1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Needing some new wires - help help

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by chaos316, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. Nov 9, 2011 at 11:22 PM
    #1
    chaos316

    chaos316 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Member:
    #36918
    Messages:
    385
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JJ
    Wichita, KS
    Vehicle:
    2011 Super White DCLB Sport 4x4 3" Spacer lif
    3" Revtek Spacer lift and aal, 18" Gear Alloy wheels, Nitto terra grapplers
    Just got a alpine pdx 1.600. Its hooked up to a 10w3v3 in the ported JL box. Im running WALMART WIRING, i know please don't judge. Its from scosche. Its 8 gauge. I don't know much about wiring, but i am pretty sure i need bigger and better. Any suggestions for a reasonable price?
     
  2. Nov 10, 2011 at 5:47 AM
    #2
    XJBaylor

    XJBaylor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43621
    Messages:
    176
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Plano, TX
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB TRD Sport 4x4
    King coilovers with remote reservoirs, Deaver 12 leaf pack with 5100's, TRD exhaust, Kenwood 6160, Anthracite Sport Wheels
    You are correct, that you would probably be better off with 4 guage cable. Look at Knukonceptz if you are on a budget. They are easy to find on eBay, and make a good quality product at a very good price.
     
  3. Nov 10, 2011 at 6:02 AM
    #3
    saitcho

    saitcho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Member:
    #65596
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    '11 DC 4x4 trd off road
    I'm pretty sure knuconceptz is the same copper coated aluminum that I would guess is in the wal mart wiring. If you are only pulling a few hundred watts upgrading to 4 gauge is completely pointless.
     
  4. Nov 10, 2011 at 9:40 AM
    #4
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    the size of the wire is completely dependent on the amount of current (amps) that your amp draws from the battery and the length of the wire used to connect the amp to the battery.

    http://www.mecp.com/downloads/Overview_MECP_Program.pdf

    looking at the first graph, you 600W amp pulls approximately 50 amps of current @ 12V (600w/12V = 50a) and you cna go about 8 ft on an 8 gauge power wire before you should start to consider upgrading to a larger size. If you've got leftover wire from the Scoshe kit you bought, and it's long enough, just double up on the 8 gauge going from the battery to the amp.

    Also, Scoshe is a pretty reputable brand in the car audio world - at least it was back when I was installing. Doesn't matter where you got the kit at, be it Walmart, Best Buy, or your local exotic brand stereo shop. You likely just saved a few bucks buying it at WallyWorld.

    On page 6 of the pdf (it shows page 37 in th lower right corner) are a couple of charts for wire size related to the length of the wire and the amount of current you're pulling
     
  5. Nov 10, 2011 at 10:36 AM
    #5
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Knu has 2 lines, the CCA stuff is the KCA line.

    The solid copper is the Kolossus Flex. And both are decent wires, but know that the CCA is not as good as pure copper. Unlike other mfgs, they actually list the limitations:

    Basically, with that amp, you are good with the KCA 4ga kit. The Kollosus line will leave you some room to upgrade, if you feel like it.

    Another spot to check is BCAE1.com, and on the right scroll down to number 16.

    calculators, graphs, and lots of info on wiring.
     
  6. Nov 10, 2011 at 11:32 AM
    #6
    chaos316

    chaos316 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Member:
    #36918
    Messages:
    385
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JJ
    Wichita, KS
    Vehicle:
    2011 Super White DCLB Sport 4x4 3" Spacer lif
    3" Revtek Spacer lift and aal, 18" Gear Alloy wheels, Nitto terra grapplers
    In the future I plan on hooking up another pdx or maybe two when I get another sub and some speakers. Would the 4g that I get soon, work when I want to run more amps?
     
To Top