1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

need new router help

Discussion in 'Technology' started by DBTaco, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:10 AM
    #1
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    867
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    My current setup I have a Cisco Linksys e1550 ($60) and I think its on its last leg already. I've probably had it somewhere between a year or two at the most. It is a wireless N. So I have a laptop which still has the wireless g adapter installed originally on the computer, 2 smartphones, a nook tablet, wireless printer, and I play Xbox live regularly. My brother also plays and he says that since we play Xbox live and do a lot of YouTube video streaming it really puts a toll on the routers. So I've been looking at the Cisco EA3500, EA4500, and EA6500(I think is probably way overkill for what devices I have) I found speedtest.net online last night and ran a test and mine was 5.35 download speed and 1.51 upload speed. I tried it later before I went to bed and it had gone down some. I asked him what his was and he said 36.35 download and 5.73 upload. I was like good gosh what is really going on. The modem I have is a Motorola surfboard b5101 or something like that off the top of my head if modem matters. Could someone please help me get a faster connection. When we download an update on Xbox I can start mine first and my brothers will pass my progress and finish before mine.
     
  2. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:17 AM
    #2
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,968
    Gender:
    Male
    The router can contribute to your speeds but I think it's going to be your service provider. Ask them how many mpbs you are paying for, also I would suggest steering away from Motorola anything, they are usually garbage. I bought a new Buffalo router for $40, has B/G/N connections and works flawlessly. I was skeptical at first because they aren't really a big brand but after a few reviews I figured it was worth the $40 to try.
     
  3. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:20 AM
    #3
    chenbro

    chenbro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Member:
    #17697
    Messages:
    1,328
    Gender:
    Male
    Sterling, CO
    Vehicle:
    2009 Silver DCSB TRD OR
    Window tint, WeatherTech floormats, ARB w/ fogs, stereo/speaker upgrades, Icon ext. resi coilovers, Icon resi rear shocks, OME Dakar leafs, LR UCAs
    Did you try turning the router off and back on and then running the speed test? I had an older router that would begin to slow down after a few minutes when I was streaming video wirelessly on a laptop. If the results improve dramatically then it could be time to replace the router.

    Your cable modem is also an older model that doesn't support the newer cable DOCSIS 3 standard, which can explain your slower speed. If your speed test result comes back at about the same speed after power cycling the router, then you should consider upgrading the modem first.

    Also, log into the router and check to see if there are any funky QoS settings on it that are giving higher priority to certain devices.
     
  4. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:25 AM
    #4
    DR007

    DR007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Member:
    #90963
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Port Barre, LA
    Vehicle:
    '06 DCSB PreRunner
    MagnaFlow exhaust, K&N cold air intake, MB TKO wheels with 265/75/r16 Hankook Dynapro ATM, Blue Center shift LED color change, Map Lights with Dome, LED Map and Dome lights, Cluster Light Change, DTRL, Parking Light as Blinker, Blue A/C Control lights, Blue Clock, Bed Lights, Debadged tailgate, painted all exterior plastic trim, 6LZ Lightbars in grille, OTRATTW switches, Fog Light in Reverse light Mod, LED Blinkers all around, Projector Fog Lights, 15" blitzpro light bar, added hidden cig lighter port, custom plate front bumper, OME complete lift with 885 front coils, Ultraguage, CB radio 3' whips, 12v bed lighter port, Center Console Lights, AllProOffroad Sliders, 50" roof led light bar, 2 BlitzPro 6LZ Reverse Lights
    Like Large said it depends on what you are getting from the provider. It will vary throughout the day but the majority of the problem is the provider. With that many devices you also might want to bump up how much data is coming in. It can affect the strength and sometimes knock it out if too many devices are pulling from it.
     
  5. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:28 AM
    #5
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,968
    Gender:
    Male
    I should also mention I have around 12 devices run from my router and have 0 issues.
     
  6. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:28 AM
    #6
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    3,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    '07 FJ
    Check your speed before and after the router. This will tell you if your router is bottlenecking your connection speeds.
     
  7. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:31 AM
    #7
    DR007

    DR007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Member:
    #90963
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Port Barre, LA
    Vehicle:
    '06 DCSB PreRunner
    MagnaFlow exhaust, K&N cold air intake, MB TKO wheels with 265/75/r16 Hankook Dynapro ATM, Blue Center shift LED color change, Map Lights with Dome, LED Map and Dome lights, Cluster Light Change, DTRL, Parking Light as Blinker, Blue A/C Control lights, Blue Clock, Bed Lights, Debadged tailgate, painted all exterior plastic trim, 6LZ Lightbars in grille, OTRATTW switches, Fog Light in Reverse light Mod, LED Blinkers all around, Projector Fog Lights, 15" blitzpro light bar, added hidden cig lighter port, custom plate front bumper, OME complete lift with 885 front coils, Ultraguage, CB radio 3' whips, 12v bed lighter port, Center Console Lights, AllProOffroad Sliders, 50" roof led light bar, 2 BlitzPro 6LZ Reverse Lights
    We have around 18-20 devices connected to ours and we had to bump the data coming into the house twice because devices were kicking each other off.
     
  8. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:31 AM
    #8
    miniceptor86

    miniceptor86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Member:
    #4799
    Messages:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    McGregor,IA
    Vehicle:
    07 Speedway Blue Prerunner Dbl cab
    TRD sport exhaust and cold air intake, nerf and bull bar, RideRide, ProEFX towing mirrors, BakFlip F1 trifold tonneau
    I like my Craftsman really well. I've had it for probably 40 years, used to us it a lot but not so much any more.
     
  9. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:33 AM
    #9
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Usually there is fine print on a router that says the max devices you can use on it. There is also fine print with your ISP, they cap your data (usually) at 100 GB. I will personally probably never use 100 GB per month but kinda frustrating knowing there is a cap at all.
     
  10. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:38 AM
    #10
    JayC06

    JayC06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45118
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    fairhaven ma
    Vehicle:
    06 4cyl ac 4x4
    5100's front at 1.75, procomp light bar, kc lights, dynomax muffler
    Definitely check your speed right off tje modem first. I'm a cable tech that's the first thing I do when a Cust has slow speeds and you should have a doc 3 modem it does make a big difference
     
  11. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:54 AM
    #11
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,071
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    ^^this. if you suspect the router is the issue, connect a PC straight from the modem, then speed test again. i'd be willing to get that the speed issues are from your ISP and not the router.
     
  12. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:12 AM
    #12
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    867
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    I did call the cable company the day I noticed the problem and they said it was probably the router because he was sending information through the cable and he was seeing and receiving back. Through the modem.

    What is a good modem that I could buy that has the doc3 or do I need to call cable provider and ask what the MB are that I have.
     
  13. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:27 AM
    #13
    chris duby

    chris duby This is where I write something clever

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Member:
    #48315
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Clute, TX
    Vehicle:
    The '09 SuperWhite
    Badges Painted White, D2S Mini Morimoto projectors with 6000K bulbs, Satoshi grill, black valance, fog lights on anytime with 6000k HID's, Viper Remote Start, Pioneer AVH-P8400BH, 2 Rockford Fosgate P3 Shallow mount subs, Rockford Fosgate 1000 watt amp, Tinted Tail Lights, Weathertech Floor mats, Updated bedside decals, AFE Pro Dry drop in filter, Ultragauge, Radar Detector hard wired, Stubby antenna, Dynamax Bullet dumped after axel, carpeted Kobalt tool box, 4" spindle lift with 3" blocks in back, Bilstein front shocks set at .75", Extended Rear Bilsteins, 1.25" Spidertraxx wheel spacers in back, 20" XD Hoss gloss black rims with 295/55/20 Nitto Trail Grapplers,
    I had issues with my router before because I have so many devices connected through it and I stream music and movies from a media server that is hooked up directly to the router. I wasn't getting the speeds that were advertised so I made an upgrade. I went with the Netgear N900 and I couldn't be happier. It was the best at the time I purchased it for the money so there could be more out there by now.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/NETGEAR...itch/3219043.p?id=1218386647149&skuId=3219043
     
  14. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:35 AM
    #14
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,968
    Gender:
    Male
    If they provide the modem they should replace it if it's faulty.
     
  15. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:54 AM
    #15
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    867
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    No they don't provide the modem. I had to buy this last Motorola that I have about 1-2 years ago. About the same time I had to purchase my current router
     
  16. Mar 21, 2013 at 9:18 AM
    #16
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    867
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    I'm at home now and plugged the laptop in to the modem wired and ran the test and I got download 19.53 and upload is 1.61
     
  17. Mar 21, 2013 at 9:33 AM
    #17
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    867
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    I'm chatting with the cable comp. and they said I have the 15MBps plan and they said I have a DOCSIS 2.0 modem which we already figured that out.
     
  18. Mar 21, 2013 at 10:22 AM
    #18
    lysias55

    lysias55 E-Dub

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12385
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Evan
    Cherokee, North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    09 Toyota Tacoma
    a Kenwood touchscreen nav unit w/ ipod cable and xm subscription, TRD Exhaust, Hurst T-Handle Shifter, skid plate, tinted windows, tinted rain guards, 5100's all the way around, stock c/o up front on the 5100's, L.E.D. dome light, k&n 63 series C.A.I.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1363886290.550383.jpg

    I have the Linksys E4200, simple interface and they have an iPhone app that allows you quick access to all of the settings. It's a dual band router. I recommend it bc your Xbox can run on the 5Ghz band while all of your other devices run on the 2.3Ghz band. It'll give you your best speeds. Find a good used one or check amazon.
     
To Top