1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

need help with my amp install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by krisjw101, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Apr 22, 2012 at 8:50 PM
    #1
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    Hi guys,
    I decided to put in my kenwood speakers and amp today got them all wired, reconnect my ground to the battery, turn the truck on and the amp doesn't turn on. I have no idea why!!!! I grounded it to the bolt on the drivers side (under the plastic molding there is a bolt that goes into the floor that a bunch of wires to already). I rechecked the power control wire and the power wire and everything looked good. why isnt it even turning on?
     
  2. Apr 22, 2012 at 8:56 PM
    #2
    Casey05Taco

    Casey05Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Member:
    #8781
    Messages:
    1,988
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Penngrove, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Prerunner
    trd seat covers, bed mat, tinted windows, debadged, mud flaps removed, tinted tails, blacked out center console, Black Rims, 6000k HID in highs and fogs, blacked out front emblem, Pioneer AVH-4300DVD, Gauge Cluster, lower valence, retrofitted, audio system, Maxtrac Spindles, Billies
    do you have the remote wire hooked up?
     
  3. Apr 22, 2012 at 8:59 PM
    #3
    swalik

    swalik A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Member:
    #62458
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Grass Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    94 4Runner
    kenwood deck, two 12" kenwood subs, power acoustik 2000watt amp, gabriel air shocks, cobra cb radio, 25 watt radioshack pa speaker, magnaflow exhaust
    Do you have a multi-meter? If so, check to make sure power and ground are good. Has the amp been used before?
     
  4. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:30 PM
    #4
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    I' sure i hooked up the right remote wire but I will look. Im not sure how to use a multimeter?
     
  5. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:32 PM
    #5
    kmok

    kmok Plastidipped ma Hootus!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8007
    Messages:
    2,350
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Columbus, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2005 Subaru Outback XT 5MT
    I would check the amp power wire fuse and any fuses on the amp itself to see if they are blown. Swap in another good working fuse to test even if the fuses look good.
     
  6. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:35 PM
    #6
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    how would I know what was wrong if i test with a multimeter? If i get a reading the amp is broken and if I dont my wiring is wrong somehow?
     
  7. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:37 PM
    #7
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    I will try swapping the fuses as well
     
  8. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:38 PM
    #8
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    speaking of fuses, why is there a fuse on the power wire as well as the amp?
     
  9. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:40 PM
    #9
    swalik

    swalik A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Member:
    #62458
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Grass Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    94 4Runner
    kenwood deck, two 12" kenwood subs, power acoustik 2000watt amp, gabriel air shocks, cobra cb radio, 25 watt radioshack pa speaker, magnaflow exhaust
    Use the multimeter to make sure there is 12 volts between the battery and the power on the amp. Then you will at least know if power is getting to the amp.
     
  10. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:43 PM
    #10
    kmok

    kmok Plastidipped ma Hootus!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8007
    Messages:
    2,350
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Columbus, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2005 Subaru Outback XT 5MT
    Extra protection or maybe easier access? I've blown the fuse on the amp power wire to my amp a few times myself lol
     
  11. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:43 PM
    #11
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    ok ill check. what do i do if I dont get a reading?
     
  12. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:47 PM
    #12
    onesixseven

    onesixseven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Member:
    #48210
    Messages:
    760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Santa Clarita California
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner SR5
    3.5" Kind Coilovers Total Chaos UCA's 31" BFG A/T's 8000k hi/lo HID kit Flowmaster Super 44 5% tint all around exterior LED's Deck Plate Mod bedlined flares debadged Full Fosgate/JL Audio Stereo
    check remote turn on first. on most kenwoods, that little red triangle on the top thats like an emblem, is lit by the remote turn on. so if that isnt coming on, that means its your remote turn on wire for sure. what kind of head unit? if u tell me model i might know what color your remote turn on wire should be. but like i said, that red triangle is powered only by the rto so if that thing isnt connected fully, or just straight up isnt connected to the right wire, then you really have an easy fix. oh and theres fuses on both for several reasons, mainly just for double protection, protection for your amp as well your truck. if something craps out on your battery or shorts or something weird, that power wire is cut off before it gets too far, provided you put that inline semi close. the other fuses are mainly to protect the amp, you really dont ever have to worry about popping fuses in the amp as long as its a decent amp and your not trying to force its max power through, which you never should come close because it will start distorting,
     
  13. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:51 PM
    #13
    cosgrc

    cosgrc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Member:
    #46486
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    OME Lift, 887, Dakars
    Do you have an aftermarket stereo? If so, did you hook it to the blue wire or the blue/white wire coming from the radio? If it works on the radio but not on a CD, that could be the problem. Solid blue wire is power antenna (thus it goes off when the CD is on). If it's not this, check what everybody else says - should have 12 volts on the positive terminal and remote turn-on (when the system is on) on the amp. Is the power light on, on the amp?
     
  14. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:51 PM
    #14
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    Its a kenwood kdx-395 i believe.
     
  15. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:52 PM
    #15
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    I will pull out the HU tomorrow and look to make sure its all good
     
  16. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:53 PM
    #16
    cosgrc

    cosgrc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Member:
    #46486
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    OME Lift, 887, Dakars
    I must have been typing while you hit submit. :)
     
  17. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:55 PM
    #17
    swalik

    swalik A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Member:
    #62458
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Grass Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    94 4Runner
    kenwood deck, two 12" kenwood subs, power acoustik 2000watt amp, gabriel air shocks, cobra cb radio, 25 watt radioshack pa speaker, magnaflow exhaust
    With the truck on, if there is no power getting to the amp, you most likely have an issue with your power cable's inline fuse, or like others have said your remote turn on wire is not connected properly.
     
  18. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:56 PM
    #18
    krisjw101

    krisjw101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12574
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Spokane,WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4x4
    Autobot in my rear window
    no the red kenwood triangle doesnt light up at all. so its the remote wire for sure then
     
  19. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:58 PM
    #19
    swalik

    swalik A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Member:
    #62458
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Grass Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    94 4Runner
    kenwood deck, two 12" kenwood subs, power acoustik 2000watt amp, gabriel air shocks, cobra cb radio, 25 watt radioshack pa speaker, magnaflow exhaust
    What did you tap the remote wire into?
     
  20. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:58 PM
    #20
    onesixseven

    onesixseven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Member:
    #48210
    Messages:
    760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Santa Clarita California
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner SR5
    3.5" Kind Coilovers Total Chaos UCA's 31" BFG A/T's 8000k hi/lo HID kit Flowmaster Super 44 5% tint all around exterior LED's Deck Plate Mod bedlined flares debadged Full Fosgate/JL Audio Stereo
    :p yea well wudev it works. yea cuz experience tells me, at least with any of my alpines/jvc/kenwoods/etc... that solid blue is rto, but when i was throwing is a sony for a buddy, i was stumped. couldnt figure it out. checked all my grounds a million times, fuses, even tried returning the amp, eventually found out sony uses the blue/white for rto. i was like :confused: but live and learn i guess :rolleyes:
     
To Top