1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need some suspension help here.....

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Country101, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Apr 15, 2012 at 12:23 AM
    Country101

Country101 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    NW Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma access cab V6 4x4 manual
    dirty truck mod, custom trailer scratch on tailgate, husky floorliners, OME Lift
    Alright, I'm new to working on suspensions and I need some advice and info. I have an '08 access cab 4x4 that I have flattened the springs on. I was thinking about either buying a set from from manwithoutaplan with an aal or going with a set of old man emu that will lift me about 2".

Question 1 is, should I spend the extra money on a leaf pack or take a good deal on a factory set with an aal? Theres quite a bit of differance in price, obviously and I am not doing a bunch of serious off roading since it is my daily driver. I do haul a good bit of wood, so the payload is an issue. Would an aal or new leaf pack be better in that regard?

Question 2 is, if I go with a new leaf pack that sets me 2 inches higher, would I HAVE to have longer shocks, or would the stock set be sufficient. If it is not, what other mods would I have to do to accomodate the new leaf pack.