1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need suggestions on suspension parts I ordered

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by nagorb, May 10, 2012.

1. May 10, 2012 at 10:22 PM
    nagorb

nagorb [OP] Should be a dang perma mod

Member:
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2001 dbl cab 4x4
    I picked up a 2001 double cab non trd 4x4a few months ago and have some parts on order but need help figuring out if I need anything else. I’m new to all things trucks and have researched for some time, I’m not mechanically stupid though, I’m a welder/fabricator so I’ll be doing all the install myself.

Background: I drive mostly on the freeway but plan on going offroading once or twice a month, nothing too crazy as it my DD, but I didn’t get a 4x4 for nothing. I planned on getting bilsteins all around but are backordered till mid June and I’m impatient after looking for my truck for so damn long. So I ordered some sway away 2.0 racerunners for the front. For the back I have some alcans with a 2” lift and an extra 300lb over stock coming in the next week or so.

Questions:
    I know the coilovers are “bolt on” but do I need/should I replace anything? Bushings, top plate, etc I have no clue what I would need.

Basically the same question with the rear leaf pack, it comes with new bushings, do I need new u bolts or anything else?

For the rear I plan on going with bilsteins as I’ve read they work well and there is no need for sway aways or whatever else. Suggestions? Which bilstein 5100/5125?

Thanks

2. May 11, 2012 at 6:08 AM
    Sublime

Sublime Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle: