1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

MPG drop after spark plug change

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by ChewbacaTW, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:07 AM
    #1
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    Ok So needless to say I'm a little confused. I bought some new denso plugs from the stealership, checked the gap on one and it was between .044 and .043. I assumed that the rest were pre-gapped as well. Before the switch I got 150 miles in the first half tank (this was right after cleaning the mass air sensor and replacing the fuel filter). After the plug replacement I'll be lucky to get 125 miles in the first half-tank.

    Has anyone else had this experience? Did I screw up leaving the gap at .044? (I keep reading conflicting opinions on the proper gap.) Did I screw up assuming that they were all gapped correctly since i bought them from the dealer? Could it be a vacuum leak from not putting something back on right? (I triple checked everything but mistakes happen.)

    I could really use some outside opinions on this. I'm approaching critical frustration mass. :frusty:
     
  2. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:10 AM
    #2
    shitroc

    shitroc Master of War

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Member:
    #24315
    Messages:
    1,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ant
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tacoma TRD 4X4
    Listed in sig.......
    are they the right plugs? dual ground electrodes i mean
     
  3. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:16 AM
    #3
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,042
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Shitroc has a good question...the 3.4 DEMANDS dual electrode plugs. If they're correct maybe pull the negative cable off the battery for about 20 minutes, let the ECU recalibrate to all the recent changes. Hope it helps.
     
  4. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:17 AM
    #4
    KBToyota

    KBToyota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53765
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Spotsy, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma V6 4X4
    OME 883, 5100 all around, Wheelers 3 leaf progressive aal
    X2, you may want to disconnect the batery for a couple hours and let the ecm reset, some times it takes a little while to learn how to operate after being cleaned and what not.
     
  5. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:21 AM
    #5
    KBToyota

    KBToyota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53765
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Spotsy, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma V6 4X4
    OME 883, 5100 all around, Wheelers 3 leaf progressive aal
    it should say so on the timeimg belt cover on all 3.4s
     
  6. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:21 AM
    #6
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,042
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    The stickers under the hood saying you must use twins. And the Haynes book. And Toyota's service manual. :)
     
  7. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:27 AM
    #7
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    I bought them from the dealer, for the tacoma v6. Dual electrode, yada yada. If these aren't the right ones then I'm going to have to hurt the parts guy at the dealer.:mad:

    rightPlug.jpg
     
  8. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:29 AM
    #8
    KBToyota

    KBToyota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53765
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Spotsy, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma V6 4X4
    OME 883, 5100 all around, Wheelers 3 leaf progressive aal
    If Toyota found that it was important enough to put stickers under the hood and make notes in the service manual thatn more thanlikely it is important. I doubt it would harm the engine but its definitly not the best for performance.
     
  9. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:30 AM
    #9
    KBToyota

    KBToyota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53765
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Spotsy, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma V6 4X4
    OME 883, 5100 all around, Wheelers 3 leaf progressive aal
    Those are the right ones.
     
  10. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:32 AM
    #10
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    Remember this as well.....ALWAYS check spark plug gap.....always. none that I've. Changed have been pregapped at all.
     
  11. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:40 AM
    #11
    bhh2000

    bhh2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Member:
    #47888
    Messages:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    96 3.4 maroon ext cab. 4X4

    The factory that makes the right ones probably dosn't exsist any more so he sold you chinesse plugs instead.........
     
  12. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:45 AM
    #12
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,042
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Meaning the gap is set at the factory. But like Will said it's for sure still worth re-checking. Are you getting the engine check light on? If the gaps were excessive you'd have a miss and the ECU should pick that up and light the light. If the gaps are too small you won't lite all the fuel mixture and fuel economy and power will suffer.
     
  13. Apr 7, 2011 at 9:53 AM
    #13
    KBToyota

    KBToyota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53765
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Spotsy, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma V6 4X4
    OME 883, 5100 all around, Wheelers 3 leaf progressive aal
    I didnt think you were supposed to gap the dual conductor type because of risk of damaging the tip? Or is this just for the iridium type plugs?
     
  14. Apr 7, 2011 at 11:21 AM
    #14
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    That's the funny thing. It runs very smoothly. When Driving around town I can keep my RPM's under 2000. If anything it's easier to run at lower RPM's after the replacement.

    So no there's no check engine light and no loss of power.

    Also How do you gap a dual electrode plug? It seems like it will be rather hard because the electrodes aren't flat on the tip side. They are concave, so you can't get a regular gap tool in there.
     
  15. Apr 7, 2011 at 11:41 AM
    #15
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    you gap them as normal because the tips are flat and slide right into the gap tool.
     
  16. Apr 7, 2011 at 12:11 PM
    #16
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    ah ok. good to know
     
  17. Apr 8, 2011 at 12:19 AM
    #17
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    thanks for all the input guys. I'll check my gaps and then reset me ECU.
     
  18. Jan 20, 2012 at 12:47 PM
    #18
    dalesrn

    dalesrn Tacoma TSS

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Member:
    #3784
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dale
    Southeast Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma PreRunner DC with TSS Package
    Borla exhaust system, Sirius Satellite Radio, Chrome package, Trailer Hitch, Clazzio Leather seat covers, TSS badging, Anytime on fog lights mod, Daytime driving lights mod, Dual backseat DVD players w/monitors, 3rd Brake Light "TSS" mod, Bed pocket lights mod, Seat belt chime mod, Bed storage compartment auxillary outlet mod, Shorty antenna, Armor Lid Tonneau Cover, Line of Fire tailgate light
    Sorry to post to a 9 month old thread. Are these dual electrode b/c you have a 2002?

    My 2008 did not have dual electrode.
     
  19. Jan 20, 2012 at 1:50 PM
    #19
    twfsa

    twfsa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Member:
    #37997
    Messages:
    1,342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Omaha Ne
    Vehicle:
    04 TRD 4X4
    881 Front coils, Bilstien 5100's all the way front set to "0" Icon Dynamic's mini leafs in rear, stock tires.
    I would of checked the gap on all the plugs and .043 and .044 I don't think would effect that much that being said I would of gaped all the plugs to spec's.
     
  20. Jan 21, 2012 at 7:46 AM
    #20
    ChewbacaTW

    ChewbacaTW [OP] My progeny will be awesome!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44425
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    02 Xtra Cab TRD off road
    K&N air intake, custom exhaust, Powerslot Brakes, urethane steering rack bushings
    I assume so.
     
To Top