1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need help! 2 fuse bypass

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by dad32509, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. Jul 9, 2012 at 2:53 PM
    #1
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    So I have 2 hella 500's in front that run off a relay, and instead of tapping in to the high beam I ran a add a fuse. Im running two more 55w lights on a bed light bar and am trying to run another add a fuse. I dont have a test tool to find out where I should run the other add a fuse. Anyone know of a good open fuse I can run off? Any help would be appreciated

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jul 9, 2012 at 2:59 PM
    #2
    Leggo

    Leggo slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Member:
    #47805
    Messages:
    2,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Newton,Ma.
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport AC 4x4 MGM
    Kenwood HU,Infinity Kappa speakers (x4), Infinity reference tweeters(x2),10" Kicker sub, Box by Subthump, Infinty Five channel amp,DVD anytime bypass, DTRL Mod, Xtang trifecta, Fogs anytime Mod, Bed Mat,Westin running boards, Console vault, Maglite mod, Weathertechs,Autopage remote starter, Power tailgate lock, HID Bi Zenon, Hella Supertones,Rain guards,Rear leaf TSB,Steering shaft TSB, Fisher Homesteader plow, 886 reverse lights mod, Redline Hood struts, Hankook Dynapro ATM LT265/70R17, power sliding rear window, Auto dimming/on anytime Bed lights, Blue Sea fuse panel & 100amp Breaker, de- badged,Rear headrest's removed, imMrYo mirror relocation,Homeroshi grill
    Not sure what a bypass is. This looks like an add a fuse to me. You can tap any other fuse you want with the min required amp size, just use the right size fuse.(need 20, tap a 20 amp fuse):D
     
  3. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:01 PM
    #3
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    Sorry fixed. Didnt know what it was called.
     
  4. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:07 PM
    #4
    2000GTacoma

    2000GTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50183
    Messages:
    2,183
    Gender:
    Male
    Snow Hill NC
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma Ext. 3.4L SR5
    if you are running the lights on a relay meaning the wire the add a fuse is powering is just triggering the relay you could run 2 or 3 relays i feel like off of that one add a fuse. someone please correct me if im wrong
     
  5. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:10 PM
    #5
    NoSoup4You

    NoSoup4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69909
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    San Clemente
    Vehicle:
    08 DCSB 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Nitro 4.56, Banks Monster exhaust, Camburg LT, King 12" w/ All Pro Expos, Pelfreybuilt front bumper, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, BAMF sliders, PackRack with Tepui RTT
    exactly what I was thinking.

    I use the spare fuse slot under the dash to power my CB, and to signal the relays on 3 HIDs. Never had an issue with any of it.
     
  6. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:14 PM
    #6
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    So the add a fuse wire is run to the power slot on the switch for my front lights. then the swith has a ground and a power run to the relay. I have two switches for the front and rear lights. Can I run both power wires on both swithes to the one add a fuse?
     
  7. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:24 PM
    #7
    NoSoup4You

    NoSoup4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69909
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    San Clemente
    Vehicle:
    08 DCSB 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Nitro 4.56, Banks Monster exhaust, Camburg LT, King 12" w/ All Pro Expos, Pelfreybuilt front bumper, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, BAMF sliders, PackRack with Tepui RTT
    That's what I did .. took a single wire from the empty add-a-fuse and ran it to my CB for power, then spliced into it and ran a daisy chain across my 3 switches for the relay signal

    EDIT:

    Are you running power and ground from the switch to the relay?
    You should just have the relay-signal wire going from the switch --> relay, and the relay should have its own ground and fused-power away from the switch.
     
  8. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:31 PM
    #8
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    So a total of 220w on that single add a fuse shouldnt be a problem? Im not sure of the fuse size I tapped into, I just saw it in the mods and tutorial section and went off what that dude did
     
  9. Jul 9, 2012 at 3:37 PM
    #9
    NoSoup4You

    NoSoup4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69909
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    San Clemente
    Vehicle:
    08 DCSB 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Nitro 4.56, Banks Monster exhaust, Camburg LT, King 12" w/ All Pro Expos, Pelfreybuilt front bumper, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, BAMF sliders, PackRack with Tepui RTT
    That would be about 20 amps .. need to make sure your switches, wiring, and fuses can all handle that much.

    Typically, anything over 5-10 amps I would put on a relay. The point of the relay is to use a low-amp signal wire to flip an electro-mechanical switch instead of running all that power in the cab and to your finger.
     
  10. Jul 9, 2012 at 4:03 PM
    #10
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    Yeah Ive got two relays ran. One for the front two lights and one for the back two lights. and those both have 15amp fuses run from the battery to the relay.
     
  11. Jul 9, 2012 at 5:27 PM
    #11
    NoSoup4You

    NoSoup4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69909
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    San Clemente
    Vehicle:
    08 DCSB 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Nitro 4.56, Banks Monster exhaust, Camburg LT, King 12" w/ All Pro Expos, Pelfreybuilt front bumper, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, BAMF sliders, PackRack with Tepui RTT
    you should be all good then!
     
  12. Jul 9, 2012 at 5:37 PM
    #12
    dad32509

    dad32509 [OP] Thinking of something clever

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Member:
    #64230
    Messages:
    3,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out 05
    5100's front and back, OME 885x's, LR UCA's, OMD rear springs, Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD, HVAC Green led's MOD, Blacked out bumper, Plastidip emblems, custom front tube bumper, 32" combo led bar, rigid duallys, otrattw switches, my own Satoshi grille, shorty antenna, Spyder LED halo headlights. csjumper2003 map/dome, 3rd brake, DTRL white/amber and parking LED's. Pelfreybilt IFS skid, Cab mount chop, sliders and rear light bar w/blitzpro 5LR dust light. Uniden CB, Magnaflow 18" exhaust, Rear tire carrier, sway bar removed, spidertrax 1.25" spacers, Wheelers 16" Alloys w/265/75r16 Goodyear DuraTracs
    Ok, so just want to double check I have this all right. After spending all the time running wire and shit I wanna make sure I dont fuck this up! So front lights are 55w run off a single relay and switch and the switch is run off power from a single add a fuse. Now Im running two more 55w rear lights and those are run to a relay then to a switch and that switch will be run by the same add a fuse. So Ill just splice in the new switch into the previous add a fuse
     
  13. Jul 9, 2012 at 6:52 PM
    #13
    Leggo

    Leggo slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Member:
    #47805
    Messages:
    2,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Newton,Ma.
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport AC 4x4 MGM
    Kenwood HU,Infinity Kappa speakers (x4), Infinity reference tweeters(x2),10" Kicker sub, Box by Subthump, Infinty Five channel amp,DVD anytime bypass, DTRL Mod, Xtang trifecta, Fogs anytime Mod, Bed Mat,Westin running boards, Console vault, Maglite mod, Weathertechs,Autopage remote starter, Power tailgate lock, HID Bi Zenon, Hella Supertones,Rain guards,Rear leaf TSB,Steering shaft TSB, Fisher Homesteader plow, 886 reverse lights mod, Redline Hood struts, Hankook Dynapro ATM LT265/70R17, power sliding rear window, Auto dimming/on anytime Bed lights, Blue Sea fuse panel & 100amp Breaker, de- badged,Rear headrest's removed, imMrYo mirror relocation,Homeroshi grill
    :thumbsup:
     
  14. Jul 9, 2012 at 7:05 PM
    #14
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    220w on the one add-a-fuse will likely be a problem.

    You said relay... if the add-a-fuse feeding pin 30 on the relay, or is it feeding the switches that trigger the relay?

    If it's feeding the relay, get rid of it and go to a direct battery connection through a fuse holder designed for that amount of current and don't overtax your fuse block.

    If it's feeding the switches and in turn powering the COIL on the relay (pin 85 or 86), then you can run 5 switches and relays from that fuse.
     
To Top