1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Memphis sub stopped working

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Turfman, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. Dec 20, 2009 at 9:58 AM
    #1
    Turfman

    Turfman [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Member:
    #25279
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lance
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Alright so I just purchased this system yesterday and last night when I was driving it all of a sudden quit working. Im not sure if its the amp or sub but the amps LED light doesnt turn on when I turn on my truck, checked all the wires and everything was connected that I could see. Was wondering if anybody had an idea on what is going on here since the store is closed today and tmrw and would save me a trip there. My system includes just a 10" Memphis S-class sub and an 1000 watt kenwood 300 watt RMS.
     
  2. Dec 20, 2009 at 10:05 AM
    #2
    CAMZTRD

    CAMZTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Member:
    #7401
    Messages:
    512
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    steve
    hampton, va
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD Off-Road 4x4
    billy 5100's @ 2.5 w/ 1/4 spacers, toytec aal, LR UCA's, revotec headlights,revotec taillights, lamin-x fogs, color matched grille and rear bumper, undercover, bed-extender, black nerf bars, scan gaugeII , afe drop in, 50 series flowmaster, 6000k bi-xenon hids, more to come.......
    check ground, power and remote wire...that is all it could be, do you have aftermarket radio or stock, also if remote wire is wired to power antenna wire amp will only come on when your listening to the radio,,,amp will shut off when you switch to cd.
     
  3. Dec 20, 2009 at 11:05 AM
    #3
    Turfman

    Turfman [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Member:
    #25279
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lance
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner TRD Sport
    I have a stock radio but about to get the kenwood touch screen head unit.
     
  4. Dec 20, 2009 at 11:51 AM
    #4
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    What impedance do you have the sub wired to?

    Check the fuses on your amp and make sure that they aren't popped.
     
  5. Dec 20, 2009 at 12:01 PM
    #5
    BigBawlzTaco

    BigBawlzTaco Wanna know how I got these scars?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19076
    Messages:
    1,042
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Forsyth,Georgia
    Vehicle:
    Chevy Avalanche
    Straight piped.

    X2 :popcorn:
     
  6. Dec 20, 2009 at 1:43 PM
    #6
    Turfman

    Turfman [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Member:
    #25279
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lance
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner TRD Sport
    The frequency was set at 125, and im sorry but how do I know if the fuses have popped?
     
  7. Dec 20, 2009 at 6:59 PM
    #7
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Take them out and look at them from the side. If the filiment in them is broken and not completing a circuit then it is burnt up. It should be fairly obvious.
     
To Top