1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need Computer Help (Linksys)

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by AFButters, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Mar 18, 2009 at 3:47 PM
    #1
    AFButters

    AFButters [OP] Rigger, Please!!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9113
    Messages:
    9,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    "Butters"
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4 TRD-Sport
    Lifted
    Can anyone walk me through setting up my wireless router.. I accidently reset the settings and I don't know how to set it up so that it requires a password to obtain my signal.

    Ok well I didnt accidently reset it.. i forgot my password to link my iTouch to my wireless signal and now i need to reset the whole system so that my neighbors can steal my wire less...
     
  2. Mar 18, 2009 at 3:53 PM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,092
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    go to linksys and download the startup/users manual for the model that u have

    and whats up w/ golf tomorrow?

    i can apply my networking skills afterwards if needed....for a fee....hahaha:devil:
     
  3. Mar 18, 2009 at 3:54 PM
    #3
    Stu

    Stu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Member:
    #8963
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    G'Ville, NV
    Vehicle:
    Taco TRD OR
    Not much yet, got a pretty good sound system w/ my custom sub box. Plan on adding more lights & a tool box.
    Use the hose & connect wired, then fire up the software for it & use the Lizard (wizard). It should step you thru the process.
     
  4. Mar 18, 2009 at 3:55 PM
    #4
    TacoCo

    TacoCo Aspiring wrench monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Member:
    #8512
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road DC V6 Magnetic Gray
    Snugtop XV Shell, Yakima Rack, AFE Pro Dry Filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Michelin AT2's, Partially Debadged, HID conversion, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Rear leaf spring TSB, Foglights always on Mod, URD Short Throw Shifter, Toytec Coilovers on the way!
    Go to http://192.168.1.1 and enter 'admin' as your password and leave user name blank.
     
  5. Mar 18, 2009 at 3:56 PM
    #5
    ZonKs

    ZonKs Can speak french in Russian.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1711
    Messages:
    1,055
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, CA
    =p
    try going to the command prompt and typing in "ipconfig /all" find the numbers (ip address) after the "default gateway". Once you have those, type them into the address bar in your browser. it should take you to the set up screen.

    after that just set up wep, static ip and mac filtering and you are good to go.
     
  6. Mar 18, 2009 at 4:13 PM
    #6
    AFButters

    AFButters [OP] Rigger, Please!!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9113
    Messages:
    9,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    "Butters"
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4 TRD-Sport
    Lifted
    I think i figured it out..

    note.. i knew how to sign into the 192. yada yada...

    i was talking about setting it up witha pasword and shit so that cheap ass neighbor cant steal my signal
     
  7. Mar 18, 2009 at 5:33 PM
    #7
    AFButters

    AFButters [OP] Rigger, Please!!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9113
    Messages:
    9,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    "Butters"
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4 TRD-Sport
    Lifted
    how bout Stay the F**k out
     
  8. Mar 18, 2009 at 5:59 PM
    #8
    Bolo

    Bolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Member:
    #13473
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD Offroad
    Billet grill, nerf bars, TSB, Bilstein 5100s, Pioneer deck, Access Literider, shorty antenna
    what type of encryption is your router capable of? WPA? WEP? just set up a password utilizing one of the methods provided. If you already did that, usually unplugging both the router and modem for 10 secs will help them sync and will usually get it working.
     
  9. Mar 18, 2009 at 7:42 PM
    #9
    AFButters

    AFButters [OP] Rigger, Please!!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9113
    Messages:
    9,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    "Butters"
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4 TRD-Sport
    Lifted
    i have everything working thanks for the tips
     
  10. Mar 18, 2009 at 7:48 PM
    #10
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Mine is FUHOA
     
To Top