1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

"need help" wiring 3 hella compact 4000

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by 2000SIG, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. 2000SIG

    2000SIG [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Member:
    #31379
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    I have 3 hella compact 4000 that I want to install on a defiant bar and I have a few question about wiring.The harness I got from hella is good for 2 lamps.Can I splice for my 3rd one?Will I need a bigger fuse?Anything else I should think about?




    thanks

    Marc
     
  2. SD2011Taco

    SD2011Taco N O X I O U S

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43878
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    NOXIOUS '11 SR5V6 4x4 Grey
    The harness is junk. I ran all three of mine with 12 Gage to a single 30amp circuit.
     
  3. 2000SIG

    2000SIG [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Member:
    #31379
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
  4. kinkrider101

    kinkrider101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23497
    Messages:
    2,698
    Gender:
    Male
    santa barbara
    Vehicle:
    2007 cummins/2007 tacoma
    wheels and tires
  5. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,668
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Not familiar with the Hella harness but this is what I'd do. I'm sure you'd be fine splicing into the provided wiring though for one extra light. If you start blowing the in-line fuse then upgrade the wire size and use a larger amp fuse.
     
To Top