1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Martial Arts Advice?

Discussion in 'Health' started by EatMyTacomaDust, Feb 19, 2015.

1. Feb 19, 2015 at 7:49 PM
    EatMyTacomaDust

EatMyTacomaDust [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2014 "Black Beauty" Baja DC 4x4
    ICON 3" LIFT, Console Vault, Tailgate Security Clamp MOD, SuperBumper Crash Attenuator, TRD Front Skid Plate, Wet Okoles - 1/2 Piped, Undercover SE Tonneau
    Hey Everyone,

I'm considering starting some Martial Arts training and am interested in Jeet Kune Do, Wing Chun & Kung Fu. I would be a total beginner and I'm not sure where to start.

There is an opportunity in Seattle to train with a 4th generation Sifu from the Yip Man Lineage in Wing Chun. I don't really know the differences between all of the different styles. I know I like Jeet Kune Do the best but it seems hard to find a good trainer. Jeet Kune Do's foundation began from Wing Chun so I was leaning toward that.

I'm not looking for any UFC stuff or hardcore MMA / kickboxing. I want to learn self defense and efficient, powerful, quick fighting styles & takedowns - eg. Bruce Lee / Yip Man.

Anyone have any wisdom they could impart with the different training styles they have experienced and why you prefer the Martial Art Style you train in?

Much appreciation in advance!

2. Feb 19, 2015 at 7:51 PM
    PkTaco

PkTaco Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    David
    Zanesville Ohio
    I take Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Mauy Tia. I enjoy both of them. The ground work and takedowns of Jiu Jitsu is where its at though to me.

3. Feb 19, 2015 at 7:56 PM
    User Name01