1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need help with Metra kit

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by sdheda, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Aug 14, 2010 at 5:16 PM
    #1
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I cannot get the head unit to line up perfectly with the Metra kit. No matter what I do the head unit is crooked and there are large gaps between the head unit and trim. :mad:

    Its like the head unit is facing a little too much down to the left.

    I am really thinking about dumping this kit, and getting the Scosche, but I thought someone here might know what I am doing wrong.

    When I was installing the factory metal brackets, I could only get three screws to go in. Is that the problem? I read a post here saying that it was like that.

    I will try to post up pictures later.
     
  2. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:03 PM
    #2
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    You probably have wires under the head unit in the rear. A 7" deep head unit in the Tacoma is a tight fit depth wise and you have to make sure you move your harnesses off to the side, or up and behind the unit.
     
  3. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:05 PM
    #3
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    the kit shouldnt have anything to do with how the h/u sits-- when i put mine in, at first it was crooked-- adjust the bolts that hold the h/u in until its straight, the faceplate should just sit right over top of it
     
  4. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:10 PM
    #4
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I pushed all the wires to the back when I put the headunit in. It slid in without a problem, until it reached the mounting holes.
     
  5. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:18 PM
    #5
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I will try to install the faceplate first, and then bolt it down.

    I have been doing the reverse right now. Every time, I loosened the bolts and adjusted it to no end. As soon as I bolt down the head unit, it becomes crooked.

    I just hope the holes for the bolts will line up.
     
  6. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:25 PM
    #6
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    the holes will line up no problem, considering theres nothing keeping the h/u from sitting all the way back (i.e. wiring, etc)

    you'll probably have to play with it a bit, but it will look good once youre done

    good luck
     
  7. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:33 PM
    #7
    TacomaBuzz

    TacomaBuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Member:
    #32764
    Messages:
    1,159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2014 RegCab 4x4 TX Special Edition
    Sirius, Bugflector,back-rack, stepsides.
    Some aftermarket HU's require you to drill your own custom holes in the OEM brackets to make it sit right. Ive heard of other people drilling custom holes, Eclipse HU's mount up perfectly. The Scoshe Kit is junk, I had both and the scosche is flimsy.
     
  8. Aug 16, 2010 at 9:43 AM
    #8
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    are you using the stock stereo mounting brackets? My metra fits perfect. Like someone else mentioned, it's probably your wires in the back of the unit messing up your alignment
     
  9. Aug 17, 2010 at 6:42 AM
    #9
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I used the stock mounting brackets. Only 3 of the 4 holes lined up when attaching the stock bracket. Is this normal?

    I will check the wires in the back next time I remove the head unit.
     
To Top