission is king, is that true? am I doing myself a disservice by not getting a standard transmission?

2. Apr 15, 2021 at 9:25 AM
    jbrandt

jbrandt Made you look

Member:
    First Name:
    Justin
    El Dorado, CA (NOT El Dorado Hills)
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    Not true at all.

If you are new to a manual in the first place and struggle to start on a hill without rollback, it will absolutely suck to take that thing off road.

Lot of people run auto transmissions.

It's about what you, the driver, are most comfortable with.

I would suggest an external transmission cooler though. Helps with towing, too.

3. Apr 15, 2021 at 11:43 AM
    Checkers10160

Checkers10160 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Chess
    Westchester/Fairfield
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab Long Bed
    OME 885s Bilstein 5100 Deaver AAL AP Sliders SOS Skids Rear diff breather relocation
    I prefer a manual, but I'd say auto is better for off road. No roll back, option for crawl control, etc. Plus when you're really really creeping along, you aren't burning up your clutch.