1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

new 2014...cruise control question ?

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by Hot2na, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. Feb 18, 2014 at 3:00 AM
    #1
    Hot2na

    Hot2na [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77905
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    I just picked up a 2014 4cyl 4x4 base model last night....no CRUISE...how can I figure out if it is pre wired for cruise? and how do I install...I already did a search...but I'm wondering if anything has changed for 2014...

    BTW: its a regular cab and it has bucket seats & a Console....woo hoo !!!
     
  2. Feb 18, 2014 at 12:02 PM
    #2
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    My 2014 access cab was pre wired...if I can find my installation instructions I can give you the pin numbers that the wires go to (at the ECM) and you could check to see if the wires are already there. I'll try to find them tonight. I had already half way wired my Rostra kit when I realized my truck was pre wired (Rostra support assured me no new Tacomas are pre wired!). Wish I would have known to begin with because I would have at least ordered the original Toyota clutch switch as the Rostra unit is a PITA! Ended up having to do a bunch a wire cutting and soldering to get it in. You shouldn't have to deal with that though since you have an automatic. You could just order the stalk and install it....if it works then you are pre wired :)
     
  3. Feb 18, 2014 at 4:32 PM
    #3
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Here is probably the easiest place to find the wires if you are pre wired (you can also look under the steering column but requires a little more work):

    Locate the ECM by removing the glove box door. There will be a black connector(E22) to the right on the ECM...second from the bottom. Pull out this connector and check to see if there is a wire in pin 14(Brown I believe)[​IMG]. If so this is your cruise switch wire. If this wire is in place all else should already be taken care of and the stalk should just be a plug and play kind of thing.
     
  4. Feb 19, 2014 at 3:59 AM
    #4
    Hot2na

    Hot2na [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77905
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    That really helps,clcartwr....thanks
     
  5. Feb 19, 2014 at 6:41 AM
    #5
    Winker

    Winker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Member:
    #111437
    Messages:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    2013 rc 4x4
    I thought it was funny when I got my '13 RC 4x4 that cruise wasn't standard but bluetooth was. I didn't pack my brain when I bought mine so I just had the dealer install mine. I'm sure doing it yourself will save a few hundred dollars.
     
  6. Feb 21, 2014 at 8:07 PM
    #6
    BKill

    BKill AKA Threadkiller

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113325
    Messages:
    458
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner
    I certainly hope you have the wiring harness. I bought a new 2013 AC Prerunner in September. Part if the deal I negotiated was the installation of cruise control. They were a little miffed when they realized it didn't 't have the needed wiring harness and had to build one.
     
  7. Feb 22, 2014 at 6:58 AM
    #7
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    If you buy the Rostra kit it will come with all the wiring you need if you aren't pre wired.
     
  8. Feb 22, 2014 at 9:22 AM
    #8
    Hot2na

    Hot2na [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77905
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    Good to know , thanks
     
  9. Mar 1, 2014 at 7:46 AM
    #9
    Mrnurse

    Mrnurse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Member:
    #124135
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Friendswood TX
    Vehicle:
    Scion fr-s for now
    I thought the new rc only came with bench seats
     
  10. Mar 1, 2014 at 2:05 PM
    #10
    Hot2na

    Hot2na [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77905
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    my new R/C came with BUCKETS
     
  11. Mar 1, 2014 at 3:47 PM
    #11
    wfochris

    wfochris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Member:
    #99396
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    As I understand it, the auto has buckets while the stick has a bench.
     
  12. Mar 2, 2014 at 9:35 PM
    #12
    Mrnurse

    Mrnurse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Member:
    #124135
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Friendswood TX
    Vehicle:
    Scion fr-s for now
    Ok. I'm not a huge fan of bench seats. Not that I don't like the fr-s but I am ready to be away from it. Too many issues with this one. And I have really grown fond of this lil pick up.
     
  13. Mar 3, 2014 at 6:10 AM
    #13
    Hot2na

    Hot2na [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77905
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    Just a reminder : this thread is about cruise not seats......
     
  14. Mar 20, 2014 at 10:14 AM
    #14
    navin

    navin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Member:
    #125744
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi, I just bought a 2014 base 4x2 reg cab 5spd and want to add CC soon. Is the Rostra kit very easy to install? If it is pre-wired, is it just the stalk that needs to be added to the steering column or is a fitting needed on the throttle body too? I didn't see a pop out in the plastic for a stalk?

    Manual trans needs a clutch switch too? What would be the consequence of skipping that, engine would rev if clutch disengaged? But brake would negate that, right?

    Thanks!
     
  15. Mar 20, 2014 at 11:14 AM
    #15
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    If you are pre wired the kit is very straight forward. Remove the air bag and install stalk (there is a stalk bezel you can buy to replace the plastic caps on side of steering wheel). The cruise works through the computer (drive by wire) so no throttle body mods. If you don't install the clutch switch the cruise will have a constant cancel signal since the switch opens to cancel cruise unless you tied the wires together. The Rostra instructions assume you aren't pre wired so you have to pick through them a bit.
     
  16. Mar 20, 2014 at 4:32 PM
    #16
    navin

    navin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Member:
    #125744
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you. I guess the full Rostras kit is the way to go, or if I'm prewired I can just buy the stalk and jump the clutch switch wires? Are they right at the pedal arm?

    Is there a "how to" detailing the job somewhere on this forum?
     
  17. Mar 20, 2014 at 4:55 PM
    #17
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah if you are pre-wired I would suggest buying just the stalk, stalk bezel, and clutch switch from Toyota. The Rostra clutch switch is a PITA and doesn't have the right connector so you have to splice into the stock wiring. I'm guessing the Toyota clutch switch would be a much simpler install. There are two wires with a connector taped up behind the fuse block in front of the clutch pedal arm. I would guess if you went through the trouble of getting under your dash to find these wires you might as well install the switch while you are under there....I have read of guys not installing the switch but I would advise to go ahead and install it.....

    If you aren't pre wired the Rostra kit is the way to go because it includes all of the wires and pins you need to tap into the ECU etc.

    There are several good right ups on various forums but not exclusively for the 2014 as some of the wires/connections are slightly different from what I can tell (if you aren't pre wired).
     
  18. Mar 20, 2014 at 7:25 PM
    #18
    iroh

    iroh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Member:
    #65439
    Messages:
    1,324
    Gender:
    Male
    michigander
    Vehicle:
    07 AC SR5 2.7 5MT 4x4
    tonneau
    The thread in the 2nd gen section of toyotanation had a lot of good stuff, including instructions for the clutch switch that will be 95% of your install headache. When I put cruise in my 6 speed I remember dropping the panel down, then unbolting the fuse block and rotating it down enough to get my hand back there. You can't get to that area from below, at least not enough to do much.
     
  19. Mar 21, 2014 at 3:31 AM
    #19
    Mrnurse

    Mrnurse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Member:
    #124135
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Friendswood TX
    Vehicle:
    Scion fr-s for now
    Ok, so I think I will be trading my troubled fr-s in for a tacoma r/c 4x4 auto. How do I know if it is prewired for cc? And I can just buy the stalk and brake switch? If it is prewired?
     
  20. Mar 21, 2014 at 3:33 AM
    #20
    clcartwr

    clcartwr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Member:
    #122877
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    See post #3
     
To Top