1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Moving USB to console or glove box?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by 12SuperWhiteDC, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. 12SuperWhiteDC

    12SuperWhiteDC [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Member:
    #84664
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    West Alabama
    Vehicle:
    12 DC SR5
    I'm thinking of pulling the USB connector back into the dash, and connecting a USB extender to run it to the console or the glove box. Before I rip the dash apart (and since alldatadiy doesn't have the '12s yet) has anyone laid eyes on the backside of that connector? If so, any advice on the idea of relocating the port?

    Why move it, you ask? I use the USB input to play music from a small flash drive. I'd like to remove it from sight by putting it in the console or glove box without having to yank the flash drive every time I park it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Onetime27

    Onetime27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Member:
    #79325
    Messages:
    204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Tanasbourne Area
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport
    BHLM, 3" Revtech lift, 1.25" Spidertraxx spacers in front, N-Fab steps, Wicked Flow muffler dumped at rear axle, 886 Reverse Light Mod, de-badged
    Sub'd I'm curious as I like a clean look with damn near nothing showing.
    Good Luck!
     
  3. JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    10,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    Is it down below the Ac controls where the aux input is? If so, it's easy to pop it out. On the backside there is a plug.
     
  4. 12SuperWhiteDC

    12SuperWhiteDC [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Member:
    #84664
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    West Alabama
    Vehicle:
    12 DC SR5
    Yes, it is on the same switch blank as the aux. Thanks!

    I was looking at this thread yesterday and got the idea to move the port. My wife's Accord has the AUX port in the center console.
     
  5. JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    10,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    I have an aftermarket head unit, but mine is in the glove box. Wouldn't want it out in the open
     
  6. abcdleines

    abcdleines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Member:
    #82801
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brett
    Portland, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Super White, Two tone black and grey leather, AVS hood protector, AVS in channel window visors. Leer 180 cap. New TRD exhaust, TRD 17" wheels.
    I took mine out and ran an extension from the back of the panel to the arm rest. Then I purchased a blank filler at the dealer to fill the hole in the dash. Much cleaner look than having my iPod wire just laying there. And my iPod is now out of sight.
     
  7. DLat27

    DLat27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Member:
    #86775
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport DC LB Pyrite Mica
    Black tail lights mod FX-R stage III retrofit w/ orbit shrouds and XB Angel Eyes Morimoto Mini elite H11 kit for fogs Horn relocate mod Toyota Man's Sleeper Lids
    Show some pics if you end up doing this. Sounds like a cheap easy mod lots of people would like. Sub'd.
     
  8. TherealScuba

    TherealScuba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75781
    Messages:
    1,050
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Austin, Texas
    Vehicle:
    99 Single Cab 4x4
    Is a $20 USB flash drive really worth all this trouble?
     
  9. JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    10,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    last time i checked, ipods could be used through a usb port... and the cord alone costs $20....

    but i do realize you are referring to the op where he said he uses a small flash drive
     
  10. brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    I own a tank
    I think I saw some pics awhile back, the back side of the connector mades no sense IIRC. Lots of wires for no reason. If it come down to it, just leave the connector hooked up, plug in your extension, secure it with a zip tie behind the dash and still run it to your glove box. Out of sight, out of mind.
     
  11. 12SuperWhiteDC

    12SuperWhiteDC [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Member:
    #84664
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    West Alabama
    Vehicle:
    12 DC SR5
    The flash drive certainly isn't worth the trouble to protect, but the window that someone goes through to get at it is. Out of sight, out of mind....
     
  12. shemp

    shemp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Member:
    #85354
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    I wouldn't bother. A thief who goes to the trouble to break in isn't going to worry about a $5 flash drive, they'll crowbar the HU right out of the dashboard and leave the flash drive.

    I promise.
     
  13. 12SuperWhiteDC

    12SuperWhiteDC [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Member:
    #84664
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    West Alabama
    Vehicle:
    12 DC SR5
    stock head unit, so the list of suspects would be pretty short.

    Oh, and I have a band clamp holding the head unit to the tailgate. :rofl:
     
  14. shemp

    shemp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Member:
    #85354
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    Those 2012 HU's look pretty fancy, and that's all the thief will be looking at.
     
  15. ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    If I had a '12 I would find out which wires are for the USB and extend those to he glove box and add an additional USB port there. This way the factory aux/USB is still in place, but the USB portion can be accessed from a second plug in your center console. :) just my .02
     
  16. shemp

    shemp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Member:
    #85354
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    Are those HU's capable of managing multiple USB devices on a hub?
     
  17. ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Probably not. I wouldn't use a hub, nothing would be plugged into the OEM USB port. It would be tapped onto the wires behind the plug. Like splitting the signal. It would work fine unless you plug in something to both ports at the same time though. Just have to b mindful of that. Even adding a hub won't work I don't think.
     
  18. shemp

    shemp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Member:
    #85354
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    In that case, I'd be inclined to route an extension wire to the glove box and just plug it in as needed rather than hard wiring. BAD things can happen if somebody accidentally plugs in two devices to the same wire.
     
  19. MudFlap

    MudFlap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Member:
    #59794
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Memphis (north mississippi)
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Off Road
    What happens? error message? I had both the Aux port and the USB plug hooked to 2 different phones once and when I turned on my IHeart Radio app and hit the Aux button on my radio, I got an error message. I unpluged the USB and it started working fine.

    On the same lines along with this thread. What I want to do is similar to the other guy. I want to leave the factory plug in place and tap into both USB and Aux port wires behind the dash and route them to the back side of the center console / arm rest where I want to add another factory USB / Aux plug. Along with that I also want to do the 400 watt anytime mod and while I do that I want to add the plug ins on the back side of the console too.
     
  20. shemp

    shemp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Member:
    #85354
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    Definitely depends on the device, if its just pulling charging current, you'll probably be fine. If you plug in, for example, two flash memory devices, you could corrupt data, or even smoke one (or both) of them.

    If you just want to tap in for device charging, splice ONLY the power lines, not the data lines. Then there won't be any conflict.
     
To Top