1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

My 2010 Double Cab Audio Install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by SilverTacoZack, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Sep 14, 2010 at 8:57 PM
    #1
    SilverTacoZack

    SilverTacoZack [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Member:
    #42788
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Elgin, SC
    Vehicle:
    2011 FJ trail teams
    Hey guys, just getting through with my install on my new 2010 Tacoma Double Cab (only 1k miles on him so far!). Heres the list of what I used:

    -Factory Headunit (like the look and aux port/steering controls--not sure how long i'll run this though before I run to aftemarket)
    -Audiocontrol LC6i interface unit (premium LOC)
    -Soundstream Tarantula TR.640 Amplifier (110x4 RMS Amplifier)
    -Pioneer Premier PRS720 6.75 inch Comps (front doors)
    -Kenwood Excelon coax (rear doors)
    -Stinger Power Wiring and Monster Cable speaker wires

    Ok, so far I've just got pics up of the mid and tweeter install in the front. I just finished the install tonight and haven't had time to clean up the amp wiring enough to take pics, but the amp, LC6i, and crossovers are all mounted up to a carpeted MDF board mounted behind the rear seats to the back wall, using the bolt holes where the plastic trays used to be. I will get pics of that up tomorrow.

    Zack Truck 018.jpg
    DSC_0007.jpg
    DSC_0009.jpg
     
  2. Sep 15, 2010 at 2:11 PM
    #2
    t_e

    t_e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Member:
    #27078
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    miami,fl
    cool. got any pics of that LOC? i had to change out my pac "premium" loc cause it sucks a$$, some simple ones fixed my problems.
     
  3. Sep 15, 2010 at 3:44 PM
    #3
    supersuk

    supersuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Member:
    #15529
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dcab TRD Sport Magnetic Gray
    Sounds!
    OOO, how do you like those pioneer comps?
     
  4. Sep 15, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #4
    SilverTacoZack

    SilverTacoZack [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Member:
    #42788
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Elgin, SC
    Vehicle:
    2011 FJ trail teams
    Hey guys, still haven't totally cleaned up the install but gonna throw some "most finished" pics up here.

    @ t_e: The LC6i is amazing. I'm getting excellent sound out of the non-jbl stock headunit, even with my Ipod Classic playing Apple Lossless files through the factory aux-in port.

    @supersuk: The PIoneer comps have exceeded my expectations. I mostly chose them based on online reviews and opinions, and based on the fact that people said they have strong midbass and fairly relaxed tweeter sound, both things I like in my speakers. Well, I can tell you the midbass is indeed very impressive. It sounds like 8 inch subs are mounted into my doors. I've been extremely impressed with the overall sound after throwing a ton of different challenging test songs at it, and it all sounds awesome. Hard Rock sounds heavy as hell, soft piano sounds sound beautiful, vocal driven tracks sound amazing. Needless to say, I'm impressed with the set and I'm pretty discerning so this is a big deal. I've got it set to +1 bass and -2 treble on the headunit, and that seems to produce and excellent balanced sound.

    006.jpg
    008.jpg
    009.jpg
    011.jpg
    IMG_0221.jpg
     
  5. Apr 2, 2012 at 8:58 AM
    #5
    acrossawire

    acrossawire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Member:
    #71715
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Fresno, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC 4x4 Sport
    Getting ready to do a similar install in my '10 DC. Keeping the JBL h/u, adding all new door speakers & a Mr. Marv box with a single 10" acr audio sub all powered by an alpine PDX-5 4 channel amp. Adding the LC6i as well.

    Im confused on how to wire everything coming into the LC6i. I was told I may need to keep the factory amp to make use of the remote signal as some amps won't respond when connected directly to the JBL h/u. Was this your experience? I looked at your pics & it doesn't look like you kept the factory amp. Can you help me with the wiring into the LC6i? Thanks.
     
  6. Apr 2, 2012 at 5:24 PM
    #6
    SilverTacoZack

    SilverTacoZack [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Member:
    #42788
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Elgin, SC
    Vehicle:
    2011 FJ trail teams
    I actually did not have the JBL system. I, however, have a BMW 330i before this truck that I used the LC6i with. That setup was similar to the JBL, had a factory amp. The LC6I is supposed to have this "auto-turn on" feature that will send out a remote signal from itself to your amp when input signal is detected. However, what people are probably alluding to is that this might not work correctly with the JBL headunit bypassing the amp and going directly to the JBL due to its fairly low voltage signal. You can, however, do like I did and run a remote wire from the headunit. I simply tapped the accessory wire that the headunit itself uses to turn itself on to get a switched +12 v signal. I daisy chained my amp and LC6i's remote inputs off this.

    Also, to make the wiring job as easy as possible, I purchased this:

    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_14664_Blaupunkt-7-607-622-019-001-PnP019.html

    I believe it is pretty much impossible to now find, but basically It was meant for a Blaupunkt THA amplifier for plug-n-play. I just used it so I could get a signal from the factory radio back to my LC6i without having to cut or tap any wires. But, you can accomplish the same thing pretty easily. You just need +/- signal cables from your factory radio and run wires back to your LC6i.
     
To Top