1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

My hids work with No relay. Wow

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by aidenhardcore, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Feb 20, 2011 at 3:56 PM
    #1
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    Hey Guys, I thought we needed relay harness with our hids. I just installed a hid kit 8000k in heads using hi low kit on my 2010 dc.. Low hid and hi halogen and it seems to work fine np with no relay kit. everyone i talked to on here said i needed a relay harness. idk. do you guys use relay or are they only for the hid low and hid hi beam.
     
  2. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:11 PM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    What kit did you buy? A lot of the kits are plug and play so it comes with all the parts and pieces you need to make them fully functional.
     
  3. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:17 PM
    #3
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    I already had ballast from my other truck a dodge ram. So i just brought replacement bulbs from hidny. I didnt use any relay and ballast are not hooked up to battery so ...
     
  4. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:21 PM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You'll have to put up some pictures of your set-up. Sounds like despite yourself, you've made a functional HID set-up :cool:
     
  5. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:26 PM
    #5
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    i think i did. I have no pics now But i just hooked up bulbs in ballast and to factory headlight harness
     
  6. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:27 PM
    #6
    Unknown

    Unknown He who angers you conquers you

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Member:
    #35554
    Messages:
    8,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Unknown
    Unknown
    Most are
     
  7. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:29 PM
    #7
    elblako91

    elblako91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34937
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Lubbock/Houston/Katy
    Vehicle:
    1992 Toyo Pickup
    Thats a plug in play kit and should work which in your case it does. You need a relay when you are using HID's in as an aux light such as if you put them in some off road lights. The relay acts as a safe guard so as your not sending all that voltage to your aux switch inside your cab which could melt wires and cause a fire.
     
  8. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:30 PM
    #8
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    ya so maybe you dont need relay for hids on tacoma .everyone esle saying you do need them
     
  9. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:31 PM
    #9
    S.B.

    S.B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Member:
    #18838
    Messages:
    3,566
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco 4x4 TRD OffRoad Rugged Trail
    SAW 2.0s, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, On Board Air, 255/85/16 Cooper Discover S/T, CBI Sliders, Built right UCAs, 6" Harbor Freight Lights (converted to HIDs), KC Slim Lights.
    If you don't know what you are doing. But I like relays because the wires to my switches can be low current.
     
  10. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:32 PM
    #10
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    Oh so your saying elb that hids in headlights need no relay harrness but hids like in hellas need relay right
     
  11. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:33 PM
    #11
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    Let us know if you happen to blow a fuse unless you upgraded your fuses to your headlights. In my old Integra I had them hooked up as you do and blew fuses every once in a while. May have just been a short. But I hooked it up via relay and didnt blow a fuse after.
     
  12. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:35 PM
    #12
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    Having the relay has nothing to do with them working or not working. It has to do with protecting your stock wiring. They'll WORK without a relay. But you run the risk of potentially frying your wiring. Without the relay it's pulling power through your stock wiring, whereas with the relay it's bypassing that and pulling power right from the battery. Contrary to what a lot of people here often say, I'd NEVER run an HID kit without one. Especially with how cheap they are to buy. The ballasts draw a lot of current when they first fire up. For like 12 bucks, do yourself a favor and just get one to safe yourself from any headaches down the road.
     
  13. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:36 PM
    #13
    elblako91

    elblako91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34937
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Lubbock/Houston/Katy
    Vehicle:
    1992 Toyo Pickup
    It will work but you run the risk of a melt down with out the relay if your not using the right gauge wiring. It depends really, Old cars with crapy small gauge wiring need a relay because the wire will not be able to handle the voltage. Newer vehicles may be ok because they use thicker gauge wiring. I would still use a relay to play it safe and that way your not running any risk. They are fairly cheap.
     
  14. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:38 PM
    #14
    Tacomanator

    Tacomanator Boiling denim and bangin whores

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40746
    Messages:
    4,634
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clam Slammer
    Southern Cali
    King 2.5" extended travel coilovers with compression adjusters, Camburg UCA's, King 2.5" rear shocks, TRD 1st gen CAI.
    i thought relays were for bixenon bulbs where both HI/LO beams are hid. i could be wrong though
     
  15. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:38 PM
    #15
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    OK Thanks for the help guys. I guess ill put one on. Thanks
     
  16. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:40 PM
    #16
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    And so you make another new thread... hope you got the answer you were looking for
     
  17. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:42 PM
    #17
    aidenhardcore

    aidenhardcore [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51057
    Messages:
    2,731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    miguel
    boston,ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 4 door black
    None yet but soon all black.
    Sorry memario forgot about the other one. my mind is like a old person, i forget everything
     
  18. Feb 20, 2011 at 4:52 PM
    #18
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    It's cool

    Okay, for a bixenon HID setup, the purpose of the relay is for high and low beam control. Without a relay, the HIDs would not have Hi/Lo functionality. What I am guessing you have is a set of ebay style headlights that have 2 light bowls in each housing. I am not sure if it is possible to run it so that the bulbs will go to high beam and at the same time the "high beam" lights turn on as well. Essentially giving you 4 high beams on the road.
     
  19. Feb 21, 2011 at 9:18 AM
    #19
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    9,931
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Cibie Halogen. Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    It is the wattage of the lights that make a realy needed.

    HIDs draw 35 watts (but produce the light of 150 watt halogens)... your stock halogen headlights are around 55 watts...

    A pair of 100 watt halogen off road lights need a realy, a pair of 35 watt HIDs don't.

    A relay is used so all that power doesn't need to go through the switch in your truck.

    Just fyi, you do know that HIDs with 8,000ºK color are far less bright then those with 5,000º color, right? Blue to violet might help you if you are from a planet with that color star... otherwise it is for looks only.

    Halogens are about 3,000º... (slightly yellow) and the best output HIDs are between 4,000 and 5,000º (pure white with a hint of blue) which is the brightest light color for illuminating the road ahead. Above 5,000º the color become too blue and looses brightness.
     
  20. Feb 21, 2011 at 9:29 AM
    #20
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    Yea, but it's not the constant wattage that's the problem. They pull a lot more juice when they first fire up. I've seen these kits do some really goofy things(causing voltage sags bad enough to cause headunits to restart, etc.) and that's with a relay. I personally wouldn't want to assume that my wiring is good enough for that constant draw every time you turn your lights on. To each his own I guess if you don't want to spend the 12 bucks extra. Sure, the risk may be small, but until someone can confirm that the wiring is actually sufficient for them I'd never feel comfortable myself telling someone they don't need it. I'd be pissed if someone told me it's okay and then my wiring burned up.
     
To Top