1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

need some light wiring help...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by matt45648, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Mar 18, 2009 at 9:20 PM
    #1
    matt45648

    matt45648 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8842
    Messages:
    321
    picked up a used bull bar, has lights mounted on it. The wires have been snipped. So what im left with is a black wire coming out of the bottom and rear of each light, then a red wire out of each spliced into 1 green wire. So I have on green wire to connect to power evidentally. My question is what wire setup do I need? Ie fuses, switches, etc...
     
  2. Mar 18, 2009 at 9:46 PM
    #2
    Mexican_taco

    Mexican_taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14073
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Oxnard, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Toyota PreRunner
    painted black rims, fog light mod. debadged
    Find a nice place for the ground.
    To hook-up a switch, run the red wire into the cab.
    A switch that illumiates will have three prongs sticking out of the back. One is power coming in. The second one is Power going out. And the third is the ground.
    The power that goes into the switch must be hooked up to the battery. Just to be safe i would put a 5 amp fuse between the battery and the switch.
    You can get a switch that doesnt illuminate but i would suggest getting one that illumiates.
    i hope that answered you question.
     
  3. Mar 18, 2009 at 9:49 PM
    #3
    matt45648

    matt45648 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8842
    Messages:
    321
    But this came off a taco, and its all wired. There is only one wire needing connected...???
     
  4. Mar 18, 2009 at 10:01 PM
    #4
    Mexican_taco

    Mexican_taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14073
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Oxnard, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Toyota PreRunner
    painted black rims, fog light mod. debadged
    You're looking to connect the red wire to a power source
     
  5. Mar 18, 2009 at 10:04 PM
    #5
    matt45648

    matt45648 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8842
    Messages:
    321
    I understand that... But where do I go with the wire? I nerd a switch and perhaps a fuse in there somewhere...?
     
  6. Mar 18, 2009 at 10:21 PM
    #6
    TL697

    TL697 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9313
    Messages:
    572
    Gender:
    Male
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC SB 4x4 TRD Offroad Magnetic Grey Met
    Depending on the wattage of the lights, you may need a relay...

    I would put a relay if it were me...

    - ground the black wires
    - green to switchable power on relay
    - power lead to switch and then to relay
    - ground relay
    - fused power to relay

    if you don't want to add a switch, just splice into your high beams and go to the relay
     
  7. Mar 18, 2009 at 10:21 PM
    #7
    Mexican_taco

    Mexican_taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14073
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Oxnard, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Toyota PreRunner
    painted black rims, fog light mod. debadged
    You can get a switch that doesnt illuminate but i would suggest getting one that illumiates.

    A switch that illumiates will have three prongs sticking out of the back. One is power coming in. The second one is Power going out. And the third is the ground.

    The power that goes into the switch must be hooked up to the battery. Just to be safe i would put a 5 amp fuse between the battery and the switch.

    You're gonna run both red wires from the back of the lights into the cab and hook them you to the back of the switch. You will hook it up to the power out prong. Since the wires were cut, you're gonna need to make the wires longer.

    You're going to need a ground for the switch and the lights.
     
  8. Mar 19, 2009 at 7:51 AM
    #8
    TL697

    TL697 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9313
    Messages:
    572
    Gender:
    Male
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC SB 4x4 TRD Offroad Magnetic Grey Met
    Great illustration of the relay setup I was trying to describe...
     
  9. Mar 20, 2009 at 10:51 AM
    #9
    matt45648

    matt45648 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8842
    Messages:
    321
    Do I have to run it to the fuse box? I was goin to just go from the battery to an in line fuse, to a switch.
     
To Top