1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

MS internet explorer help needed

Discussion in 'Technology' started by RCBS, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. Feb 1, 2010 at 11:31 AM
    #1
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    ok, so my step sister was over on satuday trying to do her income taxes on my PC (she no have interwebz), and now, i cannot use ANY secure login pages...i.e. paypal, ebay, yahoo mail...most anything that requires a secure login. i am sure she has screwed someting up as the 'puter was doing just fine on friday.

    symptoms: browsing works fine. no problem logging into forums. when trying to log onto my yahoo mail (ebay, etc.) account, i google "yahoo mail" and the list of returns comes up...soon as i click on the login search result, the whole bottom half of IE goes blank white, and there is a magnifying glass in the bottom left corner status indicator as if it's looking for the page...but it's not. i have left it like that for almost an hour and nothing ever changes.

    i tried to figure out what she changed...but after a couple hours trying i gave up. right now, the only thing i can think of is to do a system recovery. i asked my step sister if she changed anything..."i'm not sure.":mad: does anyone have any idea what's going on with my machine or how to fix it? i'd really like to avoid a system recovery if possible.

    any help appreciated
     
  2. Feb 1, 2010 at 11:36 AM
    #2
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    Good luck. Not sure. Bump for help!!!
     
  3. Feb 1, 2010 at 11:48 AM
    #3
    NeoMoose

    NeoMoose Possibly Batman

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Member:
    #27144
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner DC TRD O.R.
    Kenwood eXcelon X993, Kenwood KFC-1693PS (Front), Kenwood KFC-G1620 (Rear), Luverne Black Nerf Bars, OEM Brush Guard, AFE Pro Dry S Drop-In, Some kickass wheel locks, Removed front mud flaps, All windows tinted, Anti-theft tailgate mod
    Start with --

    Tools > Internet Options > Advanced > Restore Advanced Settings

    and

    Tools > Internet Options > Advanced > Reset (Then reset EVERYTHING)
     
  4. Feb 1, 2010 at 11:49 AM
    #4
    BWro

    BWro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Member:
    #8117
    Messages:
    261
    Try clearing your cookies and cache?
     
  5. Feb 1, 2010 at 12:24 PM
    #5
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    yes, first thing i tried.
     
  6. Feb 1, 2010 at 12:24 PM
    #6
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    will give this a try...thanks.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2010 at 12:28 PM
    #7
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,749
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    It almost sounds like the way IE handles cookies for secure sites was messed up somehow. Maybe she changed the security settings in IE? Resetting the Internet options should fix that if it's the case.
    If not try downloading Firefox and see if you can access those sites that way.
     
  8. Feb 1, 2010 at 12:29 PM
    #8
    bishtacova

    bishtacova Don't buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Member:
    #24239
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC PreRunner V6
    4 leaf TSB, reflash ECM, Eurostyle antenna, thule roof rack, bed extender
    Also, try windowsupdate. this will download the latest version of IE, if you need it.

    There's also firefox and chrome both of which are free!

     
  9. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:30 PM
    #9
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    :frusty: :frusty: :frusty:

    trying everything i can come up with...resetting internet settings...downloaded IE8...still able to browse, but secured sites not working.

    joneill03...have had a message indicating something about cookies

    "internet explorer cannot connect to the internet using HTTP HTTPS or FTP. This is probably caused by the firewall settings on this computer."

    "Check firewall settings for the HTTP port (80), HTTPS port(443) and FTP port(21)"

    "You might need to contact your internet service provider or the manufacturer of your firewall software."

    ^---this comes up when windows diagnoses connection problem. have already contacted Time Warner, and they say everything is fine on thier end. i have even disabled the firewall on windows security settings to no avail.

    here is a bunch of stuff in the diagnostic log....can anyone translate into english?:eek::
    Network Diagnostics for Windows XPLast diagnostic run time: 02/01/10 19:10:19 HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Diagnostic HTTP, HTTPS, FTP connectivity warn FTP (Passive): Error 12029 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to www.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn FTP (Active): Error 12029 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTPS: Error 12029 connecting to www.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTPS: Error 12029 connecting to www.passport.net: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to www.hotmail.com: A connection with the server could not be established error Could not make an HTTP connection. error Could not make an HTTPS connection. error Could not make an FTP connection. info Redirecting user to support call
    DNS Client Diagnostic DNS - Not a home user scenario info Using Web Proxy: no info Resolving name ok for (www.microsoft.com): yes No DNS servers DNS failure
    Gateway Diagnostic Gateway info The following proxy configuration is being used by IE: Automatically Detect Settings disabled Automatic Configuration Script: Proxy Server: Proxy Bypass list: info This computer has the following default gateway entry(ies): 192.168.1.1 info This computer has the following IP address(es): 192.168.1.102 info The default gateway is in the same subnet as this computer info The default gateway entry is a valid unicast address info The default gateway address was resolved via ARP in 1 try(ies) info The default gateway was reached via ICMP Ping in 1 try(ies) info TCP port 80 on host 207.46.170.10 was successfully reached info The Internet host www.microsoft.com was successfully reached info The default gateway is OK
    IP Layer Diagnostic Corrupted IP routing table info The default route is valid info The loopback route is valid info The local host route is valid info The local subnet route is valid Invalid ARP cache entries action The ARP cache has been flushed
    IP Configuration Diagnostic Invalid IP address info Valid IP address detected: 192.168.1.102
    Wireless Diagnostic Wireless - Service disabled Wireless - User SSID Wireless - First time setup Wireless - Radio off Wireless - Out of range Wireless - Hardware issue Wireless - Novice user Wireless - Ad-hoc network Wireless - Less preferred Wireless - 802.1x enabled Wireless - Configuration mismatch Wireless - Low SNR
    WinSock Diagnostic WinSock status info All base service provider entries are present in the Winsock catalog. info The Winsock Service provider chains are valid. info Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [TCP/IP] passed the loopback communication test. info Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [UDP/IP] passed the loopback communication test. info Provider entry RSVP UDP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test. info Provider entry RSVP TCP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test. info Connectivity is valid for all Winsock service providers.
    Network Adapter Diagnostic Network location detection info Using home Internet connection Network adapter identification info Network connection: Name=Local Area Connection, Device=Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC, MediaType=LAN, SubMediaType=LAN info Network connection: Name=1394 Connection, Device=1394 Net Adapter, MediaType=LAN, SubMediaType=1394 info Ethernet connection selected Network adapter status info Network connection status: Connected
    HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Diagnostic HTTP, HTTPS, FTP connectivity warn FTP (Passive): Error 12029 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTPS: Error 12029 connecting to www.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn FTP (Active): Error 12029 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to www.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTPS: Error 12029 connecting to www.passport.net: A connection with the server could not be established warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to www.hotmail.com: A connection with the server could not be established error Could not make an HTTP connection. error Could not make an HTTPS connection. error Could not make an FTP connection.

    i am still able to browse using firefox that i already had on the PC, though i still cannot get it to display secure pages.
     
  10. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:36 PM
    #10
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    question: can i completely delete JUST Internet Explorer and then re-download using my Firefox program? when i updated to IE8, it carried most of my settings over and i'm sure the problem is in the settings somehow...even though resetting them doesn't make any difference.

    i know chrome or firefox is probably better...but i like IE for the most part:eek:...don't know what i'd do without a TAB bar.
     
  11. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:37 PM
    #11
    mountainwolfpup

    mountainwolfpup Ford Guy (Formerly known as a Toyota Guy)

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Member:
    #12116
    Messages:
    980
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Ford F150 Lariat FX4 3.5l Eco
    First month of ownership... This month I'm removing front air dam, and also Rhino lining the bed.
    OK, this is my field of expertise... finally something I can help with.

    Secure (https) SSL websites use certificates to authenticate them. There is something changed in your browser in how it allows/checks these certificates against a certificate authority.

    Do you know which version of IE you are using? There are differences between the versions in how the drop down options are arranged that may make what I say below different slightly for your particular version??

    Windows
    Internet Explorer

    Here is a good tutorial that goes through all the settings related to this. Your step-sis probably accidentally unchecked something??

    http://www.jfitz.com/tips/ie_security_config.html


    In Internet Explorer, go to Tools -> Internet Options.
    Click on the Advanced tab and scroll to the bottom of the screen.
    Place a checkmark in the boxes next to:
    Use SSL 2.0
    Use SSL 3.0
    Click Apply.
    Click OK.
    Refresh your window by clicking Refresh or by pressing F5.
     
  12. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:44 PM
    #12
    bishtacova

    bishtacova Don't buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Member:
    #24239
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC PreRunner V6
    4 leaf TSB, reflash ECM, Eurostyle antenna, thule roof rack, bed extender
    1. Go to control panel/networking tab/local area connection and select the repair button. this will reset your networking connection to your ISP which appears to be dhcp. Looks as if you are wireless? The wireless connection is getting hung up. Try disconnecting the wireless router or just reset it. Go into the web browser and reset the router if necessary.

    2. go to control panel/windows firewall and look under the exceptions tab. undo anything that looks suspicious. You can also restore the firewall to its original state under the advanced tab.

    3. Run symantec anti virus

    4. Run windows defender

    5. Uninstall any programs that you didn't install



     
  13. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:49 PM
    #13
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    SSL2.0 and 3.0 enabled also Tls 1.0 enabled

    HTTP1 settings: use HTTP1.1
    use HTTP1.1 through proxy server...both enabled
     
  14. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:52 PM
    #14
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    BTW....i appreciate the help you guys are giving...please keep it coming.
     
  15. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:54 PM
    #15
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    response from firefox trying to get to yahoo mail:

    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at login.yahoo.com.







    Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.

    * Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
    * Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
    * Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
     
  16. Feb 1, 2010 at 4:57 PM
    #16
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    "remote assistance" is the only thing checked.

    the computer is hard wired through a Lynksys WRT54G2 router. nothing is using WiFi to connect. i don't think it's the router b/c my PS3 (hard wired to router also)can still log onto secure sites.
     
  17. Feb 4, 2010 at 7:03 PM
    #17
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    welp...had to do a system recovery. oh well, everything is running smoother now anyways. thanks to all for trying to help.
     
To Top