1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New 6.5" speakers - Need opinions!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by shanomac, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Jun 18, 2010 at 7:32 PM
    #1
    shanomac

    shanomac [OP] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35860
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 4x4
    Installed new JL Audio 6.5" 2 ways in the front doors of my '10 Access Cab this afternoon. Turned on the stock headunit to make sure they were working (they were) and they did not sound as good as the stock 6x9s I took out. Much less bass.

    I'm upgrading the headunit to a Kenwood tomorrow (didn't get it done this afternoon as I'm working through the SWI-JACK install).

    My question is will they come to life with the new headunit, or am I in for disappointment?

    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Jun 18, 2010 at 7:47 PM
    #2
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    I still have stock speakers, but I changed my deck out for a kenwood. It's only a $160 deck, but it made a huge difference in bass with the stock speakers.
     
  3. Jun 18, 2010 at 8:08 PM
    #3
    Htnswches

    Htnswches Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34166
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    E
    Lost Angels
    Vehicle:
    2006 Precummer Tacoma
    FR:Camburg 2.5 Performance System,RR:Icon AAL w/Bilstein 5100. K&N drop in,DynoMAX,Optima yellow top.
    Technically you're better off changing the headunit first and speakers after. I didn't do this,doope! I found some tacotunes adaptors cheap and recycled some infinity 6x9's and Boston acoustic 6.5's and the results were not that impressive and I have the JBL "premium" sound. However it did make a difference with just the 6x9's, the 6.5's need more power because they sounded a lot better in my old single cab with a Kenwood HU.
     
  4. Jun 19, 2010 at 7:02 AM
    #4
    shanomac

    shanomac [OP] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35860
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 4x4
  5. Jun 19, 2010 at 7:28 AM
    #5
    C17Guy

    C17Guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30732
    Messages:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Charleston, SC/ Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Readylift Kit, 245/75/16, HID's, Debadged, Kenwood DNX9960 Double Din Navigation, Image Dynamics Door Components, Pioneer Amp, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers
    I think maybe purchasing a small amp to power your components would get you the quality your looking for. I have my 6.5 Image Dyanmics powered by an amp and they sound AMAZING!
     
  6. Jun 19, 2010 at 9:57 AM
    #6
    shanomac

    shanomac [OP] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35860
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 4x4
    Thanks all for the posts. Just got the new Kenwood HU hooked up and the speakers sound amazing! Shows what sort of crap Toyota uses for stock stereo systems. Now if I can only figure out the SWI-JACK steering wheel control interface, I'll be on my way... Lol. Thanks again all!!
     
  7. Jun 19, 2010 at 12:39 PM
    #7
    orvis

    orvis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37170
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD off road
    make sure you hold the buttons when setting them, just pressing them will still cause the light to flash but you need to hold them until it lights up
     
  8. Jun 19, 2010 at 1:39 PM
    #8
    shanomac

    shanomac [OP] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35860
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 4x4
    Thanks orvis. It wasn't as hard as I thought. I crunched one of the ground wires and forgot to hook it back up- it just sort of blended in with the rest of the rats nest. Everything works as advertised. Sounds great!!

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jun 21, 2010 at 5:38 PM
    #9
    celso20

    celso20 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39158
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Miami, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner SR5 v6 double cab
    looking for ideas. but im looking to use the stock HU. does anyone have suggestions on what to get? i want fuller sound, dont need door rattling bass. do i need 4 channel amps ? where do i put it? Does the stock unit have pre amp outputs?
     
  10. Jun 21, 2010 at 8:55 PM
    #10
    vermintrex

    vermintrex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34153
    Messages:
    358
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT Shorty
    BFG A/T KO 265/70/17, '11 FJ wheels, 5100's all four corners, Eibach springs, 1/4" Taco lean spacer, Leer 100XR, WeatherTech liners, trimmed mud flaps and I farted in it.
    bumping this, have the same question
     
  11. Jun 22, 2010 at 7:22 AM
    #11
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    Once you run an amp to those components...it will get louder and cleaner. I suggest an amp when doing components but not necessary.
     
  12. Jun 22, 2010 at 9:39 AM
    #12
    orvis

    orvis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37170
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD off road
    a new hu is the cheapest way to get cleaner, fuller sound. if you simply upgrade the speakers you could end up with this guys problem. if you still want to keep the stock hu you have to add an amp. you can put an amp wherever you want, make sure you get one with speaker level inputs because the stock hu does not have rca outputs
     
  13. Jun 22, 2010 at 11:48 AM
    #13
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Or he could buy something like a JL Clean sweep and convert his speaker level outputs to line level outputs.
     
  14. Jun 22, 2010 at 9:37 PM
    #14
    celso20

    celso20 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39158
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Miami, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner SR5 v6 double cab
    Also, ive done some price comparison, and buying items from amazon Vs Crutchfield amazon always wins. Are those sheets that crutchfield offers any good? worth the extra price? and last - where is the firewall hole for the AMP power cable? thanks for the help guys
     
  15. Jun 22, 2010 at 10:49 PM
    #15
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    People don't shop at Crutchfield because it is cheap. People shop at Crutchfield because of their excellent customer service, and the accessories you get when you purchase from them (adapters or dash kits), when bought separately usually nearly add up to what you can get everything for from a different authorized dealer.

    It's not always worth it to buy from Crutchfield, but sometimes it is the smart move.
     
  16. Jun 23, 2010 at 1:30 PM
    #16
    shanomac

    shanomac [OP] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35860
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 4x4
    It definitely does not have rca outputs. Speaker level inputs aren't required on an amp, but they can be used. Crutchfield/BestBuy/etc sell a converter that allows you to quick splice the speaker outputs behind the stereo and will connect to RCAs.

    Little expensive, but would do the job quite nicely!!

    Firewall hole is on drivers side all the way left (where the main harness comes in below the brake reservoir under the hood; see fog light install thread for pics).

    Customer service and dash kit/speaker mounts/wiring adapters/etc free of charge is worth the price.

    IMO, upgrade the HU. The stock HU looks nice, but you can't, as they say, shine a poop (and don't feed me that Mythbusters crap).
     
  17. Jun 23, 2010 at 5:29 PM
    #17
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,681
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    i agree with the other guy a couple of posts up said about crutchfield. great customer service, come with dash kit and wire harness.

    as for amp wire, there is a black round rubber plug you can pull to run teh amp wire. it's located below and to the side of the brakes. or you can be ghetto and run it thru the firewall with all the other wires.
     
  18. Jun 23, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #18
    celso20

    celso20 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39158
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Miami, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner SR5 v6 double cab
    Theres a plug close to the brake pedal? i didnt know that... how do i access it? splice it, then use rubber tape? or is it an actual plug that this is what its meant for?
     
  19. Jun 23, 2010 at 6:54 PM
    #19
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable


    Follow these instructions to the tee, and it will work-- guaranteed. One tip, i tinned the end of the wires going into the connector with a bit of solder to make sure they fit snugly. PM if you have any questions. Hope this helps.

    EDIT-- here's the right link....

    http://www.pac-audio.com/swixprogra...mSearch=Toyota&Submit2=Search+Vehicles&ID=354
     
To Top