1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need Immediate Radio Help

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by BoostingMS6, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Jan 8, 2011 at 12:23 PM
    #1
    BoostingMS6

    BoostingMS6 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43565
    Messages:
    780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    El Paso, TX
    Vehicle:
    1995.5 Tacoma Xtra Cab V6
    I ordered a stereo and all the adapter harnesses from Crutchfield. I spliced the harnesses together in my kitchen just fine. When I went to go take out the factory radio, though, I discovered that the factory harnesses is essentially haywire. I know the previous owner's son had a stereo system in, but put the stock one back in before selling. Instead of using an adapting harness, he cut the stock wiring. To make matters worse, his idea of splicing was to electrical tape the two stripped ends together.

    I need help. Its clear to see the two harnesses will not match up. I knew there was going to be issues (as my front speakers did not work and the back had static), so I never used the radio until I got my aftermarket one in.

    I've installed radios before, but I'm 20 so I haven't been doing it long enough that I've ever had to cut factory wiring thanks to aftermarket harnesses. I have the electrical know-how to fix this issue IF I have a wiring diagram. I looked it up on installdr.com and autotoys.com, neither of which had the correct colors. I've also looked on the factory service manual to no avail. Custom Sounds wants $50 to rewire the harness correctly (I WANT the original harness on there so I don't have to fuss with it ever again). Best Buy wants $40.

    Please help guys! I need this done today if possible.
     
  2. Jan 8, 2011 at 12:30 PM
    #2
    silvr07taco

    silvr07taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47947
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 prerunner Access Cab
    K&N air filter, Dual XDMA6415, Sound Ordnance™ M-1350, Infinity 1252w, Custom 12" sub box.
    what kind of truck is it? the 1995 in your sig?
     
  3. Jan 8, 2011 at 12:36 PM
    #3
    silvr07taco

    silvr07taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47947
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 prerunner Access Cab
    K&N air filter, Dual XDMA6415, Sound Ordnance™ M-1350, Infinity 1252w, Custom 12" sub box.
    and also if he had the stock stereo back in there, you can just properly splice the wires from the harness to the connectors that are plugged into the factory headunit?

    That should give you the proper connector to plug the new harness into?
     
  4. Jan 8, 2011 at 12:49 PM
    #4
    wildjerseyfirefighter

    wildjerseyfirefighter I sell fishing and fishing accessories

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11677
    Messages:
    7,958
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Sport
    stock, for now
    unfourtinately, you need to remove the hacked up harness leaving the stock harness there. Its going to take alot of time and tracing, but its doable. Then start over with your new harness and splice it in properly.
     
  5. Jan 8, 2011 at 1:18 PM
    #5
    BoostingMS6

    BoostingMS6 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43565
    Messages:
    780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    El Paso, TX
    Vehicle:
    1995.5 Tacoma Xtra Cab V6
    It's the '95.5.

    I think you guys are misunderstanding a little, or I'm not clearly stating my issue. It HAS the factory harness/connector on there right now. However, when the previous owner put the factory harness back on (he had taken it off), he did not put the wires in the correct spots. In other words, I cannot use a new adapter to splice to the wires. I have to rewire the factory harness myself (or wire the new aftermarket on -- either way I need to know which wires do what).

    I think I'm gonna be stuck dumping the problem on an audio store, or just tracing all the wires back myself. For $40, I may go with the first one.
     
  6. Jan 8, 2011 at 1:32 PM
    #6
    BoostingMS6

    BoostingMS6 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43565
    Messages:
    780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    El Paso, TX
    Vehicle:
    1995.5 Tacoma Xtra Cab V6
    Bump for urgency.
     
  7. Jan 8, 2011 at 4:57 PM
    #7
    RAT PRODUCTS

    RAT PRODUCTS RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    13,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 CUMTOY and 16 Sierra Denali
    View the build. Too much to list.
  8. Jan 8, 2011 at 9:45 PM
    #8
    joeer77

    joeer77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Member:
    #45546
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    North Plains OR
    Bilstein 5100s
    What I would do: 1. Plan to remove the stock harness and wire directly to the aftermarket stereo harness. 2. Unbolt all speakers in cab and determine wire polarity/location. 3. Using a voltmeter, determine purpose of unknown leads left in stereo harness. These should be: 12V (constant), 12V when key is turned, 12V when headlights are turned on (dimmer) and ground. If you are not willing to do this then go spend $40 at the stereo store.
     
  9. Jan 8, 2011 at 9:49 PM
    #9
    tt98

    tt98 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Member:
    #48480
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    denver co
    Vehicle:
    4x4
    bilstein shocks hd leafs
    dont put the radio on the harness, just rewire it. if you need to have it hooked to ignition, turn ign.on and look for power on the f-ed up harness
     
  10. Jan 8, 2011 at 10:01 PM
    #10
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Or just post a few pictures up here and myself or im sure many of the other guys could help you pretty quickly...
     
  11. Jan 9, 2011 at 8:50 AM
    #11
    RAT PRODUCTS

    RAT PRODUCTS RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    13,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 CUMTOY and 16 Sierra Denali
    View the build. Too much to list.
    Yeah pics would be good, I had to do this same process on my old '96 so I think I could remember what to do.
     
  12. Jan 9, 2011 at 11:30 PM
    #12
    BoostingMS6

    BoostingMS6 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43565
    Messages:
    780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    El Paso, TX
    Vehicle:
    1995.5 Tacoma Xtra Cab V6
    Thanks bud :rolleyes:

    Will do tomorrow. Thanks guys.
     
To Top