1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New amp

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Dr. Emmett Brown, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Dec 5, 2019 at 8:40 PM
    #41
    SpeySquatch

    SpeySquatch Function over Form

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Member:
    #246516
    Messages:
    5,478
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR DCSB
    C4Fab LoPro, BAMF Sliders, Adj. Ext ADS, 4.88's, OVTune
    I was thinking of doing this because I re-did all my factory speakers with the Rockford Fosgate Prime component set that has the inline crossovers. I’m not sure the OHM impedance would work, but this sounds like it could definitely make them sound a hell of a lot better. I like music like Tool and hard rock with well composed drum solos...blah blah....and the factory head unit doesn’t sound like it gives the new album quite the justice it deserves
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2019
  2. Dec 5, 2019 at 11:25 PM
    #42
    Roldy

    Roldy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Member:
    #298771
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harry
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD
    TRD Pro Grille BFG KO2 265/75/16 K&N Cold Air Intake Bed Mat 35% Front Windows Tint
    Hey Op, I recently installed the Kicker Key Amp 180 and it is fantastic! There's a great writeup on it as well on this forum asking for wiring help. As long as you get the metra harnesses, you won't have to splice any factory wires at all. The other great thing is the amp can sit behind the headunit.
     
    Tekpnw likes this.
  3. Dec 6, 2019 at 3:07 AM
    #43
    fiftyxp

    fiftyxp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Member:
    #279284
    Messages:
    1,961
    Vehicle:
    2017 trd offroad 4x4
    For the key amp you need battery power
     
  4. Dec 6, 2019 at 4:31 AM
    #44
    TacoSupremo19

    TacoSupremo19 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Member:
    #311587
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Black Tacoma TRD SPort DCSB
  5. Dec 6, 2019 at 5:38 AM
    #45
    fiftyxp

    fiftyxp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Member:
    #279284
    Messages:
    1,961
    Vehicle:
    2017 trd offroad 4x4
  6. Dec 6, 2019 at 5:47 AM
    #46
    RX1cobra

    RX1cobra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Member:
    #293789
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    It'll make a huge difference. I've read the kicker key is slightly better but I got the power pack for 99 bucks so couldn't pass it up.

    It's the reason I did. Didn't feel like running separate power to the amp. And both the kicker key and alpine power pack don't require it. Fit right in the dash. Easiest amp install and makes a big difference.
     
    SpeySquatch likes this.
  7. Dec 6, 2019 at 5:54 AM
    #47
    Tarvis

    Tarvis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Member:
    #301935
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Vehicle:
    2018 Metallic Gray SR5 Double Cab
  8. Dec 6, 2019 at 7:05 AM
    #48
    RX1cobra

    RX1cobra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Member:
    #293789
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    I think you have it even easier. No wiring at all. Since you have an Alpine headunit it plugs into the back of the stereo and you're done.
     
  9. Dec 6, 2019 at 7:06 AM
    #49
    Tarvis

    Tarvis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Member:
    #301935
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Vehicle:
    2018 Metallic Gray SR5 Double Cab
    Thats what I was thinking. I'm not sure how the speaker wires will tie in though, and can't seem to find any installation videos since it is new. Will it just use RCA cables?
     
  10. Dec 6, 2019 at 7:55 AM
    #50
    RX1cobra

    RX1cobra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Member:
    #293789
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't know for sure since I have the stock head unit. Mine just wired inline. Took about an hour to make the harness and plugged right in.
     
To Top