1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New HU question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by thebigk, May 20, 2010.

  1. May 20, 2010 at 12:30 PM
    #1
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Ok...I've done all the mods I want so far..so thinking about a HU.

    Going to look at a DVD/GPS unit.

    My question is.....will it hook up to my existing JBL system if I get the factory wiring connector from Crutchfield?

    Won't be able to buy speakers...subs....amp til later so I need it to hook up to the factory stuff for a while.
     
  2. May 20, 2010 at 10:27 PM
    #2
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Where's the stereo experts?
     
  3. May 20, 2010 at 10:30 PM
    #3
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    In bed... Send a PM to Mrmarv. He knows damn near everything about the audio in our trucks.
     
  4. May 21, 2010 at 7:50 AM
    #4
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Well I hate to bug Mr Marv that's why I posted a thread. Guess I'll shoot him a PM after all.
     
  5. May 21, 2010 at 7:55 AM
    #5
    ilg

    ilg VanCity Taco.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Member:
    #16835
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD O/R 4x4 6-Spd
    WeatherTechs, Yellow Fogs, Alpine X-100 iPod Stereo, Custom Seat Covers, Debadged, Locking Bed Compartments, Black Front Toyota Emblem, AVS Vent Visors, Colour Matched Grill, TRD Shift Knob, Eagle Alloy 187s in 16x8 wrapped in 265/75/R16 Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, Black Chrome TRD Badge on Tailgate, Black Rear Bumper, 8 in shorty antenna, 5100s @ 2.5.
    Everything should hook up and run properly if you get the right wiring harness.

    On a side note, when I when I went to buy the harness, the guy sold me the wrong one (I have an 09 with the sub in the back, so he assumed it was the JBL). He sold me the JBL harness which was almost 200 dollars! I didn't end up needing that one, and only needed a $13 harness.
     
  6. May 21, 2010 at 7:56 AM
    #6
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    HOLY CRAP! $200 for a harness????? Was that from Crutchfield???
     
  7. May 21, 2010 at 8:11 AM
    #7
    jmtacoma

    jmtacoma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Member:
    #27674
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    OC
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Pioneer double din, pioneer 12in sub, Mbquart components, Cobra CB
    Yes you can get the jbl wire harness. It is alot more expensive though, The guy at the shop i went to asked if i needed that jbl one but i didnt.. dont think it was quite 200$, but i could be wrong.
     
To Top