1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Map/Dome Light mod Q

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by snowgod06, May 7, 2010.

  1. May 7, 2010 at 2:08 PM
    #1
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 [OP] UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    Hey so im going the resistor route on this mod and was wondering how big is to big for a resistor? I have a 3ohm just laying around and i dont remember if anything over 1ohm will make the map lights dim when the dome is on. So if anyone knows which is the right one or if my 3ohm is ok, let me know. OR since i dont really use my maplights (i just turn the dome on) is their a way to do the mod so i dont have to use a diode/resistor? Im lazy and cheap so if i can go that route that would also be nice.
    thanks
     
  2. May 7, 2010 at 5:49 PM
    #2
    05Moose

    05Moose Middle-Aged Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Member:
    #29613
    Messages:
    2,535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    In the snow (NorCal)
    Vehicle:
    '05 4x4 DC LB SR5 #8 (LSD, Tow Pkg)
    '05 4x4 DC LB SR5 (LSD & Tow Pkg), Timbrens, AAL, 5100s (.85), Owned: 12/3/04 Mods: Fog, Map/Dome Light, Illuminated 4wd Switch, Washable Cabin Air Filter
    You don't need a diode/resistor. All you need to do is switch the wires in the plug and run an additional wire over to the dome light. Read through this thread. Post #191 on page 13 identifies how to do it without the diode. That's the way I did mine years ago.

    http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91499
     
  3. May 7, 2010 at 6:16 PM
    #3
    planman

    planman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Member:
    #32189
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    06 DC PreRunner SR5
    Fog light mod, DTRL mod, Undercover bed cap, Console mtd. Ipod,Console lock,maplight/ dome light mod, homelink receiver install
    Much easier to do without a resistor. Ten minutes tops is you've got your wires already made up.
     
  4. May 7, 2010 at 6:19 PM
    #4
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 [OP] UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    AHHH thanks guys, Thats what i was looking for. Im just lazy and cheap and didnt want to hassle with much. But just switching the wires like i thought and the ground and BAM, SUPER THANKS
     
To Top