1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Mass loading the sub box, a good idea or not.

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ZMan2k2, May 5, 2013.

  1. May 5, 2013 at 10:00 AM
    #1
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 DC LB SR5
    I have a JLW3v3 in a Supercrew sounds single side sub box. I notice when playing music, I have a really large cabin gain hump in the sound around 60Hz. I've played with the amount of stuffing in the box, endlessly tuned the parametric EQ on my head unit, and couldn't get rid of the hump. I finally decided to take some sound deadener that I had on hand from my install, and cut up tiles to stick to the inside of the box. I covered all the areas that I could, bottom sides and front panel and rear of the box. Then I took some CCF and lined that over top of the deadener. Pulled all the stuffing out, re-installed the sub, and now I have a cleaner, better sounding sub. Is mass-loading the box the right idea though, or should I look for another solution to this problem of the 60Hz hump?
     
  2. May 8, 2013 at 4:40 PM
    #2
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,292
    Gender:
    Male
    How much air space is your box? Does it fall in the subs air space range according to JL?

    Polyfill (Stuffing) is only tricking your sub to make it think there is more air space in the box that what is available.

    If you put sound deadener in the box take it out. It isn't designed to go inside a box.
     
  3. May 8, 2013 at 4:51 PM
    #3
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,829
    Gender:
    Male
    can you put polyfill in a ported box and how much room do you gain by putting in the polyfill?
     
  4. May 8, 2013 at 4:58 PM
    #4
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,292
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes you can put polyfill in a ported box.

    You don't gain a lot of room. Each setup is different. It's not a lot like .8ft.
     
  5. May 8, 2013 at 6:29 PM
    #5
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,829
    Gender:
    Male
    how much do you put in the box and that only for a box with one sub or two? or it doesnt really matter?
     
  6. May 9, 2013 at 7:13 AM
    #6
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 DC LB SR5
    Box is .65-.7 cu. ft. It does fall in the space range of the JL specs for a sealed box. You say to take it out, but after listening for a few days, it seems to have helped with the 60 Hz hump I had in the truck. I'm thinking the box itself was resonating at or near that freq., giving me that hump. I didn't put in much. Just patches on the back wall, on the front wall and on the base.
     
  7. May 9, 2013 at 7:30 AM
    #7
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,625
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    It sounds like you have a box resonance. The best thing for that would be to brace the box with an internal brace.
     
  8. May 10, 2013 at 7:46 AM
    #8
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 DC LB SR5
    The problem with that idea is the basket for the W3 is so big and the magnet so large, there's no where to put a brace. Any suggestions on where I might consider it?
     
  9. May 10, 2013 at 9:04 AM
    #9
    Ronn

    Ronn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Member:
    #44253
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Northern Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2007 DCLB 4x4 SR5
    Westin bullbar, KC slimlites, Mini D2S headlight retrofit, 5100 front @ 1.75 and 5100 rear, Wheelers HD leaf pack
    Redo the face of the box where the sub sits with 3/4 inch mdf
     
  10. May 11, 2013 at 12:57 AM
    #10
    extremepaint

    extremepaint Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78785
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    denver
    Vehicle:
    04 with stuff
    What are you running for front speakers if anything? I would say if u have decent front components and they don't have a cross over you could be getting the extra peak from them.

    Put the t/s parameters in to some box building software and see what the curve is like. Also do you have all bass boost and other extras off?
     
  11. May 11, 2013 at 2:14 AM
    #11
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,625
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    If you have limited room for a brace it doesn't have to be a full width one. You could cut strips of 3/4" strips to sort of give it ribs on the inside. I do that sometimes depending on the setup. Just wood glue them in.
     
  12. May 11, 2013 at 3:23 PM
    #12
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 DC LB SR5
    I'll give it a try, thanks.
     
To Top